We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, Just Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Yaliciftlik
Certificate of Excellence
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wow, Just Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Not only was this the best hotel -- by far -- that we stayed in Turkey, and probably my best ever. The setting is magnificent -- the hotel is built into a hillside overlooking the Mediterranean. Our room was great, with a balcony overlooking the hotel and the sea. The facilities were better. There is a huge spa and many of the services are free -- gym, sauna, steam, and hammam; exercise classes.

The service is amazing. The staff are well trained, happy, and super attentive. The restaurants are good, although not great. That said, we celebrated our wedding anniversary at their Barbarossa restaurant (located on their private beach) and they went way out of their way to make it memorable.

We spent five days there and we really hated to leave. Super highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get them to upgrade you to the rooms with the larger and more forward balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikep244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this review that we have very much enjoyed reading. Please let us know when you want to come back, we'll be delighted to welcome you again and meet you in person.
Warm regards
William Latour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    144
    53
    32
    10
See reviews for
194
293
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel is very nice.....but I was expecting more.

Stayed in a deluxe room for 3 nights in early June, but thought I was in a standard room. I double checked with reception to confirm if it was a deluxe room and they confirmed it was.....

The location is around 15-20 minutes away from Bodrum town centre.
Forget about catching a taxi or arranging a transfer. The dolmus's are very clean and have regular (every 15 mins) from Bodrum otogar to kempinski for 5TL each! We had no problem with our luggage either. Taxi will cost 65TL and transfer was quoted by kempinski at 70 EURO!!
Jesus...it's only a 15 minute drive!!!!

We preferred that the location was away from the the town centre as we wanted a quite place to relax. The beach is very nice and not busy at all. The pool is awesome and has great views.

The food and service is also great.

The room we had was out dated. The TV was tiny and struggled for reception on some Chanel's and was very slow to respond. It would take 15-20 seconds to change Chanel's at times!

The thing that was the biggest disappointment was that they charged my credit card 1000TL at check in for "provisions" but did not tell me. We only spent around 200TL on food and drinks during our stay. We checked out on Thursday morning and only got the 800TL released back on my credit card the following Tuesday morning.

Will I stay here again?...Yes, for sure.
It's a great hotel....could they be better? Yes...for sure

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review and value your feedback. Your comments have been discussed in details with the rest of the team. We hope for another occasion to deliver the service and quality that will match your expectations.
Please feel free to contact me directly.
Warm regards
William Latour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Having owned a house on the coast, around the corner from where this hotel is situated, we, a while ago did a two week sailing trip on a Gulet from Bodrum to Antalya finally ending up at this heavenly tranquil very beautiful architecturally designed hotel. Everything was perfect. The friendly staff, the rooms, the cuisine just fulfilled our wishes. Bodrum a 10 minute drive away has since become a touristically noisy place to be avoided during the hot summer months of July, and August. We were there unfortunately during this time but enjoyed the cool peacefulness of this very pleasant hotel so much.The Spa is excellent and the views from the rooms of the Gokova Bay were breathtaking. There are small typical restaurants in walking distances from the Kempinski where one can enjoy fresh fish and chilled wine on the beach. I look forward to staying at this hotel once more!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HilmarPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review, your appreciation and for recommending our hotel. We are happy to read that your expectations were met and moreover that you intend to come back. I look forward to the pleasure of meeting you in person the next time.
Warm regards
William Latour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We've had a great time at the Kempinski. The location is wonderful, the staff is very attentive and cheery (especially Murcel, who was very helpful during our stay). Whole-heartedly recommend people to visit it, it's a great getaway for friends/family/partners.

I agree with some other reviews that the pictures do NOT do it justice, couldn't stop taking pictures.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shafia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank so much for your positive review. Though the challenge of capturing on pictures the beauty of the place remains unresolved, we enjoy hearing that the reality is better that a virtual imprint of the place. Murcel and the rest of the team were very happy to read your appreciation. We look forward to hosting you again.
Warm regards
William Latour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel was top notch, 5 star service and accommodations!!! They upgraded us to a one bedroom overlooking the Med, it was truly paradise.... Even at full capacity, the resort was quiet and peaceful, nothing was overlooked.
It is not cheap, by any means... But worth every penny.
If we ha one complaint, it would be that the food and alcohol is very expensive and it was not on par with any true 5 star restaurant. It didn't bother us but it might bother some.
Its the nicest resort I have been to and I have been to some very nice places In my life!!!
If you are going to Bodrum... Skip the town and head to Kempinski.... Then just can or bus into town for nights or day trips....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your positive review of our hotel and for your appreciation. We are indeed extremely happy to read that you've enjoyed your honeymoon vacation here as well as taking a note of your comments regarding the restaurants. We wish you again a lot of happiness and look forward to hosting you again (for the anniversary?).
Warm regards
William Latour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the location great. Plan to spend time in the spa, you'll love it. First class facility and great staff. Gym is great and book some time with the trainers, Mustafa and Hilal. They will plan a great programme for you and you'll have fun doing it. Spa staff all really well trained, has the Asian quality and ambience you expect from Six Senses. Do something special for yourself and schedule a watsu session, ask for their consultant Deniz. You'll come back feeling better. body and mind.

Room Tip: go for deluxe suite, worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,
The team of the spa and the hotel joins me in expressing our sincere thanks for your review. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the time spent with us and look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards
William Latour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Genuinely not a bad word to say about this hotel - and I'm quite difficult to please! This is an extraordinary resort and quite possibly the best hotel I have / will ever stay in. As two stressed out young professionals in our 20s, this was a perfect break. The photos on the hotel website do not do it justice - the hotel is simply beautiful: 2 outdoor pool and an outdoor jacuzzi; 1 indoor pool and jacuzzi, a private beach, restaurants - the Asian fusion being some of the best food I have had and enormous picturesque grounds. Oh I forgot to mention the spa - amazing treatments and a gym if you fancy. I could go on forever - a true 5 star experience!

Room Tip: Don't bother leaving the resort - we went into Bodrum for one day and wished we had just stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKempinskiBodrum, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We are indeed delighted to read your comments. Your satisfaction is our ultimate motivation to continue making this place an "extraordinary hotel". We look forward to hosting you again and again.
Thank you and warm regards
William Latour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaliciftlik
2.2 mi away
Hapimag Resort Sea Garden
Hapimag Resort Sea Garden
#1 of 5 in Yaliciftlik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
7.3 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
10.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
Mandarin Oriental, Bodrum
#2 of 16 in Golturkbuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Sarpedor Boutique Hotel & SPA
11.1 mi away
Hilton Bodrum Turkbuku Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
El Vino Hotel & Suites
El Vino Hotel & Suites
#1 of 100 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay

Property: Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay
Address: Kizilagac Koyu Gerenkuyu Mevki Bodrum Merkez, Yaliciftlik 48400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Yaliciftlik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yaliciftlik
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yaliciftlik
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Yaliciftlik
#2 Family Hotel in Yaliciftlik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Yaliciftlik
Kempinski Resort Yaliciftlik
Kempinski Hotel Barbaros Bay Turkey/Yaliciftlik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing