We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Disappointing”
Review of Sky Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sky Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Turgutreis B&B and Inns
London123
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“How Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been going to this hotel for fifteen years and always had a wonderful time and was thinking of going back in September to see Bekir, Hakan and his mum but on reading the recent reviews we certainly will not be going to this hotel. Poor Hakan, he worked so hard over the years was a lovely boy and what a shame. Skysea are the loosers and he will be someonelses gain. Bekir, Hakan and mummy we wish you all the best in the future..

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaymakers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    18
    13
    11
    46
See reviews for
19
36
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devonshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Bekir and his family, Mummy and Hakan (the barman) have been the best thing about this hotel ever since we first met about 6 years ago. Wonderful warm welcome, cheerful, great hosts and a wonderful sense of humour. Hakan was still at school when we first met but worked in the bar during his school holidays and made a lot of friends amongst the customers. The previous tenant almost left the running of the hotel to Bekir and his family which was always clean and well looked after. The customers were always coming first.
All very different now as now a new tenant who wants to make a fortune in his first year at the Skysea, to the misfortune of Bekir and his family. Hakan was sacked, party because he was so popular and it was referred to as Hakans Bar, which I don't think the new boss or his partner liked very much.
We were B&B which I cannot fault. Good Turkish breakfast, cucumber, tomatoes, boiled eggs, bread, honey, jam, olives, sometimes a cooked meat of some description, spicey sort of sausage, cigar bourek, (Turkish pastry with a feta and mint filling) which some might not like and might have preferred eggs, bacon, mushrooms and sausages, but if that's what you want, why go to Turkey?
The hotel is clean, beds clean and comfortable, towel change every couple of days, bedding changed three times a week, room cleaned every day, water is a bit salty as the well is very close to the sea and over the years has become full of salty water.
The hotel is in a prime position in the resort as the pool bar is about 5 metres from the sea, just a few steps across a path. Some tables right above the sea wall and looking over the beach where in the evening some wonderful sunsets to be seen. Unparalleled views of both the sea and Bunny Island also across to Kalymnos I think it is. And you can see Kos, with all the lights in the evening.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Turgutreis town where there are loads of bars, shops, lots of very good resturaunts by the bucketful, Sunset on the beach front is worth a visit, Marco's in the square, Cool Breeze on the front just by the Mandalinchi hotel complex and the Ado hotel resturaunt is excellent. Next to the Sunset, on the beach front is the A Vila resturaunt which will add a 10% "service charge" to your bill wether you like it or not. You have been warned!
The Skysea incident referred to by others should never have happened or at least not having occurred in front of guests but rather been behind closed doors. Very unsavoury incident which I will not dwell on but I will just say would have been a lot worse if both my wife and I had not been there with a couple of other guests.
We were there for four weeks and after the first couple of weeks the whole atmosphere changed and alas, not for the better.
Good value budget hotel and could be a good hotel to stay but not whilst the new boss and his party are there and they are not " user friendly" Would certainly stay there again if under a different management !

Room Tip: Room 201 or 202 are above the bar so fantastic views but could be noisey if bar is open late with mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thewrinklyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in the beginning of June, Room 506. Cracking view and would encourage bookers to try and get on a high floor to get the best view. Me and my girlfriend were half board. Breakfast was the usual turkish with olives and salads bread and jams etc. Enough to get you going and baring in mind the low price i paid i was content with this, after all if i wanted an english breakfast i could stay in england or pay 3 times the price in turkey for it! Staff were very friendly especially Harkan an Becai. I am aware an incident took place to the disgust of many guests during our stay between the manager and the staff member; Harkan. I was not around at the time so cannot comment but a truly great member of staff was lost as a result of this. Dinner concluded of a fixed meal for the first week which was table service (due to occupancy being low) and the second week things picked up and we had a small buffet in place. This was fine for us as we are not so fussy eaters. There were all inclusive guests there, but as a UK Hotelier myself, i would say this hotel is not geared up for the all inclusive packages and if you decide this is what you want then i advise you to book elsewhere and spend a bit more. The rooms were clean, and housekeeping here are very efficient, i was impressed with there efforts consistently for the two weeks.All in all a pleasant holiday, great location, clean, basic rooms and friendly staff. A very cheap holiday and if i had a chance to book again, i would do so without any hesitation. Bare in mind the showers are salty sea water so take plenty of shower gel, and aircon is extra should you need it. A lot of potential in this hotel here,hope they do well this season.

Room Tip: High floor and 03+ for a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altec3809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brixham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and whilst I agree with some comments I can't agree with all.
We were B&B and as such I have no complaints about the service or the staff Becia and Hakin they were very cheerful with us and helpful.
Our room was clean and everything worked the shower water was a little bit salty but we have come to expect that.
The breakfast was typically Turkish and adequate I just wish the chef could have cooked eggs other that boiling them and that there had been some Yoghurt for breakfast.
Ifeel that the hotel would be better concentrating on what they do best B&B and leave the all inclusive bit out because they failed at that.
If you want B&B then this place is good obviously it's 2 Star so don't expect 5 star treatment.
Hakin has gone in what was a somewhat unsavoury incident which should have been avoided and the Boss and his Partner were partly to blame .This did leave a very bad taste in the mouth as guests should not be expected to witness such nasty incidents,and to show our disgust we boycooted the bar to make our point which I feel they felt.
Give it a try it's cheap and clean and a fabulous view to drink a cold beer.

Room Tip: They all have sea views and none are noisy really
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valleyboyBrixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Well I can't believe the change in this hotel in just 6 months. And none for the better . When we arrived every thing seemed to be as was but after a couple of days things changed for the worse. Breakfast looked like it had just been thrown out, we had two chefs in two days who both left and the new manager is trying to save money at any cost. The lad on the bar was sacked which lead to a fight at the front of the hotel one of the guest had to intervene to prevent the manager from hitting the par lads mother who is a cleaner at the hotel. So all in all it has not been a pleasent stay. On the plus side the hotel is in a good spot and is clean and tidy. But as a result of the bar lads sacking it is quite difficult to even get a drink at the bar this mainly due to the lack of staff. We have been coming here now for 4years and would not come back again and would certainly not recommend to anyone. The hotel at the moment is filling up with Russians who are coming all inclusive. If you are already booked for this hotel I would strongly recommend if possible you look ease ware.

Room Tip: Don't book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madmackemSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Turgutreis hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Return trip to see Bekir,Hakan and family as previously although basic we have always enjoyed the Family atmosphere and beautiful surroundings
So what has gone wrong , the 5 previous years the hotel was leased to a Lady who left the running to the Altin family but this year a new owner is very badly trying to make an impression Him and his wife ( i think ) as they never spoke. Previous comments have stated they cannot speak English , but you would have thought they could manage good morning , but not this ignorant pair.
You can tell all the Altin family have had the stuffing knocked out of them when we arrived and actually physically the day (The boss man as he is known) after dispensing with Hakan's services threw a punch at him and his Mother in full view of the guests in reception ( she is the room cleaner)
Hope the girl / Lady has recovered from food poisoning in the previous post but i cant blame the chef as i have also returned home with the same symptoms and we did not have a chef , number one walked out on our first day - number two lasted one morning , with or without a chef the choice or quality did not improve
Also had the same issues with the lack of soft drinks on all inclusive , this week it was no lemonade for 3 days , there were also altercations with the Russian party as also the Gin run out and was not replaced for 2 days, not that this bothered our party
I understand this package is cheap as chips and do not expect the earth, but i would recommend you check normality is resumed next year ( Boss Man not there )

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Service terrible, food awful not much choice, no light in the room when arrived could not see properly. Asked reception to sorted it out, he said he would get electrician to sort it out but no one came. When we went for lunch could not get a brew because they filled up the the geyser with cold water just as we sat down. Had to buy our own tea bags because their tea was rubbish. The list goes on, but I'm off out of this all not inclusive place for a decent meal and a good time. By the way this is our first day hope it gets better, or I'm off.
Things have gotten worse. Breakfast consisted of boiled eggs and cold chips. When it came to dinner offered one choice of meal if you didn't like it tough. Was also offered the same melon cucumber dips olives all covered in cling film and brought back out from breakfast. It was the same at tea time no choice. We could not get snacks during day unless we paid.no puddings or cakes on offer. Could only get free drinks until 10.00pm the previous week we was told it was until 11.00pm I was drinking EFES for the first two days then was told I have to pay for EFES. We was told then all inclusive guests have to drink a different beer for the rest of the day, then tomorrow will have to drink another different beer which was tub org. I complained and said I wanted to drink EFES because on the booking it said free local drinks which is EFES and that was what I had been drinking. He said his boss has made the decision and he can't do anything. While I was arguing with him I noticed people eating chicken and chips and asked why can't we have that, he said you can if you pay for it, I said I have paid for it I'm all inclusive and our meals are nothing like that, the food your offering us is stuff leftover from breakfast and lunch and is disgusting. Complained to rep waste of time. He said it would take him a couple of days to move us to another hotel. With that we packed our bags walked two hotels down to the Ado hotel and booked ourselves in for the rest of the week. We can't speak highly enough of the staff here. The food is excellent the rooms are clean and comfortable, and a lot friendlier atmosphere. Since found out that sky sea hotel have changed chef three times because they won't work with what they are being given. The manager has sacked the barman and tried to punch the bar mans mother. A truly horrible man avoid this hotel at all costs. There is more but I'm fed up writing about it when I should be enjoying my holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turgutreis hotels
0.7 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#5 of 54 in Turgutreis
307 reviews
0.9 mi away
One More Day Hotel
One More Day Hotel
#5 of 16 in Turgutreis
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Blanche Resort & Spa
La Blanche Resort & Spa
#2 of 54 in Turgutreis
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#4 of 54 in Turgutreis
1,191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 54 in Turgutreis
396 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#9 of 54 in Turgutreis
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Beach Hotel

Property: Sky Beach Hotel
Address: Bahcelievler Location No.137, Turgutreis, Turkey (Formerly SkySea Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Turgutreis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Turgutreis
Hotel Class:3 star — Sky Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sky Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skysea Hotel Turgutreis
Sky Beach Hotel Turkey/Turgutreis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing