We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and pampering”
Review of Xanadu Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xanadu Island
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed for one week in May at Xanadu Island and will definitely return. The hotel is extremely spacious and comfortable, the staff are charming and helpful and the Turkish food simply delicious. Our room, like all the rooms, had a superb view over the sea and the swimming pool.

A round-trip ride on the dolmus to Bodrum took about 45 minutes and cost 22 TL for two people. That was the only day it rained! The Turgutreis market on a Saturday is worth a visit for the colour and the fakes ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms above the bar can be a little noisy, if like us, you sleep with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent 1 week at the Xanadu Resort Hotel from 10th May 2012. This was our 4th visit to Turkey but 1st time at this hotel and I have to say that this was by far the best hotel in Turkey that we have stayed in. Room - we stayed in the romance suite overlooking the pool / sea. The suite was lovely with a circular bed. There was a mini bar with beer & soft drinks. However, the air conditioning was not very effective as it wasn't getting the room cool enough. Also there was no Wi-fi access in the room or balcony although there was internet connection for plugging in your laptop. There was a charge of €1 per day for use of wi-fi which I feel should really be included in the price of the holiday. Food - very good with a wide range of choices. There is a theme each evening ranging from Italian, Indian, turkish food etc which gives it variety and the sight of the head chef in his colourful outfits is something else! There are also 2 ala carte restaurants - Italian and seafood. You need to book 24 hours in advance for both of these although neither of these looked very busy. The italian restaurant is part of the all inclusive so you didn't have to pay but there was a charge of €15 per person for the seafood restaurant. We ate once in the Italian restaurant and it was ok although I preferred the food in the main restaurant. Spa - this is one aspect of our stay that I was disappointed with. The prices were expensive e.g. €400 for a 3 hour relaxing session with fruit & wine for a couple. We opted for a Turkish hammam which was €60 each. However, the jacuzzi didn't work in the first room we were taken in so we were moved to another room where we discovered that the sauna didn't work. However, the Turkish hammam was great. You also had to pay for use of the sauna / jacuzzi which in other hotels would be free. Entertainment - good with different bands and a show one night featuring popular songs from west end musicals. There is also a games room with bowling alley and different activities such as water gym, darts, bowls etc offered throughout the day. Staff - polite and friendly with good customer service. Nothing was too much trouble. In summary, this was one of the most relaxing holidays I have been on. Would I come back - yes definitely. Would I recommend it - yes definitely. I would have given an excellent rating if it wasn't for some of the minor issues I have mentioned.

Room Tip: Go for the romance suites which is situated above the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank desi_traveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have just returned from a week at Xanadu Island & have to say it was one of the most perfect hotels we have ever stayed in. From the minute you step off the transfer coach your pampering begins. The cases are taken by the porter, at check in you are welcomed with pink champagne before bing personally escorted to your suite/room. We stayed in suite 1111 which was excellent you have a partial sea view from the balcony (an upgrade would give you fabulous views of the sunrises). The suite was immaculately clean complete with a fully stocked mini bar replenished free daily & full size kettle with tea & coffee.
The food was amazing from hot,salads,barbecued,large bread selection the choices were endless & the cakes were to die for. The chefs were always on hand to describe ingredients if required & all so friendly.
There is no need to take Turkish Lira as the Euro is widely accepted in fact all the shops at the hotel had goods priced in Euro's.
There are several organised trips of which I would recommend Ephesus, it is a full day & cost £53 (yes English pounds) but you not only visit Ephesus which is wonderful especially if you like Roman structures you also visit an amazing pottery, breakfast by Bafa Lake(you can purchase food or the hotel provides an excellent packed lunch free) the best Turkish delight shop with lots of samples to taste, a lovely lunch & visit to an olive museum.
There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to Bodrum which cost 20 euros return.
Also you can catch the ferry to Kos for the day £12 - £13 person.
If you just want to spend the time chilling out the Hotel is very well equipped from a large outdoor pool, indoor pools, spa, hairdresser, photographer, gym, bowls,darts,billiards the list is endless.
I would also like to say thank you again for my wonderful balloons,cake,champagne & flowers delivered to my suite for my birthday & to all the staff who were so friendly & attentive.
This was an all-inclusive holiday from Direct holidays (who were also very efficient) & worth every penny.
This is definitely one not to miss!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msjlightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I'd like to express my highest appreciation for the Xanadu Island hotel service and hospitality. My family and I spent a great week there and I consider it to be the best place in Turkey I've seen.

The hotel is situated on a small private peninsula: almost every suite has a stunning sea view. Xanadu Island is all suite by the way! We got a room upgrade upon arrival -- so stayed at 86 sqm executive suite with a pool/sea view. It was fantastic!

Food was very good! It was not an hot cousine, but it is the best i've seen in Turkey (and I know what I'm talking about - I've been there 10+ times). They have main restaurant (buffet), and seafood and italian a la carte restaurants - they are all nice.

SPA is ok. You can find a better one in Indonesia, Thailand or Singapore, but it is ok. And it is not expensive - so good value for money.

We've been there with a 10 month daughter and I can say for sure that this hotel is a perfect place for families with children. We used a babysitting service twice (20 euro per hour). Also they had a children buffet, kids club, outdoor and indoor kids pools.

So to sum it up - great value for money, perfect place for a family vacation, excellent location and good food!

And please tell my warm wishes to Yulia from guest relations if you get there!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

May 5th 2012
Just returned from 1 week holiday at Xanadu Island Resort. The Hotel was immaculately clean, The food excellent. The rooms excellent also. In all respects had the most fantastic weeks break ever. The only regret was the stay was over too quickly. Would we recomend to friends absolutely, would we go again yes without question.
We spent one week and never left the complex. absolutly everything we needed for a chill out was within our grasp.

Room Tip: Room no's 2103..2109 overlook the bay facing east perfect sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at Xanadu Island in October 2011. We were very pleased with the hotel as soon as we walked in through the doors. Staff were polite and welcoming and showed us to our room immediately. The room was beautiful with an amazing bathroom, balcony and seating area. The bar and waiting staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was varied and plentiful. The hotel has incredible grounds with decked walkways extending into the glorious blue sea where you can relax on comfy sun loungers or swim. The spa was incredible with 2 turkish hamaams, beauty rooms and massage treatments. This was a lovely holiday and we shall return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

On may 21st 2011 myself and my fiancee got married,when we went to bed we had a missed call from thomas cook saying our hotel (the Bodrum Hilton) wasn't open.Oh dear panic stations.
When we got to the airport on the monday we were told we were going to the Xanadu Island. It was a fairly lengthy transfer but my god it was worth it, We were given Cherry champagne on arrival and in our room, (which was absolutely stunning, the bath was the size of a bed and you could fit a small chinese family in the shower) there was cakes and champagne there for us aswell.
The food was out of this world i must have put on a stone, all throughout the day you could get burgers, pizza and chips from any of the many bars dotted around the complex and at meal times the amount of different main courses and puddings boggles the mind.
All the cocktails you can imagine are here, while you may have to explain the ingredients to some more traditional one as their English isn't always great (how's your Turkish?) it is good and they are more than happy to make cocktails from anything they find it seems which certainly adds to the experience.
Beautiful setting on its own shingle/sand beach makes for excellent snorkeling and with 3 jetties jutting out over the sea you can literally dive straight in.

We had an absolutely amazing honey moon which in a way is a shame as we now can't go back to turkey as nothing can be as good as that holiday all thanks to the Hilton deciding not to open. We highly recommend this hotel for couples but perhaps not for families.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank mpicko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
5.7 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 53 in Turgutreis
461 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#10 of 98 in Bodrum City
173 reviews
19.6 mi away
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
#1 of 9 in Guvercinlik
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO Bellazure
SENTIDO Bellazure
#2 of 14 in Akyarlar
811 reviews
14.7 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
13.3 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#3 of 24 in Torba
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island

Address: Akyarlar Mahallesi, Akyarlar Burnu Mevkii, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range: £80 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Island 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xanadu® Island is a prestigious and exclusive five-star All Suite Hotel at the west coast of Turkey, known for its beautiful olive trees, rocky hills and immense pine forests. It is situated on a private peninsula, amidst beautiful gardens and flowered courtyards and surrounded by the deep blue water of the Aegean Sea. This enchanting and elegant resort belongs to the famous Xanadu chain offering an All Inclusive concept with High Class service. All unique suites and villas are overlooking the sea, beautifully constructed on the cliffs enjoying fabulous views out to the surrounding islands and offering a perfect location for a peaceful and tranquil luxurious holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xanadu Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing