We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disapponting”
Review of Sundance Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundance Resort
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Okay, I will try & keep this brief, we visited during the half term week this June 2012, a family of 2 adults, 3 kids. Good points - beautiful scenery when having your breakfast/lunch/dinner, you litterally look out onto the beautiful clean sea. If you like fishing, you will have the opportunity do so at the end of the jetty which can be a lovely peaceful way to spend the day & somewhere to sunbathe in peace. The opportunity also to experience some watersports, the banna boat, etc. the swimming pool area is quite crampt & i can only imagine how crampt in the height of the summer holidays. Entertaintment qiute pleasant. The people in the town are lovely and friendly, be sure to visit Friends, they couldn't be more attentive. It was nice to get chatting to other families, we met a lovely family from Essex, originally from the East End, good to have a bit of company. Bad points - a big one for most people, the food, unfortunately, it was very repeadative & not that palatable, you didn't look at the food & get much of an appetite. I like all sorts of cuisine but I also like good quality food, a frankfurter salad doesn't really do it for me, during my time at the hotel, off milk in my cereal, off ham, chickpeas & chocolate cake doesn't really make me very happy either, I had diarrhoea for 3 days of the holiday, could had been caused by the afore mentioned? We spent quite a lot of money eating in the town as the food was such bad quality. However, the Turkish restaurant at the hotel was nice in respect to the food & service, made a change to be waited on. Fish restaurant absolutely awful, food, service, etc, such a shame as the setting overlooking the sea couldn't have been more perfect. We didn't bother checking out the Italian restaurant as all resolve had melted away by then and we just didn't waste time being disappointed again. We stayed in the standard rooms which were basic. A queen size bed, hard mattress and a thin quilt only just big enough for a double bed. Guest bed so hard, my son had to request an alternative so staff placed a couple of sunbed cushions on the surface under the sheet which helped a little. The shower was a bit of a dribble really & deprnding on what time of the day you showered, It could possibly be cold also. The spa, ambiance was non existent, there were also no female masuiers which in Turkey, could be most female holiday makers preference! The hairdresser, a very nice man but definitely do not have your hair cut by him, my little girl did & it wasnt great. The man that did a shave & spruce was very good however. Stray dogs on the beach, harmless enough but not ideal if you are trying to relax or if you have small children. All in all, I would have been really upset if I had booked this hotel as my annual holiday for 2 weeks. If you visit Turkey, I would recommend Antalya, Side, Lara Beach which most Germans & Russians frequent and who expect a high standard & get it. We have been to that part of Turkey for the last 8 years & never been disappointed even if the Russians can be exceptionally arrogant.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms maybe..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great location, pleasant 10 minute walk to resort centre, shops and harbour. Fab market on Sat, don't miss the fruit and veg market as well! Staff friendly and helpful. Room not a garden view as stated, looked out on a narrow piece of scrub land and rusty fire escape where the cleaners had their regular cigarettes. Room comfortable but dark and gloomy and shower could have done with a good clean. Food good but not much choice and would be boring if staying a fortnight. A la carte restaurants interesting - fish fingers in the fish restaurant!!! Outdoor entertainment venue not available so held in the basement which was dark, depressing and very hot, ugh! Watched hotel next doors outside shows from bridge -excellent! Pool bar not a pool bar but in a large dark room by the pool, a shame, why not outside??. Hotel turkish bath & massage excellent - recommend. Overall a good holiday for the money, but not a 4.5* hotel as stated more 3.5*

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a high floor sea view - sun sets incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blodwynwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We returned from the Aegean Dream on May 16th as usual we had a fabulous time.The weather was brlliant and the food is excellent,something foe everybody.Special mention to Yusuf the manager who makes sure everything is running smoothly and Tulin guest relations who is very efficient.Muziem who looked after us in the restaurant is amazing nothing too much trouble.To see the best sunset go to the Starlight Bar its truly amazing.We were in a select room as it was our Ruby wedding ,it was brilliant,a fantastic view and quieter than the main hotel block.This hotel is a must for anyone who wants a hotel with the personal touch on the beach and fantastic views.

Room Tip: a higher floor is better dont have a room over restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ollyandgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed on our honeymoon and paid £1300 for 7 nights AI in the select rooms. With a sea view to die for the rooms were bigger than expected. The hotel is great value. Food is amazing , the buffet gets busy around peak times but we found eating later for dinner and early for breakfast was best. Still always a good choice. If you want bangers and mash , eggs chips and beans then go to Skegness. The lOcation is fantastic. The sea is clear and the two jetties are great To chillax on. The sunset is amazing. Sit sipping cocktails all eve and watch the sun drop behind the Greek isles. The Albatross boat trip is a must , Charlie and Edyy's family will do there best to make you day out a fun time. His Radio bar in town is great too. Bar street boast some good drinking venues for a night time stroll , it's 10 mins top in Turgutreis centre. The sea walk is easy. Overall a great place , downside ! Despite a pair of northern Brits the animation is poor , not a problem for us as we never bother with it . Go for a Turkish bath your first day . A great scrub down and all the dead skin goes ready for a fantastic tan . We're already booking for sept !

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sevy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband, 3 year old daughter and I went to Aegean Dream with friends and their daughter for 2 weeks May 2012 we all had a wonderful time.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly reception staff and shown to our rooms. My friend had emailed the hotel a week previous to see if we could be near each other so we were pleased to find we were next door and had sea views. We were very happy with where our rooms were, I can imagine some guests may not be too happy as some rooms were in some odd places, I partically wouldn't of wanted a room under the starlight bar!

All the staff in the hotel were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The Thomson rep Shebby was fantastic.
The animation team were all lovely, our girls had a fab time at the mini club although it did just seem to be face painting and colouring everyday. I didn't like how the animation team apart from 1 mini club worker all had the same day off, there was enough of them to all have seperate days off.
The entertainment was okay but quite samey, miming to musicals it would be nice if a couple of the animation team would/could sing. We were quite happy just going to the starlight bar before dinner to watch the wonderful sunsets and after mini disco, the bar man Remzi was very friendly and again nothing was too much trouble especially when our daughters kept eating his supply of crisps!
The main restaurant was just as you would expect for an all inclusive hotel, we always managed to find something we liked, and the cakes were very nice. It was a shame the only time there was any ice cream was at dinner it would have been nice if available lunchtime. The fish restaurant was our favourite I was disappointed we left going there till our last night.

Location was good we walked into the centre nearly everyday, there are some nice shops around the marina. On the way to the town you'll walk past La Blanche hotel which looks very impressive and possibly better than Aegean dream but I can't speak for the staff at that hotel Aegean dream are second to none!
We hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thesouthgates123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Now this place is a MUST !!
I went last October.
The rooms are beautiful, roomy & very clean.
Just across a path from the beach, where there are loads of beds & a lovely covered area ( if needed ). The sea was lovely & safe.
The entertainment was a bit low key BUT they tried.
A lovely cocktail bar on the roof which you can watch the sun set ! beautiful !
The staff were sooo friendly ( i learnt some turkish before going ) they loved it !!
The food is beautiful !! 10 out of 10 !! ( I've just come back from a RUI.....didn't touch the food here )
Lovely walks infront of the hotel.....very safe too.
A weekly market is really worth walking too ( 15 mins ) Fab leather sandels......cheap !!
We made some lovely friends at this hotel.
OH ....i just wanna go back ( wish i'd gone there this May )
You will not be dissapointed here
OH the poolside games etc......join in ( we did ) the dance after is fun !!

Have fun.....we did

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yellow91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

Just got back after 2 weeks and we must admit feeling a little disappointed. The hotel tries very hard but is let down by its a la carte restaurants and some sloppy service. We came last year for our honeymoon and were blown away by this hotel, so we couldnt wait to come back. We had a select room again which was fine(views are amazing)but we soon found the food quality had deteriorated. The Italian was the best last year but this time to put it bluntly,was rubbish. The select was too samey and food was cold, and slow service. The fish restaurant we didn't try but we heard off other people it wasn't good. The saving grace was the turkish which was best for food quality and service. Food in main restaurant was good but sometimes only Luke warm and long queues at times for show cooking stations.
Drinks were good, no queues at all. Plenty of sunbeds to go round, plenty of nice quiet areas to relax.
Entertainment we didn't really watch but seemed ok.
Hotel still good overall but we would not go back again.
Finally two people who made our holiday. First Ali at the dream select bar,makes great cocktails,plays great tunes,has some great moves and a real funny guy, you must go and see him, and last but not least, sheby the thomsoms rep. She is a real star, nothing is too much trouble, she knows everything there is to know about the hotel, the resort and turkey in general and you MUST go to her welcome meeting, it is entertainment in itself.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 195,719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
0.6 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#10 of 53 in Turgutreis
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#7 of 53 in Turgutreis
378 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#5 of 53 in Turgutreis
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#4 of 53 in Turgutreis
1,421 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Samara
Hotel Samara
#5 of 24 in Torba
1,102 reviews
3.2 mi away
Woxxie Hotel
Woxxie Hotel
#16 of 53 in Turgutreis
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort

Address: Turgutreis Mah:123 | Bahcelievler Cad. No:123, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey (Formerly Vera Aegean Dream Resort)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Turgutreis
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
#6 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range: £56 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sundance Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundance Resort is located by the beach in Turgutreis, which is one of the most pleasant regions in the Bodrum peninsula. Established in a fascinating atmosphere within an area of 30.000 Square meters, the resort is composed of 2 buildings. Our hotel is located on the seaside in Turgutreis, one of Bodrum's most beautiful regions. The distance to the Bodrum airport is 51 km, Bodrum town center is 20 km and to the Turgutreis town center is 1 km. Sundance Resort has 251 rooms within two buildings. The resort has 4 restaurants and 4 bars offering various local and international cuisines and beverages. The resort has 2 outdoor swimming pools, 1 indoor swimming pool, 2 kiddie pools and a water slide located in a park and an entertainment area which offers a facility for children's activities. Sundance Resort provides an excellent service for those who must work on holiday by means of a conference hall, 2 meeting halls and one business center. Water sports activities, 3 tennis courts, 1 mini football field, beach volley area and outdoor gymnastic area meet all needs of those fond of sports while amphitheatre, Mini cinema and billiards table offer various means of entertainment for guests. Also both the outdoor and indoor car parks provide comfort to guests who have traveled by their own cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sundance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Dream Hotel Turgutreis
Aegean Dream Resort
Aegean Dream Turgutreis
Sundance Resort Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing