We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Great”

Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
Ranked #50 of 136 Restaurants in Apex
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Great”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Burgers are pricey and lack flavor. It's noisy and chaotic. So-so service. OK for families, but I won't return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Z M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good service, Great Bugers”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were delighted with the burger selection and they were delicious. The price was a bit high for a gourmet burger at $13.99 so we will not go often, but the pepper bacon burger was definitely different and tasty, so no complaints about this trip. The Wine selection was weak, but they did have Dreaming Tree cab on the list, which is not bad for a burger and brew house. As with all Red Robins, they are extremely noisy, so go for the food, not conversation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great meal for on a bustling Fri eve”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Daughter and I enjoyed a delish meal here a few nights ago. Admittedly very busy Friday night, but we were only in need of a table for two, so were seated immediately. Our host was gracious and struck up a convo with my daughter, kids love to be acknowledged! Our server, Rebecca, was top notch with her suggestions, refills and checking in without being bothersome. Hosts were consistently checking for open tables and management was visible. It's obvious they are attempting to better themselves and doing a great job of it. I ordered the new Chicken Ensalada, which was juicy and flavorful. I especially enjoyed the drizzle of spicy ranch on top of the two chicken breasts. My DD's guacamole burger was cooked perfectly and very tasty. We highly recommend both dishes. We've frequented many a Red Robin and this was pretty much the best one we've tried...from Cali to NC. Great food & service, can't ask for more!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHerbertSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
234 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Go to Red Robin! Just not this location. ”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Seriously. Not this location.

We have been to Red Robin a few times (probably 8?) all over the country and love their burger selection (especially for a chain restaurant!) and their endless fries. Their salads and shakes are also really good and the atmosphere is great for kids.

So, go to Red Robin. Highly worth a visit. Just please, not the Beaver Creek Commons location (there's another one about 6-7 miles away in Cary that's significantly better).

I really don't even know where to start with the service here. We a arrived about 6:30 on a Friday night so we fully expected to wait for a table. We were told 15-20 min. Perfect. 30 min goes by and we were told "15-20 min" again. Fine. Except I had a pretty good feeling the hostess forgot to put our name in the first time. Turns out I was correct.

We finally sat down about an hour later. No waitress for over 10 min. Finally a server walked by, noticed we hadn't been helped and took our drink and appetizer order. We never saw him, our drinks or our appetizers.

Then our real waitress came took our drink, appetizer and dinner order (since we never got the original appetizer or drink order from the first random waiter) and we still never got our appetizer (but were charged for it?). Our drinks and food did arrive though (food came over 45 min after being seated and was brought by an entirely different waiter as our waitress was missing apparently).

When the check arrived (brought by a DIFFERENT waiter- so now we have seen 4?) it was incorrect. Charged for the appetizer we never received, charged twice for the same burger, and our sons kids meal was on the bill three times. The waiter who brought the check apologized and corrected it but didn't bring it back for 10-15 min later.

I get that it was a Friday night, they were busy, and it is holiday shopping season so everyone is out and about. I got that. However, this was totally unacceptable. We love Red Robin but that experience was a nightmare. Never again at that location.

Helpful?
Thank ChelseaUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really bad”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

There is a Mac Donald close to it, just go there!! You will spend less and you will eat much better ! All the burgers here are to much fried and with too much oil, the service is not bad but nothing special . Sorry guys you have to work harder !!

Helpful?
1 Thank Stemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Robin Gourmet Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing