We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place of beauty, luxury and contentment....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanadu Island Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turgutreis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Xanadu Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A place of beauty, luxury and contentment....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Just returned from a fabulous 2 week stay in this beautiful hotel. On arrival we found we'd been upgraded from a courtyard suite to a Sunset suite. This gave us a large lounge, separate bedroom with a big comfortable bed and a massive bathroom with a good selection of toiletries and a very good hairdryer. The air con was the best we've ever had, worked instantly and kept the rooms at a comfortable temperature, both day and night.
The hotel itself is beautiful, the grounds are well kept and always tidy. The rooms are pretty, very spacious with an excellent standard of furniture, bedding and towels. It was lovely and clean throughout the whole hotel and the staff were very friendly and eager to help. I don't have a bad word to say about the place the food was good quality, well cooked and varied, you had a massive selection just in the main buffet restaurant, each day was something different. There was also the Xanadu bar and restaurant, an a la carte and a seafood restaurant. The bars served a wide variety of drinks and nothing was to much trouble. The waiter service around the pool was exceptional even in 40 degree heat and brilliant sunshine. In the morning waiters came around with bottled water, then throughout the day they'd bring iced fruit drinks, iced coffee and plastic bowls of beautiful fruits. You could order a variety of coffees, teas and alcoholic/soft drinks all day; and in the afternoon you could have hot waffles and/or cake.
The beach, sea and sundecks were lovely and very clean. Lots of water sports too for the energetic!
The views from either of the 2 infinity pools across to Kos on one side of the island and the bay on the other side were lovely . We had a mini bar in our room stocked with beer, soft drinks and bottled water which was replenished without request every day. The sun beds with their own canopies were plentiful, clean and very comfortable.Also dotted around the pools,beach and sundecks were chill cabinets containig bottled water - these were open 24 hours so you never went thirsty.
There was also a spa, an indoor swimming pool and a gym.
I would recomend this hotel to anyone it was absolutely fabulous, and we'll definitely return.
Thank you Xanadu!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    143
    45
    12
    5
See reviews for
195
351
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We had an amazing experience at Xanadu Island. We had stayed at the Xanadu Resort in Antalya and loved this experience more. The water and views off the dock were amazing. Kids entertainment was good. The only thing that annoyed me was the behavior of other guests who thought they had the right to reserve lounge chairs all day long with their towels. They shouldn't allow it. You leave the pool area/beach you have to get another seat when you come bag.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cagdastraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband, fifteen year old son and I have just returned from a ten day holiday at Xanadu Island. We were given a lovely room, spotlessly clean with a huge bathroom and balcony with a stunning if windy view. The welcome was detached and carefree at reception. The pool area was gorgeous with fantastic poolside service but again very windy. Could be a design fault but did cool us down in August as long as you held onto your sunbed. Food was good but got repetative so we ate twice at the Italian which you can do. The bar in the evening had amateur staff and didn't put ice or lemon into a gin and tonic. Not quite 5 star. Entertainment was corny and not much to visit in surrounding area. Xanadu at Belek is better and you have good shopping and golf.

Room Tip: Wherever you stay I think all rooms suffered from very windy conditions. Spa looked lovely but more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Holiday booked through Thomas Cook, so flight was one of their planes - not great, small amount of space, no included meals or drinks, felt really budget airline. Transfer however was fine and from Bodrum airport is about 45 mins-1 hour depending on traffic.

Hotel – really smart but simple design, gated on peninsular, buildings are nicely spread out with great facilities. Ground staff do a great job keeping everything looking fresh. We were there at peak time however it never felt crowded and we could always get a decent spot in the restaurant, by the pool, beach or sun deck whenever we wanted. Good mix of nationalities (German, Russian, Italian, Polish and English that I saw) as well as native Turkish holidaymakers. It seemed a suitable hotel for families with younger children as they do have a kids club, not much for the teenagers to do, our daughter is 14 and she was quite happy swimming, reading and sunbathing.

Room – We had a Sunset suite as we had a child, really loved the room, good view over the sea with balcony. Plenty of space with a dividing door between the living room and bedroom where are daughter slept on a sofa bed. Bathroom was really fantastic with huge bath, separate shower and toilet. Spotlessly clean.

Restaurants – Only used the main one, never saw anyone using the others as there was no need. Food was excellent, we were there for 10 days and they gave plenty of variety so we never got bored, some Turkish dishes but also continental including a pizza guy knocking out fresh long pizza’s (probably a Turkish name for these). Plenty of cold salad based options as well as main dishes and an outside barbecue every night with different dishes ranging from whole bream, trout to beef wellington and fresh kebab meat (no, it was nice!) and grilled vegetables. The crowning pinnacle however was the desserts, baclavas to die for, cakes, fresh fruit and crepes. You can get food all day from different bars. The chefs do an excellent job here - flavour, freshness and variety being the words that come to mind. Good range of drinks (labelled) available, nice cocktails and the house wine was very drinkable.

Service – I’ve stayed in quite a few expensive Dubai hotels and the service elsewhere never compares however in this hotel they were good, functionally excellent, always busy and polite however with the odd exception lacking some customer service aspects and sometimes a bit too quick in the restaurant to whip the plate away. The reception staff and concierge never seemed to smile. That said it never bothered me, I would prefer that to in your face over attentive types.

Swimming Pools - I wasn’t sure from the brochure whether it had 2 pools or 1 pool and a kids pool so to clarify there are two decent sized swimming pools, one on either side of the hotel. The main one is in the main area near the restaurant and is slightly bigger, busier and overlooks the beach. They do play music here which I wasn’t a big fan of, however you soon forget about it as it doesn’t dominate. The other pool is much quieter even though there is a kids pool attached, no music but there is still a bar. In addition to this there is also an indoor swimming pool.

Beach and sun decks – One beach, pretty narrow and made up of gravel bits and not sand (typical in Turkey I think), plenty of sun loungers, cordoned off swimming area and the beach is private. Water was clean and plenty of fish swimming about. Fridges with drinks on the beach which is handy. I preferred one of the sun decks further round the peninsular as they were quieter, in beautiful private coves and you could get straight into the sea. Again Fridges on each deck.

Water sports – Outsourced I presume, all the brochures say that some water sports are included (usually the engine free variety) however I saw no evidence of free water sports options however plenty of people were paying for jet skiing, parasailing, banana thingie. Didn’t look cheap and all prices in Euros.

Other Facilities – we intended to use the Spa which looked great however we never got round to it, we did use the gym quite a bit and found that for a hotel gym it was good with all the basics – cross trainers, running and cycling machines as well as weights and various weight machines. A few shops in the main area and also a hairdresser.

Entertainment – Evening music events regularly and some shows in the small amphitheatre, we saw a couple and they were not bad, a rip-off of the lion king having us in stiches as the troupe mimed the whole thing in great costumes. Apart from that we never really saw the entertainments team although there was a board of daily activities they didn’t go around actively getting people to partake in events.

Trips – We did a few through Thomas Cook, unfortunately this hotel is near the end of the line in terms of picking up and dropping off so usually a longer day than most – Ephesus which is a full day and about 3 hours away. Really interesting if you get a good guide (ours was not great) and they break up the journey so that’s it not too tiring. Local Fishing Trip (Bodrum Fishing Club) – fishing was great with a swim in a cove as well, however the Captain was very rude to my wife and we only got a small amount of the Squid we caught to eat – he kept the rest! We also went to the local market in Turgetreis on a Saturday which was fantastic (don’t go via the agent or the hotel but get the bus outside the hotel on the main road, they are very helpful and it’s much cheaper), Food market is awesome (it is separate from the clothes market – when asking for directions don’t ask for the market but for the bazaar or you’ll end up in the Turkish Tesco’s!), the clothes market is full of “genuine fakes” as they like to call it – jeans, bags, shirts – great prices, great banter and great fun… just don’t expect the zips to last!

Advice – don’t go mad getting too many Lira, take Euros as well that you’ll be able to use again if you don’t spend them as most things in Turkey can be bought with Euros.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

First off Xanadu Island is beautiful! Everywhere there are lovely views of the clear sea and mountains and white villas. The accommodation is new and shiny, nicely furnished, large bathrooms and beds etc. Two large pools, bars etc.

The all inclusive really is all inclusive. There are lots of lovely little touches for children included too - popcorn and candy floss, waffles, slush puppies, milkshakes etc. Waiters bring round fruit in the afternoon and you are never far from a drink with fridges places strategically around the island! The girls went to the mini disco every night.

The sunbeds are plentiful - around pools, quiet areas, on sundecks over the sea or on the beach. They each have their own shade which works brilliantly with children to keep in the shade!

The food was delicious and a great range which should keep everyone happy. I love most foods anyway but the children were fine too.

Essentially this was the most relaxing and beautiful holiday I've had since the Maldives but only 4 hours away. However a few little points....

- the children's club is naff! Basically the entertainment team is made up of a group of young people who can dance. This is great for the evening shows but not for the miniclub! They have not been chosen for their communication skills or interest in people or children. There is no real programme of activities, so when my girls (5 & 7) needed time out of the sun or we wanted to go snorkling, after a couple of initial bad experiences (greeted by a man who couldn't communicate and another woman who couldn't really be bothered to say hello) the girls spent most of their time there watching DVDs! They did strike lucky with a couple of the girls who they looked forward to seeing.

- I thought my girls would be fine together on the sofa bed, but it's quite small and the mattress very thin, so it didn't work for two fidgeters! The 7 year old therefore spent two weeks sleeping on settee cushions on the floor which worked better.

- finally the service isn't 5*. The best service is in the Xanadu bar by the main pool. But everywhere else it's pretty slow and glum. On the whole, staff don't seem that happy and you could be sitting at a spare table for a while before it is laid with cutlery or you get a drink. When we mentioned to the reception team that the children don't feel welcome at the mini club, we were asked if we wanted to fill out a form?! Of course there were some lovely people!

- finally the evening show is very loud and we could hear every word to the music played by the pool area at night. This is played until midnight. As the girls went to be around 10pm we had a couple of hours of this. Fortunately the girls dealt with the noise and were able to get to sleep and it didn't bother us. However if you think you'll be in bed before midnight and don't like noise, I would request a quiet room!

None of the above spoilt our holiday at all but I do think that they would affect some other people so just wanted to let you know!!

Room Tip: See tip about quiet room in main info!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had such a perfect holiday here last year, and although I searched the internet for something to compare, nothing jumped out, so we made the decision to return to Xanadu Island. It turned out that quite a few other travellers did too!
At first I wasn’t quite sure that it had been the right decision to go back. Weather was perfect as usual, welcome with a refreshing drink was good too, and the guy who took our luggage to our room remembered us. We got to the room and I spotted a brilliant sea view, but .... the non-smoking room smelt strongly of smoke, and two minutes after we closed the door the air conditioning stopped! We called reception and no other rooms were available and to be honest I didn’t want to lose that brilliant view. They sent a cleaner to spray the room and the air conditioning problem became intermittent, so we decided to put up with it. Eventually the smell of smoke diminished and to be fair it was only noticeable when you opened the door and amazingly the air conditioning sorted itself out.
Everything else was as good, or better, than we remembered. I think it was quieter than last year which meant that quite often I was happily swimming in the pool by myself. The room was spotless with a lovely comfortable bed that gave us a good night’s sleep before each strenuous day of lying in the sun, drinking and eating, and enjoying the beautiful views and brilliant service.
Thankyou Xanadu Island Resort, and we may come back again next year too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlossieShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and our 2 children were greeted by the door man who also showed us to our room. Check in was smooth. It was a sunset suite, 1 bedroom and living room area with sofa bed. The rooms are well spaced and the bathroom a great size. The shower did not work at first but house keeping sorted that out. The hotel is just ok and I mean that. It is a large complex a takes a little getting used to(in my husbands words looks like a college campus). The rooms on first appearance seemed to be clean but on closer inspection needed another once over, remnants of spilt drinks by the fridge by the previous guests obvious on first glance, the bath and the tea making tray dirty. Once I spoke to house keeping all sorted. the sofa bed was the worst I had slept in and the slats were broken. I told house keeping about this but they did nothing, so we suffered the duration falling back into the gap where the slats were not.

We were fortunate enough to have travelled outside the hotel during the first 4 days of our arrival and ate out. The food is so bland at the Xanadu and does not give the visitor the Turkish cuisine experience. Our local kebab restaurant does a better job. Whilst I appreciate its cooked on large scale the food gets the big thumbs down from me. I am Turkish and felt extremely disappointed with the food on offer, almost every dish was seasoned with dill "whats' with that'? No one puts Dill in Dolma or on kebabs. It is also hard to make Baklava taste boring but the chefs at Xanadu managed it.

The waiter service was ok there were the odd few who were attentive but some of the girls (not all) serving need to put a smile on their faces. Try harder girls it puts people off. A couple of the young men waiters just walk past pretending they can't hear your plea for water.

The entertainment is good if your 5. Although there was 'one' night when a famous Turkish singer took to the stage and belted out some good notes.

I went for a massage at the Spa but was not given the tour (despite arriving early) which is par for the course to use the facilites. They showed me to the massage room. The massage was, again, just ok. Not worth the €110 and I was also short changed on time.

The main beach is pebbly and not easy to get into the sea but once your in its bliss. My family and I discovered a quiet cove with a platform with sun beds that lead into the sea, it also had a fridge stocked up with drinks. Perfect.

The sea is the best I have seen ever, and I have travelled far and wide, the variations of blue and turquoise were a bonus in these cystral clear waters. Magnificent.

On a final food note I have to give a shout for Macakizi Hotel in Turkbuku and next time Im in town I will be staying there.As I said at the start we had ventured out to Turkbuku taking a yacht to the Macakizi it was pretty chilled. Now that was a buffet to die for,simple but tasty.

Going back to Xanadu nope, tried and tested time for something different. i say this becasue they advertise it as a high class hotel and it really it NOT. Shame though if they played that down then you get what you bargained for and all inclusive resort being it is what it is, Just OK

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gcr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
5.8 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 53 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
19.7 mi away
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
#1 of 8 in Guvercinlik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
14.8 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#9 of 24 in Torba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
14.2 mi away
Sarpedor Boutique Hotel & SPA
4.2 mi away
La Blanche Resort & Spa
La Blanche Resort & Spa
#2 of 53 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Hotel

Property: Xanadu Island Hotel
Address: Akcabuk, Akyarlar koyu Ada caddesi No.10/1, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xanadu® Island is a prestigious and exclusive five-star All Suite Hotel at the west coast of Turkey, known for its beautiful olive trees, rocky hills and immense pine forests. It is situated on a private peninsula , amidst beautiful gardens and flowered courtyards and surrounded by the deep blue water of the Aegean Sea.This enchanting and elegant resort belongs to the famous Xanadu chain offering an All Inclusive concept with High Class service. All unique suites and villas are overlooking the sea, beautifully constructed on the cliffs enjoying fabulous vieuws out to the surrounding islands and offering a perfect location for a peaceful and tranquil luxurious holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Hotel Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing