We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, although with some buts!”
Review of Sundance Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundance Resort
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Turgutreis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Just returned from the Aegean Dream where we spent one week in a standard room on all inclusive basis. We had mixed weather but had a relaxing time, as long as you don’t spend too much daytime around the pool area. We spent our days on the jetty enjoying the quiet sounds of the ocean and the breeze (windy at times).
It was our first time to Turkey and we were pleasantly surprised with the experience. The people working in the hotel are probably some of the most friendly that we have met in hotels anywhere.
People will always have different views and experiences, so I cant comment on those, only to say that for the money that we paid it was great, bearing that in mind, I would have a different view had I paid full price as there are many, many better places for 500- 600 quid. If you are going to pay brochure prices then go elsewhere would be my advise.
The food was plentiful and of a good standard but I was not impressed with the way they laid out the hot main meals which were in metal roll top containers and you had to open them to peer inside to see what was on offer (same in La Blanche next door, I walked thro during their breakfast to sneak a view, also same type of food, except for freshly made smoothies). There was always plenty to choose from including freshly cooked areas outside, great salads and deserts. As for the Ala Carte, the Italian should be avoided but the Fish and Turkish were excellent experiences. White wine in the restaurant on a help yourself tap was quite drinkable whilst the red was – I don’t know really, but it wasn’t wine as we know it!
There were things that I didn’t like in the restaurant like open bottles of water (but hey, stick to the wine) and also some of the waiters were poorly turned out, but the chefs each night around the restaurant were immaculate.
Beer was good but the other spirits and juices were of poor quality. The guy in the Starlight bar will make a good cocktail tho.
There was no rush for sun beds but they did go by mid morning in the best places. The pool area is far too small and we avoided that area because of this and the loud music on times including noisy games.
This hotel is kept clean with the staff being its main asset, but it is in no way a 5 star as it shows outside. It struggles to be a 4 star in our comparisons. A previous reviewer suggested ‘luxury’, well if you live in a tent I guess that could be conceived as such but to most people this is an exaggeration beyond belief. If people travel to the same place 5 years in succession they should go elsewhere to broaden their views I feel.
The walk to the port is boring and dimly lit at night. The market on Saturday is worth a visit, but go at about 10 am, we were there for 9.15 and we had the undivided attention of all the market traders with their crazy selling techniques. As it filled up with people we could view the items on sale without being verbally battered. Apparently it gets too full later on tho.
All in all we had an excellent stay for the money we paid (£374 each) and I would recommend it for around that price and maybe a bit more. The La Blanche next door does look more upmarket than the Aegean Dream.

Free wifi could be picked up in the lobby and at various hotspots around the hotel corridors (seating areas).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sionilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2009

Mixed feelings for us - hotel was lovely and facilties excellent. We were on the top floor of the select building - room lovely and incredibly quiet even though the sunset bar was only a few doors away. Our opinion is that the facilties available make it 5 star but cleanliness did not meet what I would expect. Tiled walls in the bathroom had not been washed for sometime and looking at previous occupiers toothpaste stains (I hope!) and worse around the edge of the shower was not nice! The room was made up daily with fresh sheets and towels and this was lovely. Pool area could do with cleaning more often and sunbeds are rather aged with tatty and stained mattresses (end of season I suppose).

The food did become repetitive but was generally good. I don't eat fish but my husband said the sea bass in the Fish Restaurant is the best he's ever had. I had a child's meal of a burger as no other main course option (although customer relations will tell you there is plenty of non fish choice when you book it!!). The Select restaurant was nice, if basic, and made a change from the busy, busy, buffet. A la carte service is just that, lovely. Waiter service in buffet is not so good - they quite openly paid close attention to the young girls - we were very glad our 18 year old daughter was not with us!! We spotted a waitress wipe a used glass with a towel and put it back on the table for use!! (We also saw part empty wine bottles being taken from tables and tipped in together and recorked for use the next day - recycling!!!) It's near impossible find an unopened bottle of water in the restaurant or bars - again recycling!!

There is little or no choice of entertainment and I understand the shows were not brilliant. That said, the animation team had so much energy each day it wore us out just watching them - there was always something going on and they never stopped!!

We didn't like the fact that the hotel allowed the boat guys to try to sell around the pool and along with the sales pitch from the spa guy we were hassled daily.

The market in Turgutreis was our worst nightmare and to us was like running the gauntlet and reminded us very much of being at the pyramids in Egypt. However the small market in the hotel on the Turkish night was a bit easier for us to handle!! I hate to haggle but you have to do it or be ripped off completely!! It wasn't quite the 'hassle free' holiday we like and are used to so I suppose it's just not one for us but I'm sure would suit some.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracyKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

This was our fifth time at this Hotel and yes back to the same resort. Why !
We are in the middle time of life, but still enjoy a fun time on holiday. It is very hard for a hotel to make a person feel special,especially when it is all Inclusive, but boy does the Aegean Dream Resort do this.
We would recommend this hotel to Families with small Children and the non-teenagers
we love this the staff and the area so much that we are taking 50 people back with us in 2010
Turgutreis is a nice resort where you feel safe, plenty of shops and bars, a realy nice bar is Ozzy's is the main square.
Can't wait for the next time we go. If you go you will not do wrong just save me a place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chunkyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Will start with the good points,

rooms ok, bit small when there are 3 of you sharing as the sofa bed is always open as the other bed, Air conditioning does work very well, showers work (just dont look at the workmanship) safe works.

Bad points
Food not great, some of their chicken and turkey kebabs were fine but the rest is very unappetising and bland and very repetitive. we tried the italian which is really nice but too many courses, by the time you get to the main course you are so full you cant eat it but the service is so much better in there. The turkish is weather dependant and we got wet and had to move to a different table as it is in a tent. OK but not great, We did not use the fish restaurant as we are not fish eaters.

Drinks as like most all inclusive are very poor quality and do not tast great, the starlight bar does have sparkling wine and you can get a decent cappucino in there, the juices are awful white wine drinkable.

Entertainment is appalling, comedy sketches were awful and not funny and the room smelt really damp and there is no bar down there which is a pain.

Unfortunately the weather was not great we only really had two hot days and a couple of breezy days where the jetty was too windy to sunbathe on we managed to find shelter by the slides.

the spa -- total rip off, i booked 2 back massages for my husband and son and a reflexology for myself. there were supposed to be 25 mins and 35 mins long. they all lasted 10 mins each and they just left you relaxing for 10 mins which is not acceptable. i complained to the manager who came up with all sorts of excuses and offered us more massages but i wanted a refund as they had spoint the experience totally, they would not give one so we went to see the hotel manager and eventually managed to get £20.00 out of him. I expect there were a lot of other people who came out feeling the same but didn,t think it was worth complaining, You need to complain, nothing will get done about it unless there are more complaints.

sunbeds we did always find one but in the summer you would struggle, the pool area is far too small for the size of the hotel and is mostly in the shade so all the beds are huddled into one corner and very close together, better on the jetty.

it is a 10 minute walk into Turgetreis along the beach but was very dark at night. as it was coming to the end of the season there was not much going on really. The market was there on Saturday which was full of fake stuff but good for a few bargains and helped pass the time due to weather. We also got the bus int Bodrun on the Sunday as it was raining and not much else to do which is quite a big bustling town.

People also need to remember that the reason this hotel has 5 stars is because of the facilites 5 stars does not mean 5 star service.

I have to say had i paid full price for this i would be fuming, as it was the majority of it was covered by my tesco vouchers and i really want to crucify the guy at Tesco's who used to be a rep here and told me how wonderful it was

I would not return to this hotel under any circumstances

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mingomango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

My partner and I have just returned from a week stay at the Aegean,a hotel rated as a 5 star establishment. Upon arrival the reception staff were a little curt however check in was relatively quick. Our room was average and definitely not what I would call 5 star accomodation, the main area was fine & clean however the bathroom was dirty when we arrived and did not look like the tiling had been accomplished by anyone professional. There is a lot of glass and crome in the hotel and not once did i see anyone polishing resulting in everything looking a little grimy and smeary.
On the whole the staff were freindly enough and we found the food nice although the main buffet restaurant is not big enough and breakfast was usually below par. We only tried one al la carte but the service was excruciatingly slow and in our view food not exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdm_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We travelled to this hotel on 12.10.09! Yes it is more a 4 star but for the price paid you cant grumble! Do people really expect to get a luxurious 5 star hotel for the price paid.
The food was really good,especially the al a carte and always plenty of choice. If you are looking for a good english breakfast you might aswel go to blackpool for your holiday!
While we were there the tables were set up in the corridor for dinner but this was because it was raining outside.I prefered this to sat outside in the rain!
The rooms were comfortable but the cleaning could be better although the rest of the hotel was cleaned to a good standard.There was limited space round the pool but you could get a sunbed on the jetty or beach.
The entertainment staff were excellent with not only the daytime activities that my son joined in with but also the evening entertainment which was hillarious at times.
The spa area was lovely and the massages very good.
A nice hotel but in need of improvements in some places.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

5 star rating this hotel claims and Thomson rate it as 4T+ and I understand Thomson are upgrading it to Platinum status next year!!! Has Thomson gone mad? OK the hotel it'self I would rate as a low end 4 star but the food and service in the main restaurant is barely what you'd expect from a 2 star hotel! The food in the main restaurant is terrible basically and if you like good food on holiday don't go here. Left overs are re-used and appear in the covered in food troughs time and time again and resemble slop. There's an outside grill where you can queue to get freshly made fried eggs or omlettes at breakfast and are very good but there's nothing worth having to go with the eggs (no bacon, sausages, fried bread, hash browns, mushrooms etc., etc. nothing!) As nice as they were I got sick of having omlette day after day and in the end had fried eggs and my wife tried to toast some bread for me and as there was only ever uncut crusty loafs which were impossible to toast through the 1 and only automatic toaster they provided. The choice of fruit was limited and by Wednesday the tinned pears had started fizzing because they had been out for so long! We were told by the Thomson Rep that because Turkey was a muslim country there was no bacon or pork sausages on at breakfast, strange that if you went to the Select Restaurant and paid extra you could get bacon and sausages! Also, in down town Turgutries there's plenty of cafes and restaurants advertising Full English Breakfast with bacon and pork sausages (another porky from Thomson or what!). The fruit juice was awful and undrinkable. At dinner it was no better, the restaurant reminded my of a rugby scrum at times - total mahem! The dinning room tables were the basic cheap black metal framed wood grained formica topped tables bolted together with a thin strip of cloth material laid across them for you to eat on. As the dinning session progressed these clothes got dirtier, stained and wet and were never changed. At one table water began dripping down onto my wife from a dirty aircon vent in the ceiling above so we had to move everything and join the scrum again to find another table. Equally the waiters did not seem bothered in re-laying the tables at any great speed, more interested in chatting up young blond Dutch girls! Several times I saw a waiter drop a knife or fork on the floor and put it back onto a table. They frequently ran out of knives, forks spoons, cups and wine glasses and it was a "hunt for yourself" to find somemore becauce asking the waiters was a waste of time! Quite a number of glasses and crockery were chipped. The so called cakes at afternoon tea were a health and dental hazard! One morning our coffee was taken from our breakfast table by a waiter after queueing for it while getting our breakfast and toast which took over 15 minutes to get through the queueing and the fiasco of the toaster, when getting another coffee there wasn't cups left!
The burgers from the Pool Snack bar would be better used for the soles of your shoes, thin tough and rubbery and tasted awful. Restaurant tables were set up in the hotel corridors because there was not enough room at times in the main restaurant (5 star! not really!).
The hotel it'self was clean and our room was fine with a nice view across the pool area and the sea with great views. It was a nice comfortable room but had some basic maintenance problems which should not have existed in a so called 5 star hotel. The toilet/shower room was mainly where these issues were, the shower head was broken and would not stay in 1 place on the rail and just kept slipping down, the toilet had been broken at sometime and leaned one sided and the door to the room (smoked glass for some unusual reason) had a broken top hinge so the door hung at an angle and the door catch was broken.
At reception there was a notice asking you to give you're e-mail addresss and be included in a competition. I ask on 3 occasions how to do this and the reception staff didn't have a clue! They played around on a laptop for 10 minues or so and gave up. One Receptionist even said to me "we're not interested in this, it's to do with our promoter's not us! The Thomson Rep said to ask at Reception for a packed lunch if you are going out for the day! Once again I was met with a blank look and told to come back later, when I did I was told they didn't do them!
One other thing which I found unacceptable was at 11.00 on a Sunday morning the resident DJ blasted out music at full volume around the pool and beach areas promoting "sex on the beach" and "drink, drink drink cocktails till you drop" for over an hour! Not really what you'd expect at a family orientated hotel!
I won't be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cumbrianman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turgutreis
0.6 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#9 of 53 in Turgutreis
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#8 of 53 in Turgutreis
378 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#5 of 53 in Turgutreis
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#4 of 53 in Turgutreis
1,421 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Samara
Hotel Samara
#5 of 24 in Torba
1,102 reviews
3.2 mi away
Woxxie Hotel
Woxxie Hotel
#16 of 53 in Turgutreis
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort

Address: Turgutreis Mah:123 | Bahcelievler Cad. No:123, Turgutreis 48960, Turkey (Formerly Vera Aegean Dream Resort)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Turgutreis
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
#6 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range: £57 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sundance Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundance Resort is located by the beach in Turgutreis, which is one of the most pleasant regions in the Bodrum peninsula. Established in a fascinating atmosphere within an area of 30.000 Square meters, the resort is composed of 2 buildings. Our hotel is located on the seaside in Turgutreis, one of Bodrum's most beautiful regions. The distance to the Bodrum airport is 51 km, Bodrum town center is 20 km and to the Turgutreis town center is 1 km. Sundance Resort has 251 rooms within two buildings. The resort has 4 restaurants and 4 bars offering various local and international cuisines and beverages. The resort has 2 outdoor swimming pools, 1 indoor swimming pool, 2 kiddie pools and a water slide located in a park and an entertainment area which offers a facility for children's activities. Sundance Resort provides an excellent service for those who must work on holiday by means of a conference hall, 2 meeting halls and one business center. Water sports activities, 3 tennis courts, 1 mini football field, beach volley area and outdoor gymnastic area meet all needs of those fond of sports while amphitheatre, Mini cinema and billiards table offer various means of entertainment for guests. Also both the outdoor and indoor car parks provide comfort to guests who have traveled by their own cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sundance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Dream Hotel Turgutreis
Aegean Dream Resort
Aegean Dream Turgutreis
Sundance Resort Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing