We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever, but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xanadu Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Turgutreis
Certificate of Excellence
Deal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best service ever, but......”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I loved the architecture and layout, but the noise round the main pool was awful: there was continual loud music, and animation on the hour every hour. Much better was the children's pool, where the screams of the toddlers were imtermittent and music free.

The state of the art sun loungers were uncomfortable and inefficient - it was like sitting in a cage, where the sun came through the bars giving little protection
.
But then the service from all the staff was impeccable: they all made you welcome and helped you in any way thery could. And my bed was the best ever.

Go there!

Room Tip: email them and beg for a quiet/good view or whatever
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank oldRonDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    151
    47
    12
    5
See reviews for
204
361
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

before going to xanadu island, we had a look on trip advisor and found the information invaluable when visiting last month, the transfer from bodrum airport took a little longer then anticipated, around 1 hr 10 mins, the roads to xanadu island were generally appalling, not just the village roads (all 10 miles of them) but also the main road/motorway, which was being expanded from 1 lane to 2. (this will probably be sorted by autumn 2011, so i am told)
DONT LET IT PUT YOU OFF !!! when you get there the foyer and front of the hotel doesnt look extremely grand, maybe a little comtemporary for my liking, however the setting is absolutely superb and just about everything afterwards is too !!!! the best bit for me was the fact it was an 'all suite ' hotel, and the suites are just about the best i have ever stayed in, huge modern, superb furnishings, massive bathrooms with fantastic showers and beautiful views from everywhere (it is an island, or peninsula to be exact)
when we rang down to tell maintenence that 4 things needed sorting in the suite (very minor things) we went for a swim, came back an hour later and they were all sorted.
the service everywhere was great, having said that the hotel was only 60% full, lots of staff (young but willing)
food exceptional, especially the hot and cold buffets, entertainment not so great but watchable. one reservation, i took my wife and 2 girls aged 8 and 11 and although the staff were lovely to the kids, i wouldnt call this hotel a family hotel, i dont see it as a place designed specifacally for families, more like a couples resort with some family stuff in it.

Room Tip: get an upgrade to a better suite before you go, if you try and upgrade there it will cost you a fort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank superjas9981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

A long way from the airport( 1 and a half hours, but worth the trip , we were upgraded to a romance suite which has a round bed , the best hotel bed I have slept in.
Service is very good, but the bar staff are too young to drink and are inclined to gossip in groups, a few tips seems to get their attention. The hotel is spotlessly clean and very well managed,(i'am a former 5 star hotel manager) the food is good but a bit boring, they should look at the Mexican hotels, which put on a different cavery every night. We would go back ; yes.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StPatrick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We were a group of 4 couples booked to go to the newly refurbished Bodrum Hilton, only to be told 4 days before flying that the hotel was not finished so we were now booked into Xanadu Island. We arrived at the hotel after a long transfer, to be greeted with the reception staff telling us that they had upgraded our rooms without us asking, and a Rosebud cocktail.

I always thought that anyone who went on holiday to then talk about their hotel bathroom really needed to get out more, but the suite we were given was stunning. The whole suite with views was stunning.

The staff were inexperienced, but enthusiastic to please. Trip to the Hong Kong restaurant in Bodrum was special, family boat trip a waste of a day, Turkish bath trip in local town was ok, premium alcohol 24hrs,food was plentiful at buffet, BBQ good, entertainment by animation team was good apart for DJ good to be in a group, some of the external acts not 5 star. Market in Turgutreis is big, buyer beware. Seem to cater more for Northern Europeans , so only news channels in English on 32 inch tv's
We had a fantastic week, so thanks Hilton Bodrum

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RonnieB337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Book it now!!!! Maybe not right now because of high tempretures - but would highly recommend this hotel. We have just had 14 nights(June) here and enjoyed every day. Staff were realy great in all areas of the hotel - waiter service round the pool and all other bar areas and you wanted for nothing. Location is a little remote and may not suit "young couples or singles". The grounds are superb and well maintained. We were lucky enough to be here during the hotels first birthday celebrations which were fantastic and must have cost a fortune. FOOD - 10/10 for starters and sweets and 7/10 for main course and also plenty of choice for breakfast and lunch. We will be going back next year.

Room Tip: In the Manor House Suites ask for 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peterp186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
258 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed at the Xanadu in May as we were meant to go to the new Hilton but this was not yet completed. I had not heard of this group of hotels before and understand that there is another one in Turkey and a further hotel being completed. The hotel was a true five star with excellent food (we had an all inclusive deal), service and entertainment. Our room was upgraded to a Romance Suite which was probably one of the very best we have had at a five star hotel. The hotel is quite away from things - which we were happy about - but you can get a dolmus into the nearest town and into Bodrum. We very much enjoyed our star and would stay at a Xanadu again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank takemoretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

As a family, we all thouroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, we really didn't expect the treatment we recieved. I dont even know how to put into words how beautiful this hotel is. The staff are so polite and friendly. The rooms are spacious, very clean, the beds are like sleeping back at home, the pillows were so soft and comfy, the bedding so comfy, you felt clean all the time. There was room service when you needed to order food, though not that you needed to, as the food was outstanding. There was always fresh fruit, salads, so many varieties, fresh vegatables, beautifully cooked dishes, the meat was so tender no matter what you ate. The animation team really worked hard at thier evening shows, we seen the play Grease, taken from the film which was fab, they weren't cheesy, you could see they were professionals. We regret we went a little to early in the season to see all the shows as we went may 5th and left on the 16th, we should maybe have gone a week later .The waiters were always around the poolside taking orders for whatever drinks you wanted, every afternoon their were pancakes, wafflles freshly made by poolside with gourgeous toppings, icecreams were lovely. There was ten pin bowling, table tennis, pinball machines, snooker and the indoor pool and jacuzzi were refreshing, their gym was fab everything top class. The view was so beautiful of the mountains and sea, turquoise and blue clear waters, but very cold, great when you braved it and got in. We loved oleg, vital, and sergey all from the animation team that made our holiday fun, we also loved Ergin the bar staff in the sports bar, he was so humble always had a smile on his face even though he worked long hours as they all did, we also musn't forget Zafer the photographer, his photos were excellent quality and professional. We thank everyone for thier hard work at this hotel, we take away some memorable moments that will stay with us always, no wonder it was voted 4th best hotel out of all the hotels in turkey, IT WAS FAB!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Rogers_family_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
5.7 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 54 in Turgutreis
396 reviews
14.7 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
19.7 mi away
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
#1 of 8 in Guvercinlik
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#3 of 99 in Bodrum City
206 reviews
13.3 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#3 of 23 in Torba
1,621 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#13 of 99 in Bodrum City
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Hotel

Property: Xanadu Island Hotel
Address: Akcabuk, Akyarlar koyu Ada caddesi No.10/1, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xanadu® Island is a prestigious and exclusive five-star All Suite Hotel at the west coast of Turkey, known for its beautiful olive trees, rocky hills and immense pine forests. It is situated on a private peninsula , amidst beautiful gardens and flowered courtyards and surrounded by the deep blue water of the Aegean Sea.This enchanting and elegant resort belongs to the famous Xanadu chain offering an All Inclusive concept with High Class service. All unique suites and villas are overlooking the sea, beautifully constructed on the cliffs enjoying fabulous vieuws out to the surrounding islands and offering a perfect location for a peaceful and tranquil luxurious holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Xanadu Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Hotel Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing