We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stunning location and fabulous rooms - and the food, wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kadikale Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kadikale Resort
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Turgutreis
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A stunning location and fabulous rooms - and the food, wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Transfer - We travelled with Thomas Cook to this hotel in the most stunning location. Shame that the long transfer involved a change of coach after half hour to a small mini bus without air conditioning. Not easy in 105 degrees in the middle of the day.

Hotel - This place is fabulous. The views of the bay are second to none. We travelled with 2 other families. The hotel rooms had been refurbished to a very high standard. Their family rooms had a separate area with bunk beds for kids and we had a suite with a separate room with twin beds for the children. The hotel had double booked their suites when we arrived and we had to accept a standard family room for the first night. However the hotel were very helpful and Thomas Cook rep on site was excellent and arranged for fair compensation (a free taxi transfer back to the airport, plus £100 off our next Thomas Cook holiday). Also had problem with aircon not working in room but they did call out an engineer at 1030pm who eventually got it working by midnight. These things happen and they are unfortunate but what the important thing is, the hotel dealt with our issues and got the job done.

Food - AMAZING! Different food every night and of a very high quality. Fab omlette, pancake and egg chef for breakfast. Wonderful salads and meats for lunch. Amazing evening buffets, hundreds of desserts. I cannot stress enough how good the food was and the quality. Good Turkish food with local flavours. A childrens buffet for fussy eaters, a diet buffet (!), home baked breads, handmade pizzas. Just wow! There was also an Italian restaurant on site which was included but you needed to book in advance. Not worth it in our opinion. Preferred the main buffet. There was a fish restaurant which we were never able to get a booking for. It seems you need to book by 830am the day before to get a place. Heard good things about it though.

Trips - You have to go on Jonny's boat the Mekin. Fantastic. Jonny comes round by poolside selling tickets. Do it, you will love it! All our kids aged 4 to 8 loved it too! Think it cost about £50 for a family of 4.

Spa - Fab fab fab! On location, for £55 had a steam, Turkish bath, peel, rub and scrub, followed by the best massage I have ever had. In there for 2 hours in total. Well worth the visit.

Kids club - not overly impressed. Nice enough girls running the hotel run club. In a room with art facilities and few toys but not air conned and not to the sort of standards you would expect if you had a club run by Thomas Cook themselves. OK for 6 years plus but I would be concerned leaving younger children there to be honest. Thomas Cook rep said she was aware there had been complaints and had fed this back to the hotel. Having said this our kids all loved it and wanted to go every day!

Entertainment - too exhausted to stay up late enough to see it at 945pm every night, but other people at the hotel did not rate it so didnt feel like making the extra effort. There was a kids disco at 9pm every evening which was same every night but they enjoyed it.

Overall - Not many places in the world I would want to go back to but this place I would. Lots of steps around so impossible with a pushchair I would imagine. Staff on reception, in restaurant, spa and Thomas Cook rep very good. Bar staff bit slow/surly at times - very annoying.

You will not be disappointed, go on - book it today!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruthie_toothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    253
    138
    88
    52
See reviews for
377
345
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Hotel rooms had been renovated to a high standard but let down by other areas - mostly upper pool area that was, I hope, next in line for some attention. Main pool had been updated.

TV in room was a small portable with no remote for the BBC world channel. Ample storage for family of three. Air Con was excellent and the reception provided three entrance cards for the room - any one which could have been left in all day to keep air con on.

Minor gripe - floor only appeared to be brushed when it could do with a good mop.

Minor gripe - safe was available for £15 per week when been free on all other 5 star AI complexes we have stayed at.

Food was without doubt the hottest buffet food at an AI that we have had. Possibly due to main courses being cooked fresh and that it was a much smaller hotel and therfore not 500 other guests to leave the lids up!! No ice creams on the AI

Minor gripe - no toast machine in the morning.

Beer was Tuborg and the wine was drinkable as was the vodka.

Location - 50 min walk along beach to Turgutreis. Taxi was approx 18 - 20 YTL each way. English football in town no problem.

Staff - no problems at all. No surly barmen and waited no longer than 5 mins at the busiest times.

Evening entertainment was chronically poor and a couple of sketches approached upon the offensive - issues of disability and prostitution. Animation team tried hard and were very approachable during the day but were not up to it at night. There were bought in shows on 2 nights we were there and they were infintely better.

I would rate the hotel as 4 star not 5 and a far bit behind those more modern hotels in say Lara beach but we did have an enjoyable holiday. The hotel was being renovated but there are better/more modern/more extras included AI hotels/villages especially in Antalya region.

Much more western European guests at this complex

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulLiverpoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

The kadikale resort was absoutely great. Beautiful views, lovely clean rooms and superb food. I would definately recommend this resort. and would go back again. The only downside was the many steps to get to your room (not for the unfit), the entertainment in the evening and the surly head barman who was extremely rude and not at all pleasant.. The rest of it is fab.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentSuperstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

most of the rooms are renovated and in great conditions. there are some rooms with incredible view. try to get one of them. except for the rooms, all buildings and furnitures need renovation desperately. location is perfect. one of the best locations in turkey.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TErdengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Thomas Cook brochure doesn't do this resort justice. The views across the bay are really stunning at any time of day. The resort itself is not very big and some of the rooms are harder to reach being at the top of the resort. An easier way to get to those rooms is by going up the sloping path from the "beach area" passing the other pools and water slides.
The main pool is the busiest because all the pool entertainment takes place there during the day. Only downside to the pool is the massive shortage of shades for the number of loungers which means that you have to get your towels on loungers with a shade at 6.00am!
The animation team are brilliant, working very hard to involve everyone in the many activities taking place every day eg. water aerobics, darts,water polo, aerobics, volleyball, football, pool, table tennis, shooting and varied pool games. Be warned though if playing water polo be on the same team as Roberto as he is very good and rarely misses the net. If you can play backgammon Borat will have a game with you.
The evening entertainment usually consists of the mini disco followed by comedy sketches( which are hilarious if Borat is in them) or competitions, followed most nights to disco's in bodrum or gumbet.
The food is of a good standard and the choice is varied to suit most peoples tastes.
The service around the pool bar can be on the slow side and one of the barmen was bad mannered but the others were polite enough. We could not understand why the drinks around the pool bar were served in glass instead of plastic containers, as no end of glasses were being knocked over every day.
Would we recommend the resort to friends? Yes,but it is best to go with a group rather than just one family.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindaburnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Hotel - the brochure pictures do not do this justice at all. On arrival we all dropped our Jaws.... The rooms, the setting, the pools, everything about it is truly first class.

Food - Food is varied and great for even the most fussy eaters. The snack areas are also great. You will end up eating far more than usual here. Towards the end of the first week though, you start to get sick of the sight of the food and the monotony of it.

Bars - i would say the bar staff is a let down for this hotel. They dont seem to want to serve you. If one person goes up and orders the drinks for the rest of the party, they dont like it. I think they think you are ordering several drinks for yourself. Cant say this changed throughout the week. Getting served was also a nightmare, hopefully in peak period they will lay on more staff. Appears the current staff work all day and night.

Waiters - Extreemly effecient. Too effecient. They like to whip away ur food and drink if it's not in ur hand.

Entertainment - Crap. First class crap. Might be good by Turkish standards, but that is a let down for this resort too.

Area - The immediate area is full of resorts, You therefore cannot just walk along the coastline. You are restricted to your resort. Outside of the resort is also nothing. You need to get a bus into turgurtreis (nearest town) . Bus stops at the end of the road and are frequent. They return from Turgurtreis frequently, last bus is about 1am. Buses are nice, better than ours, small, cheap, mad drivers.

Turgurtreis is cheap. Shops etc appear to be open 24 hours a day. All the sales people are very pushy and this can be off putting, but you get to handle it by the end of the week. People ask where you are staying. When you tell them Kadikale, they know this is 5 star and they thinkk you are rich. They think you should be spending money and can get offensive if you dont and say 'think of the Turkish people'

Excursions - The best one was the Boat trip. a real must for anyone. I also did the City Tour - wouldnt recommend it as they are underhand. They take you to places for you to spend money - like a jewellery shop and expensive outlet. Even the bar they take to for the pre booked lunch is underhanded cos you have to pay 5 lira for any drink you have.
There was also an excursions to a turkish bath. My friend went here for this as it was cheaper than the resort. Her experience was unpleasant, again it was underhand to get more money from you. I had a turkish bath and massage in the Spa at the hotel.....totally recommend that.

People - i find the Turkish people lacking hugely in manners. This is really noticable and a big let down for their country. They've not grasped the concept that if you are polite, then the tourist will more likely spend money. Its a shame.

Money - take Lira.... more cost effective.

Weather - hot all the time 35-40C - take plenty of lotion. Few clothes needed. just swim suits and light dresses are enough.

Have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crackof_dawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

The Kadikale resort is one of the best hotels that we have stayed in. It is really clean and tidy and all areas are kept at a high standard.

The rooms are brilliant and have all been totally refurbished to a high quality. They are cleanded daily no matter what time you leave them.

The pool areas are fantastic and there is always loads for the kids to do, we stayed up by the kids pool near the slides.

The food is excellent, loads of choice for everyone, the kids have their own section with their own food. The snack bar on a afternoon is really nice and staff very friendly.

The Italian and seafood restauarnts are lovely, make sure you book them at breakfast time for the next day.

The Bar service is the only gripe with this hotel. At peek times it can take you up tp 20 mins to get served. this is really annoying and it doesnt help when people just walk straight up and get served. Its a case of tipping the bar man on your first day in order to get served. There seems to be alot of managers stood around doing nothing whilst everyone struggles to get served. The main pool bar is the worst so be prepared for a long wait, the best time to go is when the show starts as it easy to get served.

The beach bar during the day is excellent, you get served pretty much straight away and the bar man really looks after you. Mohammed served us everyday and remembered all of our drinks and even brought them to your table. its just a shame the bar closes at 6pm.

If you have difficlulties walking make sure you request a low floor room. Most of the rooms are at the top of loads of steps as is the evening entertainment.

Kids ice creams are not included on AI and hotel shop VERY expensive, use the shop at the end of the drive for a third of the price. ( Also good for ciggies)

We would stay again and say that this hotel is definalty a 5 star complex.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeandnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
0.4 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#5 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
5.0 mi away
Armonia Holiday Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#3 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
8.4 mi away
Isis Hotel
Isis Hotel
#11 of 98 in Gumbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#8 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kadikale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadikale Resort

Property: Kadikale Resort
Address: Kadikale Mevki, Turgutreis 48963, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Turgutreis
#10 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kadikale Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kadikale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadikale Hotel Turgutreis
Kadikale Resort Turgutreis
Club Kadikale
Kadikale Resort Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing