We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alta Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alta Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

For the price you pay for a 3star hotel....This one is definately worth it and more.......

Just got back from a fantastic holiday in turgutreis- alta beach. We went all-inclusive, which was an excellent choice at this hotel.

Firstly, upon arrival... we got greeted by a wonderful receptionist who was very friendly and showed us to our rooms. We had a room overseeing the pool and it was small but clean with good facilities. The aircon was a great relief because of the heat in turkey and the maid was always friendly.
Foodwise, we couldn't complain. It had a good mixture of meaty and vegeterian dishes. Drinks readily available and happy staff to greet you.
The entertainment was constant music being played by Jimmy and Emma, These two were very friendly and helpful people. They organised bar-crawls to Gumbet and Bodrum, boat trips to Kos and other close Islands near turgutreis. They showed us the lovely sights that turgutreis had to offer and were very approachable people. P.s they spoke very good English.
We would not change a thing about our lovely holiday and would like to thank all the staff at alta beach hotel especially JIMMY and EMMA!!!! It was Fabulous.
Kenni and Katie

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KOKO18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    32
    37
    26
    69
See reviews for
42
88
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

I have been reading some of these reviews and i can honestly say they seem quite harsh. I admit, the standards of a 5 star hotel should not be expected as it is only meant to be 3, however we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

When we first arrived after our 5am flight,we were welcomed by the receptionist who spoke good english, however i must warn that the younger receptionist spoke very little english. And as i am aware the older one is only there during their season.

All the staff we met were lovely and most helpful, even those who didnt speak much English would try their best to help the guests.

The rooms were basic, although as we had 3 to a room it seemed much smaller. However we found that they were cleaned everyday to a good standard.

The food was traditionally turkish and plentiful, we found that there was always something we liked. However if it is not to your taste there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the surrounding area.

We found Turgetreis a nice friendly place to be. We would recommend a bar called 'Brothers Bar' The owners speak extremely good English and are a great laugh to be with.

If you are willing to experience the Turkish culture and are more interested in the overall experience rather than 5 star luxury, then this is the holiday for you!
We shall certainly be returning

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

recently coming back from alta beach i would not reccomend it to anyone the hotel is disgustin the bar staff were so rude,.The place it self is nice but do not go to this hotel no english food at all flys everwere around tho food had 3 main dishes but were turkish dishes nothing for kids, pools very small fits about 10 sun beds the beach is not even a beach its stones please do not go here

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RACHBABY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Turgutreis hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed here for a week in April and honestly its not that bad.

Yeah the rooms are on the small side but they were clean and cleaned every day. Room had a fridge and air con.

Food was average, typical Turkish and bar was ok too.

Its never going to be luxury at this price (we payed £220) each for a week including flights. So people get need to get real!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazzah41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Stayed in Turkey many many years, both me and my friend. Alta Beach is the worst Hotel, in the world, we have stayed in!

Had a good idea it wasn't going to be 5* based on approx payment of £250 for a 10 day stay BUT I did expect better. The room was small, the bathroom was small and my word the 'balcony' was smaller still, 1 small seat for 2 people. We did have a working clean fridge and working air con but the beds were hard, the sheets got changed once in 10 days. We had 1 small hand towel, 1 bath sheet in the room on arrival. To be fair it was recitified within a few hours after we asked for more. We also asked for the hairdryer but found this to be a great evenings entertainment as we played find the mirror, as long as you didn't want to see what you were doing it was all good.
The bathroom is to be used with trepidation, once you've had a shower the floor is totally wet through and caution is the watch word. The toilet ran all the time and no one came to fix it despite reporting it.
Another word of warning is our balcony door was left unlocked on the rare occasion the maid went onto the baloncy to clean it. Luckily we overlooked the pool so noone would've climbed in as we were so on show.
We had 1 drink in the hotel as the glasses/drink stank, vile smell and no way were we going to subject ourelves to stomach ache on my summer break and so we walked the 10 mins into town and ate out every meal.

Turgetreis is fab and is so much more than Alta Beach, the locals are so friendly, the boatmen, bar street and local fish restaurant.

I would never return to Alta Beach but most defiently Turgetreis.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

First of all I would like to say I have no idea what the previous reviews are raving about. We stayed at the Alta Beach at the same time as the last reviewers yet feel it must have been at a different hotel than them as I would not agree with any of their complaints.

When we arrived at 5am we were greeted with a very warm welcome and shown our rooms immediately. There was a problem with one room as we had booked 2 rooms - 1 for a couple and the 2nd for 3 people. Both rooms had a double bed so we told reception that we would not accept the 2nd room and were told the hotel was fully booked but that another room would be ready for us by 2pm. True to their word we were offered a 2nd room with 3 single beds which was very suitable. Although most of the staff spoke little English, we had no problems communicating with any of them considering we spoke no Turkish and always found them very helpful, pleasant and good humoured.

The rooms: They were basic but very clean and were cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels. The airconditioning worked perfectly in both rooms. Both had telephones which worked. Although it was advertised that hair dryers were in the rooms this was not the case but that didnt bother us as the weather was so hot our hair dried very quickly. The only problem we found was the small step leading into the bathrooms but it didnt take us long to remember they were there. One of our rooms had sea and marina views with small balcony. The 2nd room was nearer the nightclub but none of the people in that room found any problem with noise.

Food: The food was very varied and hot unless it was salad in which case I would have worried if the salad had been hot. Our daughter is a vegetarian and had plenty to choose from. The breakfast was not English but we were staying in TURKEY and suggest if you feel so strongly about wanting an English breakfast then maybe you should consider staying in England or maybe Spain. A good selection of deserts though we were surprised at the lack of fruit but the deserts more than made up for that. Tables were cleared very quickly for any guests that arrived later for their meals.

Drink: We have been on many A.I. holidays and always find the alcoholic drinks watered down but this was not the case at the Alta Beach. Wine was on tap day and night and, although it wasnt champagne standards, a person would be a fool to expect that at an A.I. hotel. The beer and spirits were of a good standard also. The soft drinks may have been a cheap brand but how many of us buy "named" products at home for the kids.

We booked our one week holiday through Travelrepublic for 5 of us and it cost 800 euro without the flights. We are from Ireland and had to book our flights separately. To expect the "Ritz" standard for that amount of money would be ludicrous and I have no doubt we probably paid more than anyone from the U.K. How anyone could blame the hotel for a 2 hour journey from the airport is amazing. Surely you should be taking that up with your travel provider. We had researched the holiday and found that the only way to travel from the airport was by a private taxi which cost 104e return for the 5 of us and took less than an hour. I am also surprised that the presence of a nightclub next to the hotel is somehow the hotels fault as this was only opened this year. There were certainly more than 20 sunbeds around the pool but the fact that greedy guests decided to put their towels on the beds after staff had cleaned around the pool at 7pm every night surely cant be the fault of the hotel. The only critisism we would have is the lack of entertainment especially for teenagers but the town is only a 10 min walk away and has plenty to do there.

We found the Turkish people very pleasant, friendly and respectful and would definately return to Turkey another time.

I would like to point out that I have no connection with the Alta Beach hotel other than being one of the guests that stayed for a week from 3rd-10th July. I have not been paid to write what I consider to be the truth and would like to add that if anyone expects a 5 star service for the price they will pay at the Alta Beach then they need to get real. We would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munch2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELITENOW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

How can people write that this hotel is clean and food nice and people helpful?
They have really got to be kidding!
We have just got back from a week's stay there and cannot be more pleased it's over. We were not the only people who had regretted booking this dump as we spoke to other couples who felt exactly the same.
I am struggling to think of positives to say as I am writing this so that clearly says it all!

We arrived after an arduous 2hr roller-coaster ride from the airport at about 6.30am to be greeted by a young guy who didn't speak english and just gave a confused frown when asked a question. He gave us keys and we were pointed to direction of the room. (the only way to our room was by tip-toeing on the puddled floor around the pool so you didn't slip which is very dangerous!)
Once we saw our room we just couldn't believe it. It was a proper dump! The door had been broken in to before and there was a big gap between the door frame and the door. (put it this way you didn't need a key to get in to it as a card poke in to the gap in the door was sufficient!)
It had 3 single beds( in spite of emailing them 3 times asking for a double bed), a balcony you couldn't sit on, a 5ft square bathroom with a 2inch step in the floor (dangerous) where the shower was, no hairdryer and air conditioning that didn't work properly! The room needed a good clean and proper renovation. Just a thin curtain across the window and door was not enough to block out the strong day light! (this turned out to be one of the oldest rooms with wooden windows and which had yet to be renovated.)

We went straight down to the desk to ask for another room and the young guy acted like he didn't understand english! we asked for someone else and another guy who spoke english just argued back with my husband saying 'we have no other room. the broken doorframe isn't a problem. you will forget about it when you wake in the morning'. He then disappeared and did not try to offer us a better room.

The next day we missed breakfast and had lunch and that was another BIG DISAPPOINTMENT. It was just cold slop. The salad and bread ok but flies all over them. Coffee was horrible. The food we soon realised did not get better,just worse! I ended up having very bad stomachache from the food and had a whole day without food as a result to settle my stomach. We ate in town mostly which was fairly expensive and frustrating since we had paid for AI.
There was no table tennis table which we like playing and no pool table except for something that resembled one but had no pockets and was never used by anybody.

The staff on the desk were really unfriendly. The all pretended they didn't speak english and looked at you with a blank expression when you asked them the basic of questions. There doesn't seem to be proper management set in place and it looks like staff are unmanaged. When we asked a lady if she could get someone to attend to the broken door she said she would put it in the book to be done by 'technical services'. At that point the guy from the first night arrived at the desk and on seeing us he said in english 'what now??'. We couldn't believe the rudeness of the man and realised that customer services doesn't exist at this hotel! He said that he knew the problem with the door and it had been like that for awhile and it was ok! They never did fix it for the whole week we were there.

This is not really a beach hotel as the so-called beach over the main road is the poorest beach in town with hardly any beds and can only be described as a makeshift dirty sand pit which makes our beaches at home look gorgeous! Best beach was in town where we spent all our time.

The last resort was when we arrived back in our room late one day to see no towels in the bathroom and on informing the main desk we were told that they had run out of towels and they would send some up in 1/2hr.(I asked them to promise this and they said most certainly they would be sent) It was then 8pm! We never did see the towels that night or get an apology. We had to use our dirty beach towels to dry ourselves. They acted as though they knew nothing about it when we complained the next day. No towels arrived until the following evening. This is a basic thing anyone would expect from even a 1star hotel!
If you like loud turkish music around the pool from 10am to late evening followed by boom boom boom until 4am from the town's main nightclub next door...if you like staff that are ignorant , food that is served cold everyday and dirty pool area with sunbeds that are filthy and on their last legs...dangerous pool area with wet floor and bar too close to pool for health and safety...no pool beds as they are all taken by the night before.. dirty communal toilets with urine all over the floor...THEN THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU!
We do question if some of the positive reviews are genuine as it beggars belief how they can love it so much. I think tripadvisor need to check the authenticity of the source sometime as it could save alot of us from wasting our money and time!
Only positive was a great boat-trip and weather and met some nice people.
DO NOT STAY HERE. TRY A HOTEL ON BED AND BREAKFAST AS WOULD NOT DO ANOTHER ALL INCLUSIVE IN TURKEY AGAIN.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELITENOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
0.2 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#11 of 100 in Bodrum City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 53 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.8 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#5 of 53 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Blanche Resort & Spa
La Blanche Resort & Spa
#2 of 53 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
1.5 mi away
Armonia Holiday Village & Spa
2.0 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#3 of 53 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Beach Hotel

Property: Alta Beach Hotel
Address: Gazi Mustafa Kemal Pasa Bulv. No:87, Turgutreis 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alta Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Beach Hotel Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing