We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT”
Review of Xanadu Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Xanadu Island
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just stayed for 2 weeks at this resort and had a wonderful time. We had also read the transfer horror stories so we were pleasantly surprised to have an air-conditioned minibus shared only by another family but we were a party of 6.The journey was very pleasant about 45 mins and the driver was excellent.We had a slight hiccup when we first arrived as we were given 3 courtyard rooms, which although they were lovely rooms, the balcony's were really dark and in one of the rooms a tree completely blocked any view or light. We immediately spoke to management and we were moved to the sunset suites which we were told was an upgrade but in our experience is what we would normally expect from 5 star (also for the amount we paid).We would not recommend the courtyard rooms.The new rooms were great and we had a wonderful view complete with amazing sunset views as the name suggests (we were in room 4204 ) The rooms were spotless and the maid was very sweet and helpful (although she spoke no English but then our Turkish is non existent )The minibar was regularly stocked with water, soft drinks and beer) The pools are wonderful the main one has amazing views, however the water was sometimes really cold, whilst being initially refreshing in the heat it meant that we didn't spend a lot of time in the pool but this didn't really bother us.Some of us enjoyed diving off the pier and swimming in the sea. Some of us found the sea cold with a strong current and the beach pebbly . The climate was wonderful but there was a constant breeze from the sea ensuring a lovely heat. It was not humid either. Food was good (but not amazing) one of our party was a vegetarian and she found plenty to eat.We visited the Aegean a la carte restaurant however it only offered a set menu of 3 foods (none vegetarian) so we only went once and would not really recommend it. The Italian was better and we went twice during our stay. We enjoyed the snack bar food during the day. The sports hall was a huge hit with our party as we have 2 teenagers who loved the bowling, table tennis etc. The entertainment was fantastic the shows mamma Mia, Grease, black and white, little mermaid were such fun and very well attended. They also bought in a pop up fayre for the children which was great fun and everyone seemed to enjoy. Some of the live bands were perhaps not as good as they should have been but we enjoyed anyway.The upstairs bar is brilliant , lovely views comfy chairs, wonderful in the evening with a glass of sparkling wine and the beautiful breeze.The waiters were friendly but their English was limited( a lot of guests were not English so they had a lot of languages to cope with ) so sometimes the drinks they bought were not as ordered but this was easily rectified and not a problem. On our second week of the stay the resort seemed busier and the staff did appear to struggle with the larger numbers , I don't think they were understaffed ?? perhaps inexperienced or needed more training ?? But it did result in service becoming much slower. The laundry service is wonderful and a lovely touch. On a negative note (but not the hotels fault) we never saw the Thomas Cook rep after arrival at airport. When we booked scuba diving we had to ring the office to arrange this but we don't usually bother much with the reps and it was nice not to have trips being sold to you.We went into Turgutries for 40 Euros for 6 of us in a minicab and had a good time shopping and trying out local bars. Overall this hotel is wonderful and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: we would not recommend court yard rooms but sunset and executive rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank dozadavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

In our opinion this is a very pleasant hotel in a nice (if slightly isolated) location with wonderful views and very nice staff !
We booked our 2 weeks through Thomas Cook. However, we had read the horror stories about the airport transfer and decided to book a private transfer (£70 return) through Holiday Taxis. We were satisfied we made a good choice.
Rooms are sizeable, well equipped and kept very clean. The majority seem to have amazing views, especially those on higher (3rd) floors.
All members of staff we came into contact with were very friendly and helpful, a credit to the hotel.
The animation team are enthusiastic and friendly as are the amazing poolside waiters. nothing was too much trouble for them and we found their command of English way ahead of ours of Turkish !
Food is plentiful and varied but I'd describe as adequate rather than spectacular. Sometimes not as hot as it could be, from sitting in the not-so-hot containers I guess.
The Italian a la carte we dined in served nice food but had no atmosphere and very few diners. The fish a la carte (25 euros pp) is a wonderful setting but I was confused why an a la carte only offered a set menu, whatever happened to "catch of the day" !! I believe this is an area the hotel could improve.
Entertainment for guests includes 10-pin bowling, table tennis, boccia etc.
All of the evening shows while we were there consisted of the animation team miming to things like Grease, Mamma Mia etc. Whilst they cannot be faulted for their enthusiasm ( and many of them are terrific and talented dancers) we would have liked to have seen a few professional shows brought in by the hotel. This may have boosted the audience numbers too !
Special mention to the amazing laundry service and all those who operate it, what a treat to not have loads of washing on return home !!!
Overall, a really nice hotel and would certainly have no second thoughts about returning.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to mostly have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bumboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 10 days in this beautiful resort - we didn't want to leave! We arrived very late but were met with welcome drinks and a room upgrade. Our room was amazing - huge and a wonderful view over the sea - it was cleaned daily and I even had my laundry done - what luxury! Staff were all lovely - some had a little trouble with their English but would always get someone to help if they couldn't. We chose to eat at the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner and enjoyed a huge range of different foods and a great BBQ every night. We also had lunch at the Archipelago Bar most days - which serves yummy food too! Pools were huge and there were always plenty of sun loungers available. We were super impressed with the entertainment - having never been to an all inclusive type resort before, we were expecting Red Coats but no such thing!! It was brilliant! Costumes, scenery, acting - just great! Overall, we had an amazing time - I have no complaints - just to say I would recommend Xanadu to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Best vacation spot in Bodrum Turkey, at the moment temperature is 39 degree but sea breeze is so relaxing. Like Oasis in the aegean side of turkey. Food and open buffet is awesome, staff is so helpful and friendly, from reservation to checkin and checkout everything was perfect. Thanks for the effort.

Room Tip: try the wines, turkish wines are really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ebru G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very good suite with amazing views in this all suite hotel. Good value as premium brand drinks included. When we booked we understood it had a dive centre but on arrival found they did not and even the local dive centre had gone out of business. Although to be fair to them they did give me free transport by the hotel car to the nearest dive site which was several miles away.

Finally the language skills were more limited than most 5 star international hotels. They were friendly though.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner sunset suite with views from two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RolandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel lives up to its name Xanadu Island High Class , just back after an 11 night stay , it is amazing , very clean inside and out , staff very good although with some they can speak very little English but if they don't understand they will get a member of staff who will , rooms are huge and cleaned daily , we where lucky to get a free room upgrade in which our room had a round bed and a free standing whirlpool bath and separate monsoon shower room and walk in wardrobe , food was amazing and there is plenty to choose from as well as the bar food served between noon till 17.30pm .
Entertainment could be better although the animation put on some good shows and try there best to get the guests to join in !
The other good thing is the staff at The Shung Du Spa don't come round the pool or the small shingle beach area's and pester you with any of their deals or products . Plenty of sun beds at any time of the day , no need to get up early to put your towels down !!!!
The transfer time is 1 hour in a taxi from Bodrum airport , overall we had a great time and a visit to this hotel is a must and as Big Arnold said ......"I Be Back "

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the Xanadu bar if you go to bed before midnight as all the entertainment is there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Scotsman1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Returned from an amazing holiday at Xanadu Island after a smooth flight with Thomas Cook we arrived at Bodrum Airport where check in was around 45 minutes unfortunatley me & my partner had to be diverted by airport staff because we hadn't pre paid for our Visa's, this took an extra 15 minutes £20.00 each after this we went through to baggage claim which was very quick, we were then shown to the coach & our journey to the hotel began. 20 minutes into our drive the coach driver suddenly pulls over & calls out some of the hotel names, Xanadu was called out & we left the coach to find out we were being transferred to another coach, this is explained in the letter that the Thomas Cook rep gives you before you get on the coach, unfortunately we did not read this so it was a shock to find out we were having to change coaches. We arrived at the hotel around 12.30am where we were welcomed by the receptionist. Check in was very quick & we were also delighted to be given a free upgrade, while our luggage was being looked after we were given a cocktail & shortly after that we were taken to our room.
The room was beautiful, the decor & furniture was modern & contemporary. At this point we were overjoyed & couldn't wait to explore the island the next morning.
The main restaurant had many varieties of gorgeous food, so we knew lunch & dinner would be even better, one of the nights my partner was attacked by one of the cats that walk around by the main restaurant, luckily their was no blood. Some guests would feed the cats, but we would just ignore them as i don't feel it was appropriate to feed them whilst other guests were enjoying their meals.
Both swimming pools are lovely, we would sit by the main pool during the morning then move round to the smaller pool in the afternoon. One negative thing, although there are plenty of sun loungers we did notice that bigger families would leave their towels on the loungers & would rarely use them, this seem selfish was frustrating seeing as other guests could have used them.
Onto the nightlife & entertainment, our first night we enjoyed a band which played some well known songs, the other nights were mainly for families & children, so we just sat by the bar & had cocktails.
I bought myself a ring from the jewellery shop next to the souvenir shop, i am slightly upset because we were told that the ring was real silver & paid around 100TL. I have now noticed that the ring is turning a horrible grey colour & i am no longer able to wear the ring as it is not real. Just wanted this to be advised so others don't end up paying for something that isn't worth what is it.
The staff are very helpful & seem like lovely people, unfortunately some of their english was limited but this was never a problem.
On departure we were the first to be picked up then our 2 hour journey back to the airport started, the coach driver did seem lost at some point, we were then advised that our flight had been delayed 2 hours due to issues on the plane.
Overall the reason why i have not given the hotel 5 stars is purely due to the nightlife as we felt this was more enjoyable for families & their children, but everything else was perfect, myself & my partner had the most relaxing time & will certainly be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: We had room 4343, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DanielleHanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
5.7 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 53 in Turgutreis
468 reviews
14.7 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
19.6 mi away
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
Titanic Deluxe Bodrum
#1 of 9 in Guvercinlik
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Vogue Bodrum
Vogue Bodrum
#3 of 24 in Torba
2,077 reviews
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO Bellazure
SENTIDO Bellazure
#1 of 14 in Akyarlar
814 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hilton Bodrum Turkbuku Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Island

Address: Akyarlar Mahallesi, Akyarlar Burnu Mevkii, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Turgutreis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range: £83 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Island 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xanadu® Island is a prestigious and exclusive five-star All Suite Hotel at the west coast of Turkey, known for its beautiful olive trees, rocky hills and immense pine forests. It is situated on a private peninsula, amidst beautiful gardens and flowered courtyards and surrounded by the deep blue water of the Aegean Sea. This enchanting and elegant resort belongs to the famous Xanadu chain offering an All Inclusive concept with High Class service. All unique suites and villas are overlooking the sea, beautifully constructed on the cliffs enjoying fabulous views out to the surrounding islands and offering a perfect location for a peaceful and tranquil luxurious holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Xanadu Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Island Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing