We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Local Treat.”
Review of JD's Tavern

JD's Tavern
Ranked #21 of 136 Restaurants in Apex
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Local Treat.”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great outdoor seating with tasty food and attentive service. One of our favorite places to eat out during warmer weather since it's close and everyone in our family likes the food there. We only go about once every 5-6 weeks when it's cold out as the atmosphere indoors is not as pleasant (typical sports bar set up with several TV's and dark). However, we still go there once in a while during the winter because their shrimp po' boys are to die for and come with your choice of very nice sides.

Outside atmosphere is great; indoor atmosphere, not so much.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
311 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Local Goodness”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

JD's doesn't look like much from the outside, but it's awesome once you get inside. The food is very good - especially the grilled wings - and they have an above average beer menu. The restaurant is clearly well managed, as it is always clean and seems to be very new and constantly updated. I'll be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Local Gem!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great Service, delicious food and fun atmosphere, JD's has it all! The Asiago Bowtie & Chicken Pasta is superb! Philly Cheese Steaks are big enough to share. Even the fruit cup side dish was fresh & yummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHerbertSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Local - good food - will go back”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

LOGISTICS:: 55 at Apex Peakway
Heading south on Hwy 55, past the Beaver Creek shopping entrances, a smallish shopping center will be on the left. Turn left onto the Peakway and immediate left into the "lower" shopping area. JD's is right there. It's a sports bar, with TV's everywhere, but sound off. Tables and booths. Usually I don't pick those sport's restaurants for eating. But, my lunch partner suggested it.

FOOD:
I like the variety of food selections. We both had the special for the day -- a turkey Ruben.
First of all, the bread. It was great! It had to stand up to the wetness of the dressings and it did. I saw in other reviews that they get their bread from Neomonde and based on the texture and taste I would agree. It makes a difference.

You get your choice of a nice selection of sides and are not stuck with FFries. I had sweet potato TaterTots and they were excellent. Beer selections are okay -- not a big collection. Okay by me. I did try a sample before ordering one. Nice to be able to do that.

I'm heading back there again. My lunch partner said their burgers were good. I want to try one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wordmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Homemade Onion Rings!”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have been here twice now, both times were great! They get their bread from Neomonde so it is really delicious. We have had the grilled wings (yummy), the reuben (the marbled rye bread was to die for), fish and chips (crispy and fresh tasting fish) and burger (the brioche roll was as good as the delicious burger. We have eaten inside and on the outside patio....both very nice! JD's is in a small strip center, but a restaurant well worth trying. Oh...and the sanitation grade was 97 ( a very important factor for me). We will frequent this place again often!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bgood58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to JD's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing