We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Location - Awful Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cemre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cemre Hotel
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Turgutreis
Kent
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location - Awful Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

What can I say?
Location - excellent. Right on the seafront, with a 10-15 walk to the main shops and restaurants.
Rooms - very shabby. Drawers and doors hanging off and not closing properly. Grime and dirt around the tiles and shower cubilcle in the bathroom. The MOST uncomfortable beds that we have ever slept in - ever! Springs poking out all over the place. We had our bedding changed twice in the fortnight we were there and towels three times. Room cleaning was non-existent, until the day before we checked out - when the rooms were mopped and a wonderful flower arrangement left on our bed, along with an envelope requesting a tip! Hot water was said to be available between 8am and 10pm - More like 4pm until 9pm, and then it was pot luck if the water pressure let you have any!
Restaurant - The staff were very friendly - especially "Brian".
Breakfast - Repetitive and lacking in variety. It was also put out at 8am for two hours, under a tree, all uncovered and infested with wasps! We decided after day two that we would rather walk into the centre and buy breakfast.
We have stayed in other hotels in Turkey of the same star rating - and I would honestly say that the Cemre's two star rating is inacurate - I wouldn't actually give it a rating!.
Pool - the pool was decidedly grubby and cloudy and you couldn't see the bottom of the pool for the first week - eventually it was given a clean but the sides of the pool were green with algy.
A tip to the wise......pay your drinks/food bills as you go along!!! Need I say more?
Would we return? NO! Would we recommend this to anyone? NO! Value for money? NO!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandKKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    56
    44
    39
    47
See reviews for
47
114
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I made the mistake of not taking the star rating into account and while the Cemre is very good value for money, we paid peanuts for a week here, the rooms are very shabby with funny grey rubber mats in the shower and bathroom and worst of all and for me totally unacceptable was that the water is salty! I think someone else wrote that they use sea water and another person said this was not true but it is infact sea water but mixed in with fresh water. Apparently they have a well as the council charge so much for fresh water and when this well gets low sea water seeps in. There is no doubt when you brush your teeth that it is salty and we bought big bottles of mineral water to rinse my hair....it is curly and tends to frizz so salt water was the last thing I wanted to wash in! The location was brilliant, right on the beach and although the beach is small there was always a free sunbed. There are also plenty of sunbeds by the pool which was really nice. When it says the hotel was re-furbed recently I think it is the outside that has been re-vamped as this area was really nice. It is the rooms that aren't great but again it is only 2 star. Air-con isn't included but it's cheap to have it and I would say a must.. It's a lovely walk into town and though we only ate breakfast at the hotel which was adequate if a bit repetitive and I thought they could have had a bit of fruit, some people have written that the owners aren't friendly. I think it's more a case of them not speaking english and relying on the staff to befriend the clients. The staff were all friendly if a bit under-qualified but again 2 star!!! I would recommend this as a cheap and cheerful hotel and if you're not bothered about the room and the fact that the water is salty ther location is excellent! I think I also read that the rooms are cleaned daily, they are not! We had the same towels all week and toilet paper was re-stocked but I think it was only cleaned once and not very well. They only seemed to have 2 people to clean all the hotel so it is understandable that they couldn't do all the rooms everyday. The floor was a bit gritty.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britabroad001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Really began to panic after booking Cemre hotel, and reading comments on here. However, although the hotel is definately a little rough around the edges and in need of some desperate updating as has been said before- you get what you pay for! It's a great base, fab views on sea side of hotel, a stones throw from the beach and Turgutreis is fab. I was really worried about the mention of cold showers but had no issues with that. I even had to add cold water to the hot on the last few days to stop myself getting burnt! There is obviously large amounts of sea water being used in showers (and taps!) too. Not great but bearable! Also, maid came in every day and towels/ sheets were changed every other day. The breakfast wasn't worth getting up for but food at the restaurant was ok. A little more expensive that other places but not bad! Cool Breeze restaurant is definately worth a visit! It seemed to be full of Cemre guests night after night.
One to miss is 'Resort Hoppa' shared shuttle. One couple had been sat on it waiting, after arriving at airport, for 2 hours before it left with us and another couple of lads. We were on it 2.5 hours as the last of the 3 drop offs. On the return journey it dropped us off 20 mins before our flight took off, which we scraped onto by the skin of our teeth. Definately don't book it!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara1975_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

took my daughter her husband & my grandchildren (13 to 19 year olds) flight problems meant we were 4 hours late just in time for evening meal which was added to bar bill because we failed to inform them we were half board even though we had just travelled 14 hours. cost 80 lire staff pounced on girls like depraved morons had to put them in their place. food was terrible like chicken every meal & spicy not the usual chef rooms left a lot to be desired pool not as clean as it should be, feel like nobody wanted to be there, not even the staff. was there 2 years ago & was like different place as for brian, erol who got sacked, harkan, ikan, & the others knew when not to cross the line they made the stay more pleasant. goodbye cemre wont miss you be closed next season as thomson/ thomas cook etc have removed it from their brochure shame for the staff but should have tried harder your worst nightmare (dusty baba)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustyboyincov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Turgutreis hotels

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

The location is fine, just in front of a small beach, and 20-25 minutes from Turgutreis, which is a great place. The hotel, though, is shabby and very tired. It's in desperate need of refurbishment, and is not particularly clean. The rooms are basic, but (for instance) in our room, the drawers wouldn't shut, the hairdryer in the bathroom was joined up with insulating tape, the sheets were only changed once in 10 days, and the bathroom was grimy. Our room, on the road side of the hotel, was very noisy, and there was a slight smell from the drains outside when we sat on the balcony. It was a real disappointment and the worst hotel room we've ever stayed in (even at "two stars", which it doesn't deserve). On the last day we did the Thomas Cook 'last day cruise', which involves leaving the hotel at 9:00, being taken to another hotel - in Gumbet, in fact, and spending the day on a boat before returning to the hotel for a shower and meal, with a late airport pickup - all good. This hotel, the Bagevleri, was also 2 star but perfect - simple, clean, well appointed, and just what we'd have expected the Cemre to be, but sadly wasn't. The pool at the Cemre was murky until one day a guy arrived to clean it (just before we left), and the poolside area grimy, with lifting tiles you could trip on. The Cemre staff were a mixture, some friendly and trying to make the best of it, some surly. If you are booked and committed, just use it as a base and spend your time elsewhere - the all-day boat trips from the town quay are great and pretty cheap (35 lire per head, which includes lunch), the restaurants are really good (we liked Can, also Mona Lisa). Beware The Codfather - a cheap meal became pricey, when they charged nearly double the going rate for a bottle of house wine, and three times the norm for a bottle of still water... Even then, Turkey is still cheap by Eurozone standards, the weather was fantastic, the people generally friendly, the food good, and the booze reasonably priced. We'd happily go again, but absolutely not to the Cemre!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osborne51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Before I got to the Cemre (pronounced Gemray) I worried about all the negative comments on here, but once I arrived I realised that as long as you don’t expect luxurious accommodation then it is a great place to stay! Yes the showers are cold but if you’re in hot weather it’s nice to have a cold shower! The water may not taste nice but you are told by the rep not to drink it and drink bottled water only. The room my sis and me stayed in was simple but had everything we needed, awesome views as well! The pool and pool area were nice (just get up early to put towels down as everyone else did and picked the best spots!) The bar area served nice food which was good for the price (Full English – 12 lira, burgers and chips - 7 lira, main course between 15-25 lira) and a bottle of Efe’s costs about 5lira. The walk into town is about 20 minutes and by the sea all the way, first restaurant when you hit town is Cool Breeze, it is brilliant! Eugene is lovely and always has time for you regardless of if your eating there or not! Be careful of bar street as EVERYONE will hound you and some people from our hotel had trouble with bills, etc.
All in all we loved the hotel; Brian, Erol, Hakan and all the boys at the hotel make up for the owners (who are past caring as they just want to sell), one last tip – pay your bill as you go as when people were coming to check out they were lumped with bills which were a lot more than they should be. Make sure you pay when you leave the bar each time and you will be fine. LOVED IT, would def go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 facing the sea, ask for the first floor as the 3rd floor rooms weren't gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lunara26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

The place needs pulled down and started again. Firstly, they couldn't find our booking when we checked in. Then told us only 1 of the 2 rooms were ready. Given that it was 6:30 in the evening we would have expected both to be ready. However, they gave us a hand with our luggage to the available room on the 1st floor !! You have to ask why because We discovered then that the other room was on the ground floor (even although we asked for adjacent rooms, lucky the "kids" are 16 so not too much of a problem) . So, all checked in, time for a shower as we had been travelling all day. Oh dear, no hot water and the water that was coming out of the shower was salty!! We discovered later that the locals call this hotel the "salty hotel". The locals also told us not to buy bottles of water in the hotel as they fill bottles from the tap. One morning we woke up to no water at all and it was like that til about 7pm at night .Our room had a lovely view but the glamour stops there. The boys room, stunk of damp, and I think probably a single room that they squeezed an extra bed into, it was so small. I could go on but to sum it up, the Management have lost interest in the hotel and don't give a hoot about their guests. The owner claimed to have very little English ( i can't complain about that because our Turkish is next to nothing) however, when it came to talking about money, his English improved dramatically. After a few incidents over a couple of days, we were lucky enough to get out of that place and paid to upgrade to self catering apartments. Turgutreis is a lovely wee town and thankfully, our holiday improved big style after leaving what another guest described as a "hell hole".

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy63Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turgutreis hotels
0.2 mi away
Ado Beach Hotel
Ado Beach Hotel
#33 of 54 in Turgutreis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aydem Hotel
Aydem Hotel
#30 of 54 in Turgutreis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#3 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marin-A Hotel
Marin-A Hotel
#43 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kortan Hotel and Restaurant
Kortan Hotel and Restaurant
#39 of 54 in Turgutreis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dragut Point North Hotel
Dragut Point North Hotel
#13 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cemre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cemre Hotel

Property: Cemre Hotel
Address: Turgutreis Mahallesi, Bahcelievler Caddesi No: 133, Turgutreis 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cemre Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turgutreis, the most beautiful city of Bodrum, the historical and holiday city which also has one of the seven wonders of the world, Mausoleum and one of the best underwater museums of the world. It is designed with high quality and careful design with all sea, islands and unique sunsets. 3 suites and 47 standard rooms, the restaurant which offers its guests the insatiable tastes of the world cuisines and the beach club, cleans the guests from the stress of the year's exhaustion. Airport 51 km. North Cemre Boutique Hotel & Beach Turgutreis is only 20 km away from the center of Bodrum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cemre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cemre Hotel Turgutreis
Cemre Hotel Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing