We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kadikale Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kadikale Resort
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Turgutreis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Recently returned from a family holiday enjoyed by all! Starting from the beginning, the airport transfer is slightly longer than expected - about an hour or so, but not hideous.

We were shown to our room, first impressions were very good. The room was clean, tidy, modern, comfy and spacious - and the maids ensured that three room was spotless throughout our stay. Only slight gripe was the so called 'garden view', which turned out to be a walled in enclosure. Having said this though, this kept out the sun and kept the room cool at all times, so it was a blessing in disguise.

The food was good. Plenty of variety, although repeated daily with slight variation - but nonetheless, tasty. The waiters for the most part are helpful - although some are a tad slapdash. Bar staff were much the same, it was very much luck of the draw who served you.

Entertainment wise, the Animation Team were enthusiastic, bright and always giving their all. Some of the shows probably aren't entirely suited to all audiences, but you can't fault their effort. Professional acts like the Turkish dancers were amazing.

Location, in terms of scenery is beautiful, the views are stunning. However, the resort is a bit isolated - there is no where you would want to venture out for an evening walk.

The beach, pool and other facilities are all of a high standard and plenty to do, for adults and children alike. The wifi however, was utterly terrible. It was so slow that made it incredibly difficult to even send a message.

Overall though, this was a thoroughly good resort, and any niggles are only slight. Would definately recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    253
    138
    88
    52
See reviews for
377
345
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Went to this resort at the end of July 2014 with my wife, 14 and 18 years’ son and daughter. As a disabled person, I requested from Thomson, the package provider who doesn't help unlike Thomas Cook staff as seen from last year’s trip with them, to ensure that both rooms are adjacent to each other and on the ground floor. When we arrived, we found that our room was located at the entrance of the resort on the ground floor with staff cars parked in front of the room door and the kids’ room was on the 1st floor where they have to walk a long way to reach it. When we complained to the manager, we were told that the resort is fully booked due to the Eid (by Turkish nationals) and that we had to wait for three nights until rooms near the reception entrance become ready. The first two rooms we got had three beds with walk-in shower. The shower in the ground floor room smell like sewer when warm water went into it. The 1st floor room had the shower blocked and kept overflowing despite reporting it along with a non-working telephone (only the bathroom phone was working). The sheets are not changed on daily basis and only done when people leave the room. The mini-bar consisted of 3 bottles of water only unlike a truly 5 star Egyptian resort, Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort & Spa, we went to several years ago which had a full complement of soft drinks, water, and chocolates. In the Kadikale resort you can’t get any drink in a can or bottle and can’t take anything to your room even though most of the nationals were allowed to do so by the staff.

When we got moved to the other rooms on the ground floor nearer to the reception entrance, the two rooms were old and had a third bed with no sheets (see photos). The AC units were noisy and kept getting sewage smell from outside into the rooms at certain days. In addition, every morning when the door of one room was opened water kept coming from the floor above. When the garden staff watered the area in the mornings, the whole place smelt like sewage combined with some chemicals used to spray the plants from certain insects as happened at one night when a car came around 9 pm to do this.

All rooms came with two large towels and two small ones and limited supply of shower shampoos. There were no kettle/coffee/tea in the room unlike some 4 star hotels we visited in the UK. If you need to have a bath twice, you have to reuse them or see if you can find one of the room cleaning staff to give you extra ones. For the latter, you need to show them what you want as they don’t speak English.

The resort paths and pavements were not suitable to anyone using a wheelchair, walking stick or child pushchair due to their uneven, and rocky nature. The driveway to the entrance is worse as it’s made of uneven tiles (see photos). Some of the floors near the bars are also dangerous due to being wet and can be slippery. Few people were seen to fall as a result of them.
The reception area is hot, humid, with seats mostly wet due to allowing people in their swimwear to sit on them. The wireless internet is only available in the reception area making it difficult to access it from anywhere in the resort. At night, the signal goes down due to increase usage.
The reception staff are unhelpful and have difficulties in communicating in English. The bars and restaurant staff are also rude, unhelpful and don’t speak English. The exception was one of the main restaurant staff, Bahtiyar, who was very professional in his work with good English spoken.

The bars’ staff were not helpful to some nationalities compared to their fellow Turks, Eastern Europeans and Russians. They never courteously attempted to ask if you like a drink when sitting near the main pool area as compared to the Egyptian resort. When asked to make a cocktail, they never managed to produce one correct type. When asked about Turkish coffee, they said go to the bar in the reception area which mostly was serving the nationals first over others.

The bars’ areas and in particular the one next to the main pool and restaurant was used by nationals and others who chain smoked making it difficult to breath for someone who don’t like smoking and also for my family. There are no non-smoking areas in the resort as some were even smoking in the main restaurant.

Some of main restaurant staff were clearly seen to make reservations of certain tables (near the windows) using their own phones, partly filled wine/juice glasses for the people who pay them in tips (see photo showing the cat and two members who were consistent in making such reservations). At certain times, tables were left for over 45 mins without allowing anyone to use them. The other issues with the main restaurant are the 4 cats roaming across the resort and through all eating areas (see photos). Very unhygienic eating areas and worse after seeing one of the cats burying her poo in the beach area where people sunbathed and children made sand castles. The food was the same every day with limited choices and mostly boring with little Turkish cuisine included in the menu. The dishes were worn out with clear black marks and some were dirty with flies in the whole area landing and sticking to the food.

The other eating areas were small and had limited menu choices. The resort had no beach but only a small man-made area with a limited set of chairs that are mostly reserved early in the morning.

The animation team in charge of scheduling events was good though the area where most night events takes place is not accessible to people with disabilities.

Let’s now look at the positive features of this resort. The Water sports were excellent despite their high cost and the man in charge, Gürkan, was a friendly guy. Another friendly and professional person was Thomas, the person in charge of booking the wooden pirate boat trip. Even if you don’t buy a trip, he’s the only person in the resort who is truly pleasant to talk to. The Diving Center gentleman is another professional person who speaks good English and was caring when my son went diving for the first time. These are the only positive points in this place.

Thomson website gave this 5 star resort a 4 T classification. This was totally generous as it should only be an average of 2 star or 2 T’s. We've been to a number of all-inclusive hotels with Thomson in Egypt and Tunisia and all were far better than this place. If you’re a non-smoker, or disabled, don’t go to this resort. The rude staff with their clear favoritism to Turkish, Russian, and some Eastern European guests over others are the major negative points about this place in addition to the others stated above.

Finally, to further demonstrate the rudeness of the staff, when we checked out, the manager nor his staff said anything nice or attempted to ask if we enjoyed our stay in this place. Having been to Istanbul and now to this resort, we will never go to Turkey, and also buy a package with Thomson again.

Room Tip: None as it's not worth going to this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffMow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

first of all you should know that this hotel is far from the airport and we spent some time in the traffic between cities. but once you get to the hotel you don't feel the need to leave at all. the absolutely great thing about this hotel is the "Animation Team" , they are amazing and creative and truly friendly. they walk around the resort and talk to you and ask you if you have any problems. Do not miss the "showtime" . the view in this resort is breathtaking and you will always find a place to sunbathe. But if you you want the better places you have to leave your room early. the variety of food is good and they change some of them daily. the staff are nice and friendly and they help you and smile at you all the time. the pool bar is great, specially the night shift bartenders, Eyup and Ali. everything that is made with local drinks is included in the all-inclusive package. So if you want to have cocktails like mojito and sex on the beach you have to pay for them. the only problem of this hotel is the rooms. they are more of 3-star rooms than 5-star rooms.everything is really old and they are full of flies. if they fix this problems their hotel will be flawless.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asalhasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Kadikale has a really great location, occupying a mountainside overlooking the sea, with it's own private beach and great views. We arrived late at night, so couldn't appreciate all of this until the morning when we noticed our garden view room also had a sea view to enjoy as well!

The room was clean and modern, and our friends who holidayed with us had a similar room so they're all at a similar level. The stairs to the rooms, as noted in some reviews, are steep and uneven but it wasn't really a problem for us.

I got the impression the hotel was halfway through being thoroughly refurbished, as the titel of the review suggests. The outdoor areas, (beach, pool, cabanas, jetty etc) were all very modern and the sunbeds all looked new, but little things like the noisy a/c unit and the grotty basket the toiletries were kept in took the edge away!

The food was good, and the selection was broad. However, the selection was constant, and so even after seven days the food became slightly repetitive. But, it was all very good and the selection of Turkish salads etc was good too! Cats in the restaurant were a bit off putting at times but to be honest, better cats than mice! We booked into the A la carte restaurant on the final night and that was a pleasant change as we got to sit by the sea for dinner! The snack bar pita break pizzas served in the afternoon are a very good mid afternoon snack and are worth the waiting for!

The pool/beach/watersport options are all top notch and we liked to sit on the beach and prefered to swim in the sea as opposed to the busy pools. The jetty and main pool sunbeds are claimed very early (they're gone by 7:05 and you can only put towels out at 7am) so we never sat there- we wouldn't want to as the main pool is noisy due to the games and shows etc which we never got involved with.

My main problem with the hotel is the staff, who are at their best fakely friendly and at their worst rude! Most of the time they just have faces like they've just been fired and are usually unwilling to help- I waited at the pool bar for 15mins whilst three barmen just stood and chatted. Sending the girls for drinks usually made them go a little quicker! The waiters in the restaurant are equally as rude and most don't make an effort. There are some gems though and Tom (who organises the boat trips from the jetty every day) was very polite, funny and always came to chat when he saw us, even on the last day when he knew he wasnt getting a sale! On the other hand, the chap who just walked around shouting 'diving, scuba diving' was less of a salesman and more of a nuissance!

Anyway, so the hotel is nice and clean, with good views and facilities; but some of the staff still need to work on their guest relation skills! The hotel is not a 5* as advertised but a high 3* or 4*, still an enjoyable stay though!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of june. Arrived late so went straight yo room room clean but smelt of smoke and when we opened door on to patio greeted with a wall and bank not a nice place to sit out as dark as bank so high. Asked to be moved next morning as like sitting out on balcony after a long day. Our thomson rep was great but had to wait another day to move management were not happy and quite rude when we arrived to be moved but the rep sorted it out. found out later that the rooms are used ancillary staff but hotel full up do we were put there but after this no problems. Lovely views food good had 2 grandchildren who always found something they liked. Drinks ok not watered down effess beer. Pools lovely
Lots of steps upto rooms a bit of a challenge after an evening out
Clean tidy at all times staff lovely only problem we incontered was at the pool bar never enough staff on usually only 2 one night we had two managers stood outside bar checking there watches for last 15minutes very annoying when you are waiting then they close bar surely they could of served behind bar?. But the other staff so friendly from the cleaners waiting staff bar staff and reception staff. Just a shame some of the managers are unfriendly and unhelpful .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank mum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teamdp
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great hotel for a relaxing holiday. We used the spa for a couples package which was bliss and well worth the money. Food was great with plenty of variety. Entertainment wasn't great but we were without children so wasn't a big issue as we went to the night club. Staff excellent. We would recommend and would go back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teamdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

went for 2 weeks in July 2014 with my wife & 12yr old daughter, first night no room ready so 1 night lost, 2nd night got a room with only 1 small window the room was tiny and there was 3 off us i had booked sea view room with a balcony, went to reception to speak to them the gentleman in charge (us that word loosley) basicaly told me i got what i had booked and that was that, i asked to speak to the manager who the first guy was reluctant to call when the manager eventualy came he was very helpfull aplogised for his collegue's attitude and sorted out our room to what we had actualy booked sea view with a balcony(much improved on the first 2 rooms)
onto the food ok but very repetative got fed up after the first week, the wine was undrinkable the spirits where not to bad but all mixers where from a syrup mixing machine which no one obviously new how to operate there was not enough gas and to much syrup making an all together horrible drink.
As previous customers have stated the padded sunbeds at the main pool people must have been putting their towels on the beds before they went to bed i was down at 530am and none were available they stayed unused until late in the day grrrrrrrr.
The waiters uninterested & unfriendly trying to get served at the bar was a nightmare they had no idea who was next to get served.
On the positive the water sports were great (but a little expensive) the area was very nice Turgetries was only 10mins by taxi lots of bars, restaurants & shops the hotel offered a shuttle service at a cost but you are restricted on times where as the local taxis were cheaper and you travelled when you wanted.

Room Tip: make sure you book sea view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
0.4 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#5 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
5.0 mi away
Armonia Holiday Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#3 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
8.4 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#8 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kadikale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadikale Resort

Property: Kadikale Resort
Address: Kadikale Mevki, Turgutreis 48963, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Turgutreis
#10 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kadikale Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kadikale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadikale Hotel Turgutreis
Kadikale Resort Turgutreis
Club Kadikale
Kadikale Resort Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing