We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful trail”

American Tobacco Trail
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Apex
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful trail”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Went on a beautiful autumn day with hubby and 2 pups. Trail is gorgeous, wide, and pretty flat for the area. There were a good amount of people on the trail. You could bike, walk or horse ride. There were plenty of signs to pick up after dogs but, noticed lots of horse waste. There is a bathroom. At trail head. That is great because it is a little bit of a ride and in a no populated area. Be prepared the potties are clean but.... Are potties over very huge holes in the ground. No running water but hand sanitizer is available.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IMHO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for a walk”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The southern extreme of the Tobacco trail is a safe, pleasant place to go for a walk or bike ride. It's not the place to go if you want a strenuous workout, but the scenery is nice and it's usually not overly crowded but not deserted either. The access point off of New Hill - Olive Chapel Road has plenty of parking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great trail”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I bike this trail often - weekly. It is fairly flat and fast with a lot of tree shade. Parts are crushed/compact gravel/dirt and some sections are 2/3 paved and 1/3 crushed/compact gravel/dirt. There are several parking spots along the trail, but only 1 that I know of has a bathroom. 2 parking areas are available for horse-trailer parking. There are benches along the way and a little stream running alongside parts of the trail. We ride hybrid bikes and most ride mountain bikes. Thin road tires might prove a little unsteady on the crushed gravel parts of the trail.
This trail is great for biking, running, walking, horseback riding and the paved parts are good for inline skating.
Caution recommended at the Durham end of the trail due to crime reports. I wouldn't go alone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomahasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Trail”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The trail is the width of a two lane road with a soft, sand/gravel bed. Most of it near Apex is shaded. Nice for walking, running biking and horseback riding. The Durham end has had a poor reputation for crime, but there are now police patrols.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Z M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
260 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's pretty but go in a group”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The trail is pretty. But reports of recent crime wouldn't bring me there again unless I was in a large group. I certainly wouldn't go alone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoDucks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Tobacco Trail also viewed

 

Been to American Tobacco Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing