We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carry on Abroad”
Review of Cemre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cemre Hotel
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This was the second time at the Cemre. We stayed there last year for a week and had a great time. This year we decided to stay for 2 weeks. 10 days would have been enough as on the 11th day it all went down hill. The first 10 days involved relaxing on a beach just located outside of the hotel, next to the bar and pool (what more can you ask for) having a laugh with friends that we had made at the hotel. Watching lovely sunsets of an evening and taking a 20 minute walk to the town where you could find many resturants and bars that provided entertainment IE dancing in the streets to the local dance craze Shu Mummy.
The bar staff at the hotel, Brian, Hakan and Ikan made you feel welcome and made your stay memorable. The other staff could not speak English and made ordering food very difficult. Brian was run off his feet as he was the only one that knew who ordered what and at what table people were sitting at and then sometimes you would get the wrong order. The only word people understood was THE BILL! Try and pay every time you order a drink or a meal as some of the guests were asking for their bill at the end of the eveving or next morning and finding they were being charged for items that were not ordered.
11th day came and it all went downhill. The pipe from the toilet cystern burst at 6.30 in the morning and we alerted the lad on reception. After getting over the language barrier he alerted "TECHNICAL SUPPORT" in came a man who I recognised as the "CLEANER", he took one look at the pipe and said one minute. At this point we were ankle deep in water and everything was piled on the beds he then left us for 10 minutes. He then came back with a replacement pipe and fixed the leak, by now we were wading in water and washing the floor on the outside corridor. He then left. After waiting for a short while and still up to our ankles in water I found "TECHNICAL SUPPORT/CLEANER" and now "POOL CLEANER" cleaning the pool. We again went to reception and asked if the room was being cleaned. 30 minutes wait we were told. Shall we just say that after a few words the female cleaner came straight away with her mop and bucket and mopped the water up whilst making both beds and sheets wet. After returning from a boat trip ( which are great) we found awaiting us in our hotel room, NO WATER and love hearts on the beds and flower petals strewn across the beds which were still damp and an envelope asking for a tip. Reception was told again of the problem and TECHNICAL SUPPORT/CLEANER/POOL CLEANER came and switched us back on. The Management are selling up so they are not bothered about anything apart from the amount of money they will receive for the Cemre.
We did not receive any apology and this spoilt the holiday. We have since heard that this has also happened to friends staying in the hotel.

To sum the holiday up Location 10/10. Bar staff 10/10. Staff and Mangement 2/10. Hotel room 5/10.
It is a 2 star hotel and you get what you pay for somewhere to hang your clothes, lay your head and shower. The rest you will find in town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twood28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

After reading the reviews prior to arrival I really was dreading this holiday....we arrived at 6am, tired from travelling where the reception staff was asleep outside and I had to wake him up..he was sooo rude!! when I opened the door to the room i was aghast...i asked for a sea view and i was on ground floor, facing a tree. A mangy cat had obviously been sleeping on the beds prior to our arrival as footprints were all over the sheets. My immediate thoughts were..i have got to get out of here!!! I went to reception later in the morning and asked to have a room change otherwise i would not be staying there. He promised he would do his best and after 3 days i was moved. The room was much improved , the view magical ! The staff, Aykan, Hakan and Emre are lovely guys and speak good english, Brian is a little too over friendly towards me but very helpful nontheless. The other staff, are quite ignorant and sirly and wont even give you a smile. The managers watch everything at the bar, hardly speak to their guests and generally made me feel uncomfortable. Be wary of your bills, pay as you go otherwise you may find like myself they will try to give you a bill which you know you have paid!!

The hotel itself needs lots of TLC, its run down and needs an overhaul, not enough umbrellas but plenty of sunbeds...my advice use the beach instead!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suslan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

What can I say?
Location - excellent. Right on the seafront, with a 10-15 walk to the main shops and restaurants.
Rooms - very shabby. Drawers and doors hanging off and not closing properly. Grime and dirt around the tiles and shower cubilcle in the bathroom. The MOST uncomfortable beds that we have ever slept in - ever! Springs poking out all over the place. We had our bedding changed twice in the fortnight we were there and towels three times. Room cleaning was non-existent, until the day before we checked out - when the rooms were mopped and a wonderful flower arrangement left on our bed, along with an envelope requesting a tip! Hot water was said to be available between 8am and 10pm - More like 4pm until 9pm, and then it was pot luck if the water pressure let you have any!
Restaurant - The staff were very friendly - especially "Brian".
Breakfast - Repetitive and lacking in variety. It was also put out at 8am for two hours, under a tree, all uncovered and infested with wasps! We decided after day two that we would rather walk into the centre and buy breakfast.
We have stayed in other hotels in Turkey of the same star rating - and I would honestly say that the Cemre's two star rating is inacurate - I wouldn't actually give it a rating!.
Pool - the pool was decidedly grubby and cloudy and you couldn't see the bottom of the pool for the first week - eventually it was given a clean but the sides of the pool were green with algy.
A tip to the wise......pay your drinks/food bills as you go along!!! Need I say more?
Would we return? NO! Would we recommend this to anyone? NO! Value for money? NO!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandKKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I made the mistake of not taking the star rating into account and while the Cemre is very good value for money, we paid peanuts for a week here, the rooms are very shabby with funny grey rubber mats in the shower and bathroom and worst of all and for me totally unacceptable was that the water is salty! I think someone else wrote that they use sea water and another person said this was not true but it is infact sea water but mixed in with fresh water. Apparently they have a well as the council charge so much for fresh water and when this well gets low sea water seeps in. There is no doubt when you brush your teeth that it is salty and we bought big bottles of mineral water to rinse my hair....it is curly and tends to frizz so salt water was the last thing I wanted to wash in! The location was brilliant, right on the beach and although the beach is small there was always a free sunbed. There are also plenty of sunbeds by the pool which was really nice. When it says the hotel was re-furbed recently I think it is the outside that has been re-vamped as this area was really nice. It is the rooms that aren't great but again it is only 2 star. Air-con isn't included but it's cheap to have it and I would say a must.. It's a lovely walk into town and though we only ate breakfast at the hotel which was adequate if a bit repetitive and I thought they could have had a bit of fruit, some people have written that the owners aren't friendly. I think it's more a case of them not speaking english and relying on the staff to befriend the clients. The staff were all friendly if a bit under-qualified but again 2 star!!! I would recommend this as a cheap and cheerful hotel and if you're not bothered about the room and the fact that the water is salty ther location is excellent! I think I also read that the rooms are cleaned daily, they are not! We had the same towels all week and toilet paper was re-stocked but I think it was only cleaned once and not very well. They only seemed to have 2 people to clean all the hotel so it is understandable that they couldn't do all the rooms everyday. The floor was a bit gritty.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britabroad001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Really began to panic after booking Cemre hotel, and reading comments on here. However, although the hotel is definately a little rough around the edges and in need of some desperate updating as has been said before- you get what you pay for! It's a great base, fab views on sea side of hotel, a stones throw from the beach and Turgutreis is fab. I was really worried about the mention of cold showers but had no issues with that. I even had to add cold water to the hot on the last few days to stop myself getting burnt! There is obviously large amounts of sea water being used in showers (and taps!) too. Not great but bearable! Also, maid came in every day and towels/ sheets were changed every other day. The breakfast wasn't worth getting up for but food at the restaurant was ok. A little more expensive that other places but not bad! Cool Breeze restaurant is definately worth a visit! It seemed to be full of Cemre guests night after night.
One to miss is 'Resort Hoppa' shared shuttle. One couple had been sat on it waiting, after arriving at airport, for 2 hours before it left with us and another couple of lads. We were on it 2.5 hours as the last of the 3 drop offs. On the return journey it dropped us off 20 mins before our flight took off, which we scraped onto by the skin of our teeth. Definately don't book it!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tara1975_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

took my daughter her husband & my grandchildren (13 to 19 year olds) flight problems meant we were 4 hours late just in time for evening meal which was added to bar bill because we failed to inform them we were half board even though we had just travelled 14 hours. cost 80 lire staff pounced on girls like depraved morons had to put them in their place. food was terrible like chicken every meal & spicy not the usual chef rooms left a lot to be desired pool not as clean as it should be, feel like nobody wanted to be there, not even the staff. was there 2 years ago & was like different place as for brian, erol who got sacked, harkan, ikan, & the others knew when not to cross the line they made the stay more pleasant. goodbye cemre wont miss you be closed next season as thomson/ thomas cook etc have removed it from their brochure shame for the staff but should have tried harder your worst nightmare (dusty baba)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dustyboyincov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The location is fine, just in front of a small beach, and 20-25 minutes from Turgutreis, which is a great place. The hotel, though, is shabby and very tired. It's in desperate need of refurbishment, and is not particularly clean. The rooms are basic, but (for instance) in our room, the drawers wouldn't shut, the hairdryer in the bathroom was joined up with insulating tape, the sheets were only changed once in 10 days, and the bathroom was grimy. Our room, on the road side of the hotel, was very noisy, and there was a slight smell from the drains outside when we sat on the balcony. It was a real disappointment and the worst hotel room we've ever stayed in (even at "two stars", which it doesn't deserve). On the last day we did the Thomas Cook 'last day cruise', which involves leaving the hotel at 9:00, being taken to another hotel - in Gumbet, in fact, and spending the day on a boat before returning to the hotel for a shower and meal, with a late airport pickup - all good. This hotel, the Bagevleri, was also 2 star but perfect - simple, clean, well appointed, and just what we'd have expected the Cemre to be, but sadly wasn't. The pool at the Cemre was murky until one day a guy arrived to clean it (just before we left), and the poolside area grimy, with lifting tiles you could trip on. The Cemre staff were a mixture, some friendly and trying to make the best of it, some surly. If you are booked and committed, just use it as a base and spend your time elsewhere - the all-day boat trips from the town quay are great and pretty cheap (35 lire per head, which includes lunch), the restaurants are really good (we liked Can, also Mona Lisa). Beware The Codfather - a cheap meal became pricey, when they charged nearly double the going rate for a bottle of house wine, and three times the norm for a bottle of still water... Even then, Turkey is still cheap by Eurozone standards, the weather was fantastic, the people generally friendly, the food good, and the booze reasonably priced. We'd happily go again, but absolutely not to the Cemre!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osborne51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turgutreis hotels
0.5 mi away
Dragut Point North Hotel
Dragut Point North Hotel
#17 of 53 in Turgutreis
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#7 of 53 in Turgutreis
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seas Apart Hotel
Four Seas Apart Hotel
#26 of 53 in Turgutreis
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aydem Beach Hotel
Aydem Beach Hotel
#35 of 53 in Turgutreis
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yelken Mandalinci SPA & Wellness Hotel
1 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#10 of 53 in Turgutreis
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cemre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cemre Hotel

Address: Turgutreis Mahallesi, Bahcelievler Caddesi No: 133, Turgutreis 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
Hotel Class:2 star — Cemre Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turgutreis, the most beautiful city of Bodrum, the historical and holiday city which also has one of the seven wonders of the world, Mausoleum and one of the best underwater museums of the world. It is designed with high quality and careful design with all sea, islands and unique sunsets. 3 suites and 47 standard rooms, the restaurant which offers its guests the insatiable tastes of the world cuisines and the beach club, cleans the guests from the stress of the year's exhaustion. Airport 51 km. North Cemre Boutique Hotel & Beach Turgutreis is only 20 km away from the center of Bodrum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cemre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cemre Hotel Turgutreis
Cemre Hotel Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing