We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, beautiful location and views”
Review of Sundance Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundance Resort
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here 24th October - 31st October through Thomsons.
Check-in was quick and efficient, which is just what you want when arriving at 2:30am!
As it was end of season, some facilities were not up and running and entertainment was low key- but this did not affect us at all. We were expecting this to be the case for this time of year. We wanted a quiet and relaxing last minute holiday - and that is exactly what we got!
There was a good range of food in the restaurant, the a la cartes were a nice change too. The Turkish a la carte restaurant was closed, but instead we were allowed a free visit to the Dream Select restaurant by the lovely guest relations manager Tulin, who was extremely pleasant and helpful if we needed anything.
I have to say that all the staff were absolutely wonderful and very attentive. My husband and I got chatting to quite a few of the restaurant and bar staff and made many friends with the locals during our stay. Unfortunately, the same could not be said for some of the guests we encountered at the hotel- who quite frankly made me feel embarrassed to be British!
On one occasion, we witnessed a god-awful woman on holiday with her two sons who not only complained about everything in sight, including the service from the staff, but she also verbally abused a waiter in the main restaurant- she even used the F word to him as he tried to clear their table. These people work long, hard hours and do not deserve to be treated by others in this manner, especially in their own country. Have some damn respect for goodness sake and maybe you will get treated the same?!
The hotel is in a beautiful location, right on the sea front, which is easy walking distance to the town center and Saturday market. We enjoyed watching the sun sets from the hotel- definitely worth the sea view upgrade we paid extra for. We did have a look inside the hotel La Blanche, next door- just to compare. It looked nice and modern, but we felt it lacked the personal, homely feel that Aegean Dream had.
We don't normally come back to the same hotel twice, but we are looking in to coming back to Aegean Dream again next year.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KittyC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

we stayed at the Aegean Dream between 24 - 31 oct , our room was ok , but it was freezing cold . my sons room was on the other side of the hotel , and was nice & warm . The food was also ok , sometimes very nice , but I have to say we found the staff in the buffet restaurant very lazy , arrogant & seemed like they did'nt want to be there . Also there was a young chef working on the out side grill who use to swear and abuse my two sons in Turkish , not realising that they understood every word he was saying !!!!! Had I known this had the time I would have reported him to the manager , im still raging about it . we did mention to our rep about the service in the restaurant , and her response was " Well it is the end of the season you know , and the staff are all winding down " Shame on you Thompson , whether its the first or last week , the staff are there to do a job.Having said this , we didnt pay a great deal for this holiday but had very good time ,We would go back to Turgutreis , as it is a beautiful area but would not go back to this hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline01Enfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here as a family October 17th-24th. As always on this site we were worried about the very mixed bag of reviews.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff were polite and attentive, food variety was of a very good standard, the barbecued meats and fish were lovely along with the amazing salads, beach is beautiful and the jetties are a wonderful place to relax with a cold beer and a book, alcoholic drinks were really good, nice tasting white wine and spirits, soft drinks are branded Coca Cola, Sprite, Fanta etc.
The Turkish bath and salt scrub was bliss, animation team nice and friendly.
We really can't see why people find a great deal to complain about, would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and would indeed return ourselves.
Fantastic location, lovely little village, great value holiday :-)

Room Tip: From what we could see, it's not worth paying the extra for Dream Select
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahlsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at the Aegean dream 10-17 oct and found it to be a good holiday especially with the great weather. The hotel was not 5 star....well not by English standards anyway! I would class it as a high end 3 star. The staff were not friendly and we even speak Turkish as well as English! They weren't interested in talking or making you feel welcome, that was a real shame.
The room was nice except I found the bathroom a bit creepy that you could see each other taking a shower....and more .....from the bedroom! Also some small things like broken curtain and shower that flooded. It wasn't a superior room like we paid for. The balcony was tiny but we did get the most amazing view especially for sunsets.
The food was good, but if you are fussy and not willing to try local dishes forget it! It got a bit repetitive by the end of the week but I liked the food and always found something different.
The specialty restaurants were not worth it, except for a decent steak in the dream select one night. But still you pay extra to get that and it's not worth it.
All inclusive drinks were the best part of the package! Bottled water at hand whenever up you need it, we drank 4/5 bottles each some days. The alcohol was generous too and you never had to wait long to get a drink. Wine that tasted good, not like vinegar and spirits that tasted like the real brands.
The evening entertainment was not good, they tried but being end of season I suspect it is much better and interactive during the busier summer months, good for the kids though. During the day time they play ping pong and darts and all sorts so if you like getting involved it's good fun all day long every day.
The pool was absolutely freezing....no idea why ....but hardly anybody used it because of this, I attempted it once and could not get in. The sun beds were shaded on one side for most of the day so everyone goes to one area to sunbathe. The indoor pool was the only one I used and that wasn't exactly warm for an indoor pool either! The pool with the slides is good for kids, but be careful, my fiance broke his toe on the steps as he slipped and fell when they were wet!
The sauna was really nice and used the gym too ....very basic but another good part of the all inclusive.
The town is a short walk away and a nice road along the beachfront takes you there, stunning views at sunset! Actually the sunsets where the best part of the location. The guys selling boat trips can make you a good deal and were fun and friendly, the trip was ok, but all day so you need to like being on a boat! The waterspouts are included again I think during main season you will get more opportunity to use them.
There are way too many stray cats and dogs around the hotel and they wander in, this was the thing that puts me off going there again.....I heard someone got bitten too! So was very wary of them! And would choose not to go back to this hotel purely because of them. I have a dog and cat, so it's not about not liking animals, it's dangerous and a health risk!
The Jeti on the beach was a nice touch, again probably better in the summer without the wind!
There is a hotel next door called la Blanche that looked a little better than ours it's also Thomson.
Our rep was great, we didn't see her at all until we needed help with something and she was very helpful!
Can't think of anything else, all in all we had a good time, but we won't be going back there unless it got a refurb and got rid of the strays.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just returned from our latest visit to this hotel. Previously visited twice before, last time in 2010. Sad to say this is not the place it used to be. Very much in need of a very thorough face lift. Perhaps we visited too late in the season and had the oppertunity to see things we possibly would not have noticed had we visited earlier. As people have stated this is not now 4 star any longer.
We were led to believe the hotel is changing ownership next year, so maybe this is why no money has been spent on tidying up. The a la carte restaurants were affected by the cold evenings, therefore the Turkish in the tent was cancelled and we were given a free dining in the Dream Select Restaurant for one evening. Must say this was an excellent alternative to make up for missing the Turkish. The Italian was a very nice meal, once again we had to dine inside, rather than on the lower terrace. Food in the main restaurant was quite adequate but they seemed to regularly run out of ice cream and service at the outside omlette station in the mornings was very slow, possibly because the chef who was cooking the eggs could not cope with number of customers and was cooking each individuals order seperately.
We must mention Umut in the main restaurant who was always very attentive to all diners including ourselves and was of a very pleasaand jovial demeanour.
We had wonderful weather during our weeks stay and met some very nice people especially the group from Coventry.
The animation team was at a minimum because some had already gone home as this was almost the end of the season, however they did try their best.
The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels however many areas of the building had lights not working and the place is looking a little shabby compared to three years ago.
A lot of the sun beds need replacing but I assume this will happen along with other changes if the hotel does acquire new owners.
Would we go back? Not with the hotel in its presnt state.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carogsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just returned from the Aegean Dream quite along transfer nearly hour & half, quick check in our room number was 1121,small room but always clean. We had a shower that decided to flood the room a couple of times, beds very hard. We found the food good some days & bad others. A lot of it never seemed to be hot, very disappointed with the fish night there was a choice of two either the head of the trout or the tail. We found all of the staff very good & they will do anything for you. The pool was freezing which was a big let down, no water polo or aqua gym. Entertainment at night very poor. There is a great fruit & cloths market on a Saturday about 20mins walk from the hotel. We enjoyed the holiday the only let down was the food, would we return No would we recommend it No.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banburyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We got back from this resort on Friday having had a good time however, have a few comments.
We would definitely not book Dream Select again, apart from being able to eat in the Dream Select restaurant which we only did for lunch one day and the menu was so poor we didn't bother again. The room was ok but our bed linen was not changed at all during our stay and one day the maid came so late in the day I told her not to bother. I thought the balcony was a joke, ok it had a sea view but was so small you couldn't even stretch your legs out. For the upgrade cost I was expecting a bigger than average room which was definitely not the case.

On arrival, we were checked in ok but then just directed to our room which was over a bridge and very dark - at 1.00 am I would have expected a bit more than this.

I thought the food was good although this was the first all inclusive I have done, the turkish a la carte was good although it was cold in the restaurant (we did have a couple of very cold days) and we quite enjoyed the fish although I think the prawn cocktail offering was a cop out. The food in the main restaurant I thought was fine, the salads were excellent as was the bread which was all freshly made on the premises. I know some people were moaning about not finding something to eat but honestly I don;t know what they were expecting. The staff in the snack bar were amongst the most miserable I have ever seen and although the ice cream and cales were nice, didn't bother with the burgers etc it all looked dreadful.

The pool was freezing, we managed to go in a couple of times but it ws like swimming in ice cubes, the sea was warmer but the pool must have been a big disappointment to people who had children with them.

There were a lot of dogs around which I did not find threatening at all, they were not thin and hungry and those that had tags in their ears had received all their vaccinations, my small dog at home begs more for food than these dogs did. For some reason most of the dogs disappeared and then we were inundated with cats which were more of a problem than the dogs as they slept on your beds if you weren't careful instead of under them. We were also inundated with cats in the Turkish restaurant which was most unnerving.

The beach is nice although not sandy and you could do with some shoes to wear to get into the sea, plenty of sun beds on the jetties although I suspect in high summer it would be hard to get a bed. The beach was cleaned every night by hotel staff.

The animation team were good, it was difficult as it is obviously end of season and perhaps a different clientele (a bit older) so were less inclined to join in but they did not push and were very pleasant - we enjoyed their efforts on a couple of evenings and they made it fun.

The hotel itself is quite soul less, could do with a bit more colour in some areas but was generally clean, but they definitely need to ditch the piped music, terrible and drove us crazy if we wanted to sit and read.

Turgutreis as a place is lovely, the walk from the hotel is about 20 minutes along the sea front but very pleasant and there were plenty of shops and we also had a lunch and dinner in a couple of the restaurants that were recommended by Rebekah our holiday advisor and both were lovely. The market is great fun, just enjoy yourself and throw yourself into the haggling, the Turkish actually enjoy it too - we got some great bargains!

We did a boat trip via Thomson but would not recommend it. The lunch was quite frankly awful - I have done boat trips in Turkey before and the good has been fantastic with a choice of meat and fish but this was dreadful, no dessert option was offered not even fruit, just ice creams that were so expensive it was laughable - it was definitely not worth the money.

Overall we had a really good time however I don't believe the management take any notice of any comments at all, we would come back again but I would definitely check certain things on arrival and also keep an eye on things like room cleaning. Honestly, you shouldn't have to do this but I suspect the hotel have become very complacent as so long as Thomson keep them in their brochure what have they got to work towards! Definitely a 3 star.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turgutreis hotels
1.4 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#5 of 53 in Turgutreis
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#10 of 53 in Turgutreis
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#4 of 53 in Turgutreis
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#7 of 53 in Turgutreis
380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Club Blue White - All Inclusive
0.8 mi away
Tiana Beach Resort & Spa
Tiana Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 53 in Turgutreis
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort

Address: Turgutreis Mah:123 | Bahcelievler Cad. No:123, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey (Formerly Vera Aegean Dream Resort)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Turgutreis
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
#6 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range: £52 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sundance Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundance Resort is located by the beach in Turgutreis, which is one of the most pleasant regions in the Bodrum peninsula. Established in a fascinating atmosphere within an area of 30.000 Square meters, the resort is composed of 2 buildings. Our hotel is located on the seaside in Turgutreis, one of Bodrum's most beautiful regions. The distance to the Bodrum airport is 51 km, Bodrum town center is 20 km and to the Turgutreis town center is 1 km. Sundance Resort has 251 rooms within two buildings. The resort has 4 restaurants and 4 bars offering various local and international cuisines and beverages. The resort has 2 outdoor swimming pools, 1 indoor swimming pool, 2 kiddie pools and a water slide located in a park and an entertainment area which offers a facility for children's activities. Sundance Resort provides an excellent service for those who must work on holiday by means of a conference hall, 2 meeting halls and one business center. Water sports activities, 3 tennis courts, 1 mini football field, beach volley area and outdoor gymnastic area meet all needs of those fond of sports while amphitheatre, Mini cinema and billiards table offer various means of entertainment for guests. Also both the outdoor and indoor car parks provide comfort to guests who have traveled by their own cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sundance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Dream Hotel Turgutreis
Aegean Dream Resort
Aegean Dream Turgutreis
Sundance Resort Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing