We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon disaster”
Review of Kadikale Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kadikale Resort
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Reviewed 1 September 2008

arrived at this hotel with good expectations after good reviews on this site.check in was painless and we were shown to our room.this is where it started to worry us,the room was not as good as expected(going by photo in brochure),it was dark not as good as 2star.we approached our rep the same morning who promptly got us a room change(eventually).three days into our honeymoon we contracted gastroenteritus and had to go to hospital and be put on a drip along with 6 others the same day(22in all,most on our days there and some in the previous week)altogether my wife and i were sick for 8-10 days which ruined our holiday ,all this was centered around the block of rooms from 400 upwards.the food in the buffet restaurant was ok but could have been better,the a la carte food was really good and not faulted.the hotel grounds were sprayed with all we can describe as sewerage(it really stank and you had to avoid it as it was being sprayed onto the footpaths aswell). the bar staff as a whole were rude and ignorant(they would not serve children and if you were a woman or tipped them you got served straight away!!)but the beach bar staff were great and friendly.the house keeping staff were also a bit lapse in areas, such as forgeting towels and not giving you more water in fridge. the swimming pools were good and the towel hut was a good idea.there is a boat that offers trips from the hotel jetty,avoid this as its crew over book the trip and we were stopped by the harbour master on our trip and had the day cut short as we had to return to the hotel after half the passengers had to go on another boat.overall this holiday was a nightmare with illness and inept staff,we would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rhonddared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2008

We would agree with pretty much with what everyone has said. The standard rooms are looking a bit tired but are cleaned thoroughily every day. If you are a family of 4 ask for a room with bunkbeds as we had 4 proper beds and there was not enough room to swing a cat!The updated rooms up the steps were apparently lovely!

The food was a little repetitive but you could use the fish restaurant which was great and the Italian which was nice for a change . There was always lots of grilled meat and loads of salad as well as chips everyday for the kids. Breakfast was worth getting up for and even my son prised himself out of bed for the omelettes and pancakes, despite the queues.

The service was not that bad at the bars,if you smiled and said thank you you didnt have to wait too long.

The spa was lovely and the massages great but beware the price
in Euros is increased when changed into lira.

The entertainment was very funny to my 10 year old, a bit crude and along the lines of Kenny Everett! The animation team worked hard and some of Apaches one liners were the best. It did improve in the second week when the chief was back and even Dietmar(skinny russian) grew on you towards the end.
(Hard to believe I know John!)

Wouldn,t agree with the review of the rep ,Clare ,who we thought was rubbish . Her answer to all complaints was write when you get home as there is nothing I can do. There was no Thomas Cook kids club but after some cross words from lots of people at the meeting she gave us gave a free trip to the water park .Some others argued and got different trips. We would recommend the boat trip from the hotel £45 for 2 adults and 2 children all day,even if the captain couldn't moor the boat without 4 attempts.

Overall a definite 3 star hotel, having stayed elsewhere in Turkey there are lots of improvements that could be made. Next time we will spend a bit more and go 4 star again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oxonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

just returned from kadikale with aching tummy because of laughing too much! the fantastic friends we met made our holiday so special. on arrival we were allocated a room up 100000000 steps!!!! due to the fact we had a baby buggy we were not happy so contacted reception and were moved straight away to more accessible room. our room was basic but was cleaned every day and there are plenty of towels. on the other side of the hotel are the most amazing rooms. hotel has great views with lovely swimming pools and slides. big problems with sunbeds and shade. only solution is to get up at 6am and guard your place until 7am then its yours. food is great with plenty of variety for everyone and restaurant staff lovely. same cannot be said for extra slow, miserable, ignorant pool bar staff. night entertainment is at the ampitheatre, again up many steps and with no bar. WARNING do not use the hotel shuttle service. its run by 2 guys who will try to con you and disappear when its convenient for them. local dolmus is easy and much cheaper. reception are very polite and helpful and clare our rep was super. the spa and fitness suites are excellent but all the steps keep you fit anyway! overall had a great time so if you're off to kadikale enjoy yourself and pack tons of suncream coz its hot, hot, hot!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Just returned from a week in Kadikale. Had a fantastic time, staff were brilliant from start to finish.

Arrived late at night, reception staff checked us in very quickly and a porter carried our (heavy) suitcases up many steps to our room. After reading many reviews we were worried what the room was going to be like....but we were lucky enough to have a recently refurbished room with sea views. We booked a family room which comprised of king size bed and a separate (small) room with bunk beds for the children. Housekeeping cleaned everyday and replaced towels and bottled water.

The resort itself is a little paradise, lots of flowers and greenery, gardeners and handymen working all day to keep the place looking wonderful.

Pools were lovely, we preferred the lazy pool as it was away from the daytime entertainment and near to the slides. Note. if you wish to get a sun bed here, be prepared to get up at 7am! if you don't want to get up that early, sun beds on the beach are available until about 9am. But beware of sharp stones in the water.

Entertainment was mixed, some nights it was very entertaining other nights quite boring. Seemed to be "done on the cheap", but all entertainment staff worked hard and Apache was genuinely funny.

Bars were very busy (cocktail bar inside was quietest), but if you make eye contact and attempt a Turkish please or thank you, service was good.

Food was a bit repetitive, but they catered for most nationalities. There were chips, rice and different sorts of potato everyday.

Would recommend a trip to Turgutreis, we went on a Friday and it was very quiet, Saturday is market day. We had a meal at "La Villa", overlooking the beach, which was very nice.

Shop in the resort was expensive, but there are a couple of shops a little further down the beach, which are more reasonably priced.

Overall a fantastic resort that we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunbedhogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Returned in 2008 following a great holiday in 2007......what a disappointment!
Will try and be concise:
Good points:
Relaxing resort,
Hotel amenities,
Animation team,
Bad points:
Tired bedrooms unless you spent an extra £400,
Ignorant and lazy bar staff,
Plastic tumblers for your after meal brandy,
Management who mistook themselves for paying guests,
Boring and repetitive menus,
Stomach bug that 'apparently' only effected the English (and the odd Belgian, Dutchman, Russian,......) but the hotel management gave themselves a clean bill of health!...comforting,

The lesson; never going back and don't recommend the Kadikale!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Darwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

First the bad news. Kadikale Resort has a beautiful setting with some gazebo structures around the pool and sea edge that provide shade, lovely if you get one, but for most of the peak season visitors you fry in the sun due to the resort not having one single telescopic umberella type shade. The management have a policy of removing all towels just before seven, after 7 you can save beds. They do not communicate this policy so every day you witness the fights when two groups of people think they own the same beds. Best insult went to the turk who called a brit 'son of a [--]' best move went to the russian who just tipped the poor woman out of her sun bed.At high season the brits get put in the 400 number block, frankly its horrible.old sanitory ware, not enough storage, 5 coat hangers, dated linen which makes it look dirty (its not) the saving grace is the air con. If you pay a superior room or sea view you may escape this block, if you dont then being accomodated here is a dead cert. We got sick bugs.The internet cafe dosn't exist, if you take you lap top you can connect in the reception area. The cinema is a pull down screen, if a film was shown im not aware of it. You have to pay extra for a safe key.Only 10 percent brits, more arrived but my kids were not that happy.Efes larger is not used here. Good news 2 lovely pools 2 paddling pools 2 waterslides.food ok.no night disturbance from noise.fab kiddie disco

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank weasell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

we arrvied in the middle of the day and it was very hot to.much better then the english weather. frist imperssions was what have we done going down the long drive way.but i was so wrong it was out of this world. the hotel staff were very goog.there was 10 of us.we travelled with my disabled daugther even no it was hard with all the stairs she really had a fab time. the rooms where lovely very clean and basic.with lots of clean towels. the food was ok so by the 2nd week we out to dinner in the by town.
over all ther was lots to four the children do with all the swimming pools and kids clubs. we all had a excellnt time and are going bk in a 2weeks time.my 8year is alreday counting the the sleeps

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clare_courtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turgutreis hotels
0.2 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 53 in Turgutreis
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#4 of 53 in Turgutreis
1,421 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#8 of 53 in Turgutreis
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#9 of 53 in Turgutreis
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Park Bodrum
Grand Park Bodrum
#13 of 53 in Turgutreis
764 reviews
5 mi away
Armonia Holiday Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kadikale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadikale Resort

Address: | Kadikalesi Mevki, Peksimet Koyu, Turgutreis 48963, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Turgutreis
#10 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range: £48 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kadikale Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kadikale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadikale Hotel Turgutreis
Kadikale Resort Turgutreis
Club Kadikale
Kadikale Resort Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing