We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Turkey”
Review of Sundance Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sundance Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time in Turkey”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our first ever visit to Turkey in May this year. We had a lovely room with a beautiful sea view. We found the room and hotel in general very clean and pleasant. The staff always friendly and helpful. We hadn't realised what a lovely country Turkey is and more to the point, how lovely and friendly the Turkish people are. During our stay, my Husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary and we would like to thank the Staff, Manager, and restaurant staff for making our day such a memorable occasion, we were really spoilt. We found the members of the Animation team, Kate, Romeo, Eddie, Pedro, Sam, Robin, Lily and Matt really good fun people who work very hard both during the day and evening, as do the waiters who looked after us very well, especially Ugor, thank you all.
I'm sure we shall return one day.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    261
    131
    79
    47
See reviews for
389
332
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We returned yesterday from the Aegean Dream and unfortunately it was not the standard we were expecting having stayed in numerous 4/5 star Turkish hotels over the past 10 years. Apparently this hotel has been downgraded since we booked last year but we were never been informed !!
When we arrived at the start of the school holidays, we were the only family dropped at the Aegean which seemed a little peculiar ? The hotel was very quiet and mainly consisted of Dutch and Germans. The rep also told us only a handful of English were due to arrive in the next day or so which didn't go down to well with my 12 year old daughter. When we got up in the morning we were the first to put towels on sunbeds at 9.30am and had the full use of the pool and slides which was a bonus !!
Once we had walked round the complex, It was clear for all to see that the hotel had only just opened for the season and clearly very little prior preparation had been undertaken to get it ready. This may have been down to the fact that it has recently changed hands ?
Our room was located on the ground floor with a garden/sea view and was very clean and spacious.
The food is very same old every night and is mainly aimed at the Dutch and Germans so after a few nights becomes a bit tiring, there are three free al a carte restaurants, Fish, Turkish & Italian. We only tried the Italian which is literally a room on the side of the pool bar ! It was quite a nice change from the Buffet Restaurant however there was a storm outside and the wind was blowing the rain through onto the floor ! My wife asked for a Rose wine and the waiter poured her a mixture of Red and White in the same glass !! lol
The majority of English people already there had previously stayed and all were complaining of their disappointment of how the standards had dropped.
In all fairness as the week went on it did get a little busier however it lacked something to do at night as the amphitheatre was not open and all the entertainment was indoors in the conference room which was located on the lower ground floor which had no bar !!
The animation team in fairness do work hard to get things moving through the day and are pretty much active all day with Darts, Water Polo, Table Tennis, Volley Ball etc. However from previous 4 star hotels you would expect to see some form of professional shows at least a couple of nights instead of karaoke, Bingo, Quiz, Comedy Sketches etc.
The major plus point of this hotel other than having to fight for a sun lounger or a drink in the bar is its location. Its directly on its own stretch of beach with two jettys and only a short stroll along the promenade into Turgutreis and around to the Marina.
However, once you walk out and see the La Blanche hotel directly next door you will wish you would have paid the £150 extra to stay there as it knocks the spots off the Aegean in every department. When we were leaving a family that had returned to the Aegean three years on the trot were asking to be moved next door !!!
We have stayed in Far Far better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stef b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was my first time staying at the Aegean Dream Resort as it was recommended to me by my mum and dad who stayed there 2 years earlier. They also recommended it to my cousin which was his first all inclusive holiday along with his wife. When we arrived there, we was told that it had been downgraded from what it once was 2 years ago, which we should of been told before hand. There was also some complication with the room as I had been added to the holiday late, but Thompson did not inform the hotel. They did the best they could and we moved downstairs in to a family room. Other than that the hotel and rooms was very clean and was cleaned every single day. When it came to meal times there wasn't really much choice, everyday would either be the same thing or some other things that I wouldn't eat. It also took 9 days in to our holiday to be able to have Brandy (which our friends had asked for earlier) they would only have one bottle in one bar and when people would ask for it they would tell them to go up to the upstairs bar or the pool bar. Other than that, The animation team worked really hard to get everyone involved with the dancing and activities everyday. I grew really close to them within 2 weeks and they was a really funny bunch of people and very helpful. On some night's they would take me and other guests out to Bodrum/Gumbit for a few hours. Throughout the night they was very professional and kept us all safe. I really enjoyed this holiday, but others i came with was very disappointed and won't going again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

we stayed at aegean dream 2 years ago and it was fantastic what a big drop in standards we found,our bathroom door had no handle on it only way to open door was hook your fingers around the hole where handle should have been and it was a glass door plus there was 2 sharp prongs sticking out where the handle should have been attached it was very dangerous. Thanks to Macauley for sorting things out we had to have another door put on, room could not have been checked yet maid had been in made beds up and left towels why it was left to us to report it I do not know.We found the food of a very poor standard and it was nearly always cold or barely warm only got hot food if you used the grill area one morning there was no eggs for breakfast we like fried eggs with toast hard boiled eggs scrambled or omelettes but no fresh eggs for frying.Archery and rifle shoot was advertised on the board but they were waiting for the equipment to come so they said, evening entertainment some good live music,acrobats, dancers but some poor, Bingo and quizes one night it was backgammon or chess in the lobby bar not my idea of a good night love the area and beach setting but will not stay at that hotel again and could not recomend it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enid o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

just had twoweeks in vera agean dream very very disappointed was there 2 years ago so decided to go back.told on arrival it was down graded surely we should have been told before we travelled as we booked in june last year.macualy I found not interested because every one complaining. could not drinks you wanted food cold chicken meatballs and fish every night.Entertainment team brilliant pedro eddy lilly sam matt and robin what a great set of people love to see them again but Wont be going back to this holiday .AND STILL ADVERTISING 4STAR PLUS.paid a lot of money not happy ali baba

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We returned for our 9th visit and all was not good.Our friends had booked a superior room but there were no facilities available,eg.no Sunset bar open,the select restaurant only opened 3 days before they went home,the select outside eating area was not available either.We spoke to the manager Erdal and Ahmet of our concerns and we did feel sorry for them as they had no idea how the hotel was run before.They did listen to our concerns and to be fair quite a few issues were put right.This was a great hotel with 80% of guests being repeat customers.The annimation team were great and created a good atmosphere around the pool.I hope the management get things right as it would be a pity not to return,will watch reviews throughout the season.Think Thomson have pulled out next year as cant find it on their website.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor with a sea view to watch the amazing sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ollyandgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donny
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

having just returned from this hotel on a family holiday yes its name has changed but didnt spoil any thing for us our wedding anniversary when there returned to room to find wine and basket of fruit and bed covered in rose petals. also my birthday to which a cake was fetched out to our table at lunch time which was also decorated. animation team brill didnt want us to leave ie trying to stop the coach by lining up across the road .good time had by all my family and we will be returning next year also thanks goes to macauley for being so understanding when guests where badgering him with complaints

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donnypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turgutreis hotels
0.6 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#8 of 53 in Turgutreis
141 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#4 of 53 in Turgutreis
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#7 of 53 in Turgutreis
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 53 in Turgutreis
429 reviews
3.8 mi away
Armonia Holiday Village & Spa
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Bodrum
Grand Park Bodrum
#12 of 53 in Turgutreis
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort

Property: Sundance Resort
Address: Turgutreis Mah:123 | Bahcelievler Cad. No:123, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey (Formerly Vera Aegean Dream Resort)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Turgutreis
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sundance Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundance Resort is located by the beach in Turgutreis, which is one of the most pleasant regions in the Bodrum peninsula. Established in a fascinating atmosphere within an area of 30.000 Square meters, the resort is composed of 2 buildings. Our hotel is located on the seaside in Turgutreis, one of Bodrum's most beautiful regions. The distance to the Bodrum airport is 51 km, Bodrum town center is 20 km and to the Turgutreis town center is 1 km. Sundance Resort has 251 rooms within two buildings. The resort has 4 restaurants and 4 bars offering various local and international cuisines and beverages. The resort has 2 outdoor swimming pools, 1 indoor swimming pool, 2 kiddie pools and a water slide located in a park and an entertainment area which offers a facility for children's activities. Sundance Resort provides an excellent service for those who must work on holiday by means of a conference hall, 2 meeting halls and one business center. Water sports activities, 3 tennis courts, 1 mini football field, beach volley area and outdoor gymnastic area meet all needs of those fond of sports while amphitheatre, Mini cinema and billiards table offer various means of entertainment for guests. Also both the outdoor and indoor car parks provide comfort to guests who have traveled by their own cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sundance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Dream Hotel Turgutreis
Aegean Dream Resort
Aegean Dream Turgutreis
Sundance Resort Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing