We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wudnt go again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Turgutreis
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wudnt go again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

hotel grounds lovely, pool side kept clean, hardly any english at all, if u are english u are treated as 2nd rate citizen and always served last! bar staff very rude, like u were bothering them wen u wanted a drink, noisy music played round pool all day way too loud. animation team rubbish, just hassling u all day to play stupid games. beach awful had to cross very busy rd to get to it, balconies were tiny cudnt fit a family of 4 on it to play cards at night. wudnt go here again even if really cheap!!!

Room Tip: we complained about our room but nothing done about it so stayed in it all week, no rooms have pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    91
    66
    37
    70
See reviews for
149
100
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Arrived at hotel mid afternoon and were given our room keys. We were a party of six we had taken my mum on holiday for her birthday and our three children joined us ages 20, 22 and 25 so we were really expecting a lovely family holiday. I had told Cosmos that it was my mums speacial birthday but it was not acknowledge at all. This did not bother me but it would have been a nice touch. As soon as I saw the three rooms I had to ask to be moved as the view was of a dirt track with loads of rubble as you looked out the window. The rooms we were moved to were really not much better at all. Rooms very depressing and grubby.

Staff were not at all welcoming and as other reviewers have stated really quite rude, never smiling or friendly at all. There are two pools the quiet pool was relaxing but you had to leave by 5pm and you were almost pushed out as soon as it was 5pm all the pool beds were removed all around you and you really did feel intimidated.

There was a beach across a small road which was o.k. and there was a bar there that only servied soft drinks.

Bar staff looked so fed up. All I can say is that the drink choice was so limited for an all inclusive. You had to pay for all the cocktails even non alchoholic ones. The wine was undrinkable. Beer was o.k. as it was Effes Turkish beer and my husband did not mind it at all but even at night it was served in thick plastic cups which were sometimes dirty. There were two bars at the hotel but only one, by the pool served drinks, therefore you had to use the same bar by the pool day and night there were never enough chairs and lots of people had to sit on the pool beds by the large pool. I had never seen any thing like it. It would have been much nicer if the bar inside was open as it had a nice ambience.

One day I was taking my husband a plastic cup of water to our room, but was stoped by a very young girl who was working at the hotel and I was told that you can not take it to the room. I have never been to a hotel that does not allow you to take water or even drinks to your room. Also I was told off for filling up the water bottle they leave in your room on your arrival even though I was told by the rep that you could feel your bottle up and every one was doing so.

Food was o.k. but never warm. I just would like to say that over ten years of going to all inclusive hotels, three times in Turkey, this was the worst of all and I really would not reccomend this hotel to any one as it is of very very poor standard.

We still enjoyed our holiday as we were all togeather with my mum.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Turgutreis hotels

Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Having been to Turkey nine times in resent years we were looking forward to our holiday at this hotel,the reviews seemed good and the travel company, sold it well in the brochure. We were in for a suprise .On arrival we we met by the most unhappy and un co-operative staff i have ever met anywhere in the world (and i have travelled a lot with work and on holiday)only two staff personnel smiled at me all week and one of those was a security quard. On arrivall in reception the Manager gave us the keys to a room and of we went to find it on opening the door to the room we were met by an awfull smell, looking through the window we discovered we were opposite to hotel bin location,we could not stay there, back to reception to complain .We were met by two other families who where complaining about theIr accomodation at this point the Manager threw YES THREW a whole pile of keys on the counter and said "if you can find a room that suits you help yourself",we them had families running back and two, saying dont have room so and so its awful dont have this room etc.we found a room and decided to make the most of it and wait to see the Rep the following day .We paid for a safe only to find you could lift the shelf it was screwed to out of the wardrode and walk away with it.MY FOUR YEAR OLD GRANDAUGHTER COULD HAVE MADE A BETTER JOB OF THE TILEING AND GROUTING IN OUR BATHROOM.The reps meeting was a nightmare everyone was complaining about the state of the rooms The smells blood on curtains bathrooms full of mould poor cleaning etc .when the Rep said "YOU ONLY GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR" we got up and left the meeting.our room had a cup and saucer and full ashtray on the balcony when we arrived the following day at six oclock our room had not been cleaned when we asked at recepton when it would be cleaned the maid and two managers arrive and started slagging me of for bringing cups to the room "not allowed " i explained the situation the Manager replied "not true you bring cups not last quests"
The general apperance of the hotel is good the gardens are well kept and the cleaning staff do a good job, there it ends the resturant staff and the food are discusting ,food is always cold and the staff are very dirty in apperance, i watched one waiter empty the bins and then start to serve, ice cream in the same filthy grey tee shirt he had on for a fortnight, i lost count of the times the english quests commented on the state ot the staff uniforms.the food was very poor by anybodies standard and loads of poeple complained of tummy upsets.I went for a snack at lunch time and the burger where stacked up at the back of the bar( i dont know how long they had been there )it way put on a bun with some lettuce and shoved at me across the counter ,I left it there .It was then we decided to eat out for the rest of the holiday and found some lovely restaurants inTturgutries.There was never enough sunbeds around the pool or on the beach and the loud music played all day (funky disco boom boom stuff)
the foul languagein these records was not the sort you want to hear in ahotel aroud a pool full of kids ,every other word was motherf***** i complain to amember of staff no appology but i dint hear it again.
the bar staff are the worst i have come across you cant get a smile or a thank you,they spent more time on there mobile phone or ther laptops .You feel as though its an incoveiniance to be served by them the drinks are thrown on the counter in plastic cups you dont get a glass until 10 30 in the evening when the restaurant is emptied and the also you cant get a chair to sit round the pool until them you sit on the sunbets or the walls or anywhere you can there is no comfort.The Turkish Night was embarrasing they hung a flag from the balcony and that was it .the food im told was no differant and they had a belly dancer .The beach is a joke. its agross a busy mainroad .they dont tell you this in any brochure, you need to be seen across by a security guard.it only about a hundred yards long and very narrow and at the othe end is arubbish dump believe me it was full of black bin bagd.
ALL IN ALL A BAD EXPERIANCE DONT GO THER UNLESS YOU GET IT FOR FREE I WOULDNT

Room Tip: i dont think there any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I'm an Experienced traveller and had many trips to Turkey.

Bullet points:-

Star rating - inaccurate 2.5 -3*

Bathroom :
Dirty, mouldy, smelly (contstant), non working extractor fan, tissues stuck in random cracks around the walls.

Room :
OK, Clean, basic, Bed very very hard, Balcony very small.

Service :
Prompt, efficient, unfriendly (with the exception of 2 waiters)

Food :
Great standard but the same every day - boring after 3 days.

Public areas :
Kept very clean & tidy at all times

Staff :
Very young and not very friendly - unusual for Turkey!
Manager strutted around all day every day and never smiled or talked to anyone.... Very odd!

Entertainment - rubbish! Music played by the pool, largely offensive hard core rap music.

Outside our room were 2 cleaners closets - open constantly and kept in a mess. Cleaner kept arriving to do room at 6pm onwards whilst we were getting ready for dinner, and sheets were not changed all week.

Over the walkway by front door to our room was a stack of rubbish clearly dumped by the hotel onto private land.

On complaint re; bathroom x 2 nothing was done.

There was only one bar - the pool bar where drinks were served in plastic beakers that smelled foul and made you feel like you were 5 years old. The vodka was watered down and the choice of 'local' drinks was extremely limited

Saving grace were the owners of the boat we went on and Blue bar in Turgutreis town! :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipsontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Having booked this hotel on the strength of the numerous good reviews posted on Trip Advisor I feel I have to put the record straight. What follows was our experiance of the Golden Beach.

On arrival we were greated by the most miserable receptioin staff I have ever met, we were literally thrown our room keys across the counter and shown to our first room. This had a view of a road with a large scrap lorry full of foul smelling rubbish, so there was no way you could have the patio door open. We complained to reception staff and were shown another room, this had a slightly better view of half a field and tennis court so we decided to stay put. After unpacking we noticed the following issues, blood on the net curtain, burnt beddiing, peeling bath due to it been sprayed with paint, broken wardrobe shelf, screws to the safe sticking through into the area you hang your clothes and lots of dust. All this was reported to the rep the next day who viewed the room
.
After three days we had not had clean bedding or towels, we asked at reception when these were due to be changed and the answer was towels every day bedding twice a week, this did happen after we complained along with many others. The staff did put most of the issues with the room correct.

As for the staff 80% need to go to charm school the worst offender are the pool bar and snack bar staff, they will ignore you while they text, update thier face book page, chat to each other and have a smoke. On one occasion all three bar staff walk off when I went to the bar.

Snack bar staff, one day I waited 25 mins for a hamburger while other are served and they even refused to serve us what we asked for, as the pizza we wanted was cooked for senior management. The uniforms worn by the staff are filthy and worn for days and days covered in stains. The same uniforms are worn to seve food and empty bins and this probably accounts for the many people who sufferd upset stomachs including myself.

The food is very repetitive nearly the same every day with the accasional different chicken or lamb combination. One night I witnessed a chef cleaning chips which had been spilt onto the work surface, these were then put back into the container and mix in with the fresh food.The food at dinner is the same as at night only slightly less choice.

At five clock if you are sun bathing around the top pool you will be asked to move so they can put the tables out for the evening meals.

During our stay we never saw the pool water check or any hot food seved checked for temperature.

After the evening meal if you want to sit around the pool area and have a drink there are not enough table and chairs so you will need to sit on sunloungers which is not good enough if you are dressed up. The bar staff do not know how to fill a glass you will have half measures all holiday.

If you have children there is no shallow end to either pool and the kids pool is stuck up a corner and if any more than two children are in it's full, it's approximatley 2 meters in diameter.

The Animation team work hard with the tools provided, but need to come up with some different entertainment as this is also very repetitive and in the day have bad habit of playing music with explicit language and lyrics in it.

There is no where on any review or in any broucher where its mentioned that the hotel is on a junction of two busy roads, one of which you have to be crossed by security, we were under the impression the hotel was joined to the beach and jetty.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here for one week and booked all inclusive through Thomson.

It takes well over an hour to get to the hotel, which meant that we were arriving at midnight. It was a rather grim first impression - all inclusive wrist bands slapped on our wrists and rushed to the dining area as it was about to close.

It did get better, the pool area is lovely (note that if you want one of the sun loungers in a good position you do need to be putting your towel down at the latest 7:30am). The staff were great at keeping the area clean however the staff behind the bar and poolside snack bar were slow, forgetful and not very interested (but the food was great).

The buffet meals were fantastic - although if you aren't keen on the lovely salads, vegetables, cheeses and breads that Turkey is famous for, you would be limited to a few different hot dishes, bbq'ed meat and chips (every evening without fail there was a long line of people waiting for the chips!). Again the restaurant area staff were fantastic and it was great to watch the gorgeous sunset from the seating area.

The main complaint would be about the hotel reception staff, we had many problems with our air conditioning which we had to get fixed on three different occasions after sleepless nights. When I rang reception, they hung up on me and when I went to reception they said it would be fixed as soon as possible (which in the end took 7 hours). The staff lacked English skills and I had to get the manager who was the only staff member who was fluent in English to resolve the problem for me. It wasn't a big deal but really did impact on a few days.

The hotel 'animation' team were hilarious - though at times annoying, they didnt take no for an answer for all of the activities they had planned. Funny to watch and sometimes to take part in!

We had decided to go to the famous Sunday markets in Turgutreis via the public bus which stopped outside the hotel and was about 1 pound each way rather than booking a 10 pound tour bus through the hotel rep. When we had told the rep after he approached us by the pool, he tried to intimidate us and coerce us into buying a ticket off him as it was 'dangerous' and certain tourists had supposedly lost 600 euro at the markets as they were targeted... this really infuriated us as our Thomson rep (who was a local) said it was perfectly safe to do the trip ourselves, and even better because many of the tours were at the middle of the day which was very hot. We ended up going alone and we had a great time - and of course, it was perfectly safe. So don't bother booking the tour of the markets unless you dont want to bother with the local bus!

Overall it was fine, the rooms were a bit shabby and the reception staff communication skills really did taint it for us, but it is a safe, relatively clean hotel with many options for activities and in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roguetraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

When i read some of the reviews for this hotel before we went i was a little worried about the kind of holiday we were going to have...but what a fantastic time we had! The hotel itself is lovely, small and quaint compared to places we have been before but we really liked it. The cleanliness around the hotel itself was impecable, you could not fault how hard teh staff worked to make sure the place was spotless! As soon as you finished your drink, your glass was picked up and cleaned away and the same with your plate at dinner.
The food was lovely, although there wasnt a massive choice there was always something different to eat and enjoy. The only comment i would make here was that some of the food could do with being kept slightly hotter, however, it was always warm!
The entertainment team were AMAZING the hours they worked and the effort they put in was outstanding. They were all so lovely and would do anything they could to help you. They kept us all entertained all day even when we didnt join in the activities, watching them was hilarious!

I would say to anyone that is considering this hotel, definitely give it a go. We had an amazing holiday and were very sad to leave!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannah214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turgutreis hotels
2.3 mi away
Woxxie Hotel
Woxxie Hotel
#25 of 54 in Turgutreis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bahama Art Hotel
Bahama Art Hotel
#13 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.8 mi away
Armonia Holiday Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#3 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 54 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yelken Mandalinci SPA & Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Beach Hotel
Address: Colakli Km 65 | Palamut Mevkii, Turgutreis 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Turgutreis
#10 Spa Hotel in Turgutreis
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Turgutreis
#16 Luxury Hotel in Turgutreis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Turgutreis
Golden Beach Hotel Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing