We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but don't go with Thomas Cook”
Review of Xanadu Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xanadu Island
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Second visit to this brilliant Hotel. Once again opted for the Sunset Suite with views over the Archipelago pool and bar and onto to Kos. All areas are very clean and well maintained. Although child friendly this hotel is brill for couples as you can always find a spot to yourselves.Food/drinks and service are excellent - you cannot help but overindulge.
Now for the bad bits (Nothing to do with the Hotel) Poor outward flight on a very old Aircraft. return transfer over an hour late with no apology or explanation. The return transfer mini bus was full to capacity with luggage stacked on the rear seats and no working seat belts!! (hardly 5 star service) To top it all this was followed by a one hour wait at check at Bodrum. Flight was then delayed by 90 minutes!!! Bodrum Airport is a horrendous noisy shed with not enough seating!!
Conclusion- Will never book with Thomas Cook again

Room Tip: Suite suite for max holiday enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

A brilliant hotel, good food, very decent rooms and good grounds. The only whinge is that the concerige is rubbish. Literally knew nothing and was a waste of time. Apart from that everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FBrown1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We returned last night from xanadu Island.The hotel is fantastic,very clean,staff helpful,and the food and wine were very good.We have previously visited the other Xanadu in Belek,and this one is much better.The atmosphere is laid back and relaxing,and it is less child friendly.
The transfer to our hotel took over 3 hours,it was a nightmare.At the airport we sat on a crowded bus for an hour ,before driving an hour to a lay by,where us and 3 other couples went to a mini bus ,the cases were put between the seats.We then proceeded to a hotel where the drivers friend worked,which took half an hour,to drop him off!!! After this we drove around trying to find the other couples hotels,shouting out to people for directions.Eventually he found their hotel,but they directed him.Then we drove down some dark roads,and picked up someone else up.By this time we were distraught,and thought we would never find the hotel.We eventually reached the hotel in over 3 hours!Normal travel agents send customers who have paid for a 5 star hotels to their hotel first.We complained to the rep,who sent a complaint to head office.That was a complete waste of time,because I wanted to be assured we would not experience the same thing going back.The rep said she hadn't got any authority to do any thing!!! Needless to say they were 45 minutes late picking us up from the hotel,and we had to pick several other people up along the way,the driver tried to overtake a bus,on a hilltop,everyone was very scared.
I wanted to warn people about the transfer,so that no one has the same experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
10  Thank woodpecker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

After an transfer from the airport we arrived to xanadu island to a warm welcome from the reception staff & show to our room, We stayed in one of the court room suites these rooms are very well equiped with a very large bed, seating area, Mimi bar & t.v. It also has & great bathroom with shpwer & bath, a smaal balcony overlooks a grassed area with a side sea veiw and a free laundry service, There are 2 main bars serving good quailty drinks most of the spirits are branded and theres a choice of wines & beer all are very palitable, Food is served all day at the pool bars & again is freshly cooked & of good quailty, The main restaurant is buffett style which includeds an outside barbeue in the evernings the food is fine & you will allwat find something to your taste, Around the grounds there are several quite pontoon which you can sunbath, The sun beds here are great with there own individual sunshades which are adjustable, You can take a swim in the cristal clear sea it;s worth taking a diving mask as there are several type of fish around these structures, There is also a small gravel beach which has its own sun beds & small bar, Just a few niggles It would be nice to be shown a table in the restaurant rath than searching around for one & maybe some more lighting as it was rather dingy, And maybe cushions for the sunbeds but other than these surgestions this hotel is clean & well run hotel with willing staff If you holiday here i think you will have a nice time
( Special thanks to Omer the waiter & good luck for collage )
P.S For Thomas Cook Get Your Act Together on the return flight almost 2 hours to check in at Bodram is unacceptable ! )

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Amazing holiday!
Negatives, transfer from airport took over 2 hours with the last 20 minutes a white knuckle ride over the mountain. A very pushy rep who was almost in tears when we would not purchase. Both of these outside of the hotels control.
Positives have already been covered but just to say, great rooms, spotlessly clean, food & service fantastic, great views, quiet areas or music poolside, something for everyone. We met some lovely people!!
We will be returning.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kateisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After a transfer delay, journey/driver from hell and a room without a sea view as paid for - all due to poor service from Thomas Cook - the holiday got underway. I won't repeat all the praise the hotel has already received and can only add that it could not be faulted. Facilities, food and staff are fantastic and the views amazing. I would definitely recommend it and would revisit if the opportunity came up. My 5* review is for Xanadu Island Resort and not for Thomas Cook who I doubt I will book through in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gaynor601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A very good grade of holiday hotel, with very large clean rooms and bathrooms. We stayed in a standard room in the main building, no problem at all and very close to the main pool and restaurant. We enjoyed the hotel because the kids pool was well away from the main pool and we were not bothered by other peoples kids, the downside was the entertainment team played loud music of their taste all day at the main pool, however you can escape this by going to the jetty or the beach. No wrist bands or pool towel cards, good sun beds, and waiter service by the pool. Evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss, but the live bands were of a high quality. Overall no complaints for this hotel.
Be aware that Thomas Cook (and others) give a transfer time of 1 hour, it took us 2.15 hours to get there (the driver got lost) and 2 hours return to the airport and a change of transport.

Room Tip: Don't purchase anything in hotel shops, there is a very good supermarket at the head of the driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEALSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
5.7 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#5 of 53 in Turgutreis
460 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
Swissotel Resort Bodrum Beach
#10 of 98 in Bodrum City
173 reviews
13.3 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#3 of 24 in Torba
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
#1 of 9 in Guvercinlik
1,525 reviews
14.7 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO Bellazure
SENTIDO Bellazure
#2 of 14 in Akyarlar
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island

Address: Akyarlar Mahallesi, Akyarlar Burnu Mevkii, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range: £76 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Island 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xanadu® Island is a prestigious and exclusive five-star All Suite Hotel at the west coast of Turkey, known for its beautiful olive trees, rocky hills and immense pine forests. It is situated on a private peninsula, amidst beautiful gardens and flowered courtyards and surrounded by the deep blue water of the Aegean Sea. This enchanting and elegant resort belongs to the famous Xanadu chain offering an All Inclusive concept with High Class service. All unique suites and villas are overlooking the sea, beautifully constructed on the cliffs enjoying fabulous views out to the surrounding islands and offering a perfect location for a peaceful and tranquil luxurious holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xanadu Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing