We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, small space”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Rancherita

La Rancherita
Ranked #5 of 133 Restaurants in Apex
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whiteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, small space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Downtown Apex was a lot of fun. We enjoy checking out locally owned restaurants when we travel and the trip advisor reviews pointed us down here. Food was excellent--a step above the typical food I get in Mexican restaurants in NC. Prices were reasonable and portions were large. . My only complaint was the cramped space. Still, I would hate for them to move to a strip mall. If you are near Apex, this restaurant is worth checking out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    46
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Food, Bad Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just back from our second visit to La Rancherita in downtown Apex. Hadn't been there in several years, and wanted to try them again. On our first visit the food was good, as it was on the second visit. Atmosphere is pretty good as well.

But on both visits we experienced a menu without any "a la carte" items, which we prefer since we like the entrees but generally not the rice and beans. That means you either pay the higher prices on the menu items, or you don't know what you can get (though usually anything on the regular menu) or what it will cost. Usually we can get around that by just ordering what we want, and hoping the price is not too bad when the check comes.

But with waiter Edgar, that is not easy. He was not friendly, seemed to understand our order when we discovered after-the-fact that he did not, and was very inattentive to our table. Leaving an empty beer mug near the edge of the table, to indicate we are wanting another, took over five minutes before Edgar stopped by, when there were a total of 4 tables with customers, so it was not busy. Wife ordered one chimi and got two. And the bill for the 2 chimi's was the same as the menu price for 2 chimi's plus rice and beans. We brought this to Edgar's attention (when he eventually walked by) and he corrected the check, but still charging for 2 chimi's. This all could be avoided with "a la carte" menu items.

Overall, the food is good, the atmosphere okay, but the service (on 2 visits, both with Edgar) was awful. Maybe another waiter would have been good, but on our 2 visits service was bad. I give it 1 star, and we will not be back. We'll stick with Aranda's Mexican near Lowe's Foods off Hwy 55. The food is just as good or better, they have an 'a la carte" menu, and the service is very friendly and makes us feel they are glad we came.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertBofApex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Located in quaint downtown Apex, this restaurant has added even more menu items over the years and upgraded the interior. Food is always delicious and arrives fast and hot to your table. Wait staff is not overly friendly, but courteous and attentive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomahasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Es Muy Bien. It's always a good time for Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a wonderful gem in the middle of downtown Apex which is a gem in and of itself. The portions are generous, the prices reasonable, the service is fast, and the sweet tea is delicious. My father, when visiting from Arizona (as in close to Mexico and very authentic Mexican restaurants) always enjoys eating at La Rancherita. It's never a disappointment and everything I have always ordered comes out fresh and very tasty! Mmmm...wishing for some chips and salsa now.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boosa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looking for very good Mexican in Cary/Apex? Search no more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I am usually not a super fan of Mexican food, except for my guacamole addiction, and I have ben disappointed by many chains with similar food with no great taste. But La Rancherita reconciled my taste buds with authentic Mexican food, or at least as authentic as you can get in our Region. Had the Shrimp and Chorizo fajitas, very tasty. So if you look for a nice Mexican plae in Apex/Cary don't hesitate. And the nice Apex downtown location is a nice bonus

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Herve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rancherita also viewed

 

Been to La Rancherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing