We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pretty Good Sushi Restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ichiban Sushi and Steak - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ichiban Sushi and Steak
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Pretty Good Sushi Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Its a small restaurant, the sushi is pretty good and the hibachi was okay. The service was only okay, they were a little pushy and constantly at our table so we couldn't really just relax and talk.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liveinapex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK, if you have a coupon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The food is average, (the ginger salad has dressing on it that should be bottled and sold!!) but other than that the sushi is over priced and the tuna they sell is chopped and mixed with something else so you aren't getting truly 100% tuna. A new technique that some restaurants are doing to cut costs..for themselves, not for the customers.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank liveinapex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved the Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I went with my husband for a special night out at Ichiban and had the sushi boat. It was wonderful. The sushi was beautiful and fresh. The staff was great and we really enjoyed the place. We will eat there again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank tonyajrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
771 reviews
466 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“So-So”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

My wife & I both love Sushi and/or Sashimi and eat it often and whereever we happen to be traveling.

While the service was fairly fast the Sushi was only so-so. There are a number of Sushi places in the Triangle with better Sushi and more variety.

I will probably go back if we are looking for a quick dinner but only because it is less then 10 min from our house. Otherwise there are others we will go to first.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Levon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and daughter are great sushi fans. They have tried sushi all over the world (literally) and on both coasts of this continent. We have tried a few other sushi restaurants in the surrounding area and we all agree that this place is the freshest and tastiest. I always order the hibachi meals and am never dissatisfied. When you go in, say "hi" to Connie. She is the head of the waitstaff and as friendly as you would expect someone in NC to be. The prices are good and bar service is available. After reading a couple of the other reviews, it is child friendly but not young child friendly (i.e, no crayons, no play area and news plays on the television, not Sesame Street.). It is mainly a sushi place. If you like sushi, this is the place to go. If you want young child friendly, head over to Chick-fil-a.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ncdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ichiban Sushi and Steak also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing