We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty rooms, poor food.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turgutreis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Xanadu Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Turgutreis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms, poor food.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

My impression was that the management is trying to maximize value for the hotel. They serve poor and cheap food and drinks. Their housekeeping can not even clean the rooms - perharps not enough personnel available. I attach a photo of my nail which got dirty after I scratched table in the suit we've just checked it.
I also attach a photo of dirty spoon bought to us by room service.
Indeed these are penny wise and dollar stupid.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    150
    47
    12
    5
See reviews for
203
361
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A stunning location for a fabulous hotel. Right from the start our stay was amazing. We were upgraded to a fabulous suite with stunning views over the infinity pool and out across the bay to the Marina. I had my birthday whilst we were there and came back after a day at the pool to find happy birthday balloon on the bed, 6 red roses in a vase , a birthday cake and a half bottle of chilled champagne in the mini bar along with 2 champagne flutes, a very unexpected surprise. The daily BBQ's for dinner are delicious with a great choice of different , meats and fish available. A great array of salads and fruit for every meal in a the buffet restaurant along with freshly cooked pasta and sauces. We visit the Italian restaurant twice and the service and food was delicious.
The entertainment team work very hard to provide good entertainment for all the family and don't push too hard if you don't wish to join in. The shows are very entertaining and there is live entertainment plus a film most evenings along with the quiet Rosebud bar if you just wish to have a quiet drink. Oh and to top it all a free laundry service is provided so you don't need to be worn out with all the washing when you get home! The gym is well equipped and air conditioned. All in all a fabulous hotel and we thought great value for money. We very much hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chezfijez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Best bits:- Huge 2 bedroomed suites with wonderful views of Kos.
Excellent food although we only ate in buffet it was always superb with fresh pasta, pizza, BBQ meat and fish, cooked veges, salads of every kind, fruit and yummy desserts. Always something different every night which was a real bonus for AI. Also can recommend the rose wine served.
Choice of sunbathing areas lively main pool, quite family pool, beach area and pontoons.
Surroundings and views were stunning with cooling sea breezes in the height of summer.


The OK bits:- Entertainment - the hotel team were all obviously talented dancers so if you enjoy musical/dance shows it's fab - if not they do try to vary things although from what we saw not very successfully.
Staff:- Some excellent, some polite and some just not very interested - have to say the main pool service was erratic and chaotic however the guy did his best and I'd say the say need training in how to organize orders.
Guests:- good mix of European nations and Turkish.

The downside:- The beach is shingle but the water is beautifully clear.

All in all we loved this hotel it's one of the best AI we've ever stayed in including some of the well known brands in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Request a room away from night time entertainment which can be very loud of you have a room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pp1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just got back we stayed 21st - 28th July and paid £995 pp via Thomas cook.

I will keep the review short and sweet.
The resort is absolutely stunning, immaculately kept and simply wonderful.
The I would say about 95% of the staff were very polite, happy to help and attentive.
The room was huge, cleaned to a high standard and the bed was Queensize and so comfortable!
The jetties are great to sunbathe on and are so peaceful (compared to the more lively pool). There a beach, 2 jetties, 2 infinity pools (one is especially for children) so there's plenty of room for everyone and lots and lots of flash sunbeds with their own canopies!
The only reason i haven't given the hotel 5 stars is because the food didn't quite match the rest of the hotel. That's NOT to say the food wasn't nice! its just everything else about the hotel is to such a high standard its hard to make the food match when its an all inclusive style. But don't be put off by that comment, its just my opinion and everyone has different tastes.

The hotel really was so lovely I felt really satisfied with the money I had spent and I would recommend to all of my friends.

Side note - the hotel rooms themselves do not have wifi but all the lobbies, pool side and local areas go. I wouldn't bother going to the market unless you want to buy fake clothes and bags. I prefer traditional markets. Infact I wouldn't bother leaving the resort if you were only going for a week as the nearest town is quite grubby compared to the luxury of the hotel.

Room Tip: Dont overlook the bar at the front its very noisey at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jhlaporte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned had the best holiday ever. It's so relaxing. Staff brilliant cant do enough for you. Nothing too much trouble for anyone. Rooms out of this world. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathryn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

One of the best hotels in Bodrum, I recommend it if you are coming here with family and friends.
The only parts that lost a star was from the beach, the overpriced watersports and it's very windy.

The wind ripped my newspaper and it flew away from my hands even though I was trying my best to hold on to it, so I had to chase it and ended up with a wet and unreadable "newspaper".

As for the beach, there wasn't any sand and my brother likes to play in sand and make sand castles and the water was very rocky (even though it was so beautiful) and I almost cut my feet... I don't suggest going to the beach but there is this very nice bay that I always go to.

The water sports were VERY expensive, 20 euros per person?! And 65 euros per person for jet ski and paragliding! I ditched the water sports and read my book in the bay.

Overall a very nice 5 star hotel I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TunaStarkIndustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

my wife and I stayed at this hotel at the end of june ,early july,we have been to many 5 star hotels in turkey, and this is one of the best.We had a minor problem with our room at the start ,but this was dealt with very quickly,the rooms are of a very high standard , and the bathroom, was the best we have ever had.As the hotel is on a peninsula, there are sea views all round it, this makes for a very chilled out vibe,.the food was good, but less varied than some other hotels we have been to.The staff were polite , and allways willing to help if they could, the pool drinks staff were fantastic , allways asking if you wanted a drink.Evening entertainment was low key ,but with some very good shows at the amphitheatre, after the evening entertainment , it was lovely to have a late drink in the rosebud bar,overall this hotel has much to offer , we enjoyed our holiday and met some nice people , sue, ian, dean jo , and Catharine thanks for a great night in the rosebud, hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: if you have a courtyard suite ask for higher floors low one have no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimmyd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
5.7 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 54 in Turgutreis
396 reviews
14.7 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
19.7 mi away
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
#1 of 8 in Guvercinlik
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#3 of 99 in Bodrum City
199 reviews
13.3 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#3 of 23 in Torba
1,618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#14 of 99 in Bodrum City
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island Hotel

Property: Xanadu Island Hotel
Address: Akcabuk, Akyarlar koyu Ada caddesi No.10/1, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Island Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xanadu® Island is a prestigious and exclusive five-star All Suite Hotel at the west coast of Turkey, known for its beautiful olive trees, rocky hills and immense pine forests. It is situated on a private peninsula , amidst beautiful gardens and flowered courtyards and surrounded by the deep blue water of the Aegean Sea.This enchanting and elegant resort belongs to the famous Xanadu chain offering an All Inclusive concept with High Class service. All unique suites and villas are overlooking the sea, beautifully constructed on the cliffs enjoying fabulous vieuws out to the surrounding islands and offering a perfect location for a peaceful and tranquil luxurious holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Hotel Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing