We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maize Adventure fun day!”

Kersey Valley Maize Adventure
Ranked #7 of 10 things to do in Archdale
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Trinity, North Carolina
1 review
“Maize Adventure fun day!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our family enjoyed the Corn Maze this year. It was a great local trip to take with gas prices the way they are. Our kids enjoyed the Cow Train and digging in Dinosaur Discovery. Our kids were able to take a break and grab some fresh Kettle Corn and Lemonade to recharge for more activities. We look forward to next year!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mebane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Something for everyone, but over priced”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

There are a lot of different activities in one location & a good selection for most families or young adults. They have laser tag, zip lines, tourist style gem mining, the corn maze, giant bounce pillows for adults & kids, a fossil dig pit, adult Halloween events, a cow train/shuttle ride, several food places, picnic tables, & a small souvenir shop. We used a Groupon deal & paid $27 for a family of 4 to do the corn maze, the tram ride, & the bounce pillows. Normally this would have cost $44 & we probably would not have done it.

The run around to get to the $5 paid parking entrance was a bit confusing/frustrating, but I think they're trying to create a one-way traffic pattern which will be helpful on busy days. Staff members are really friendly & helpful but you have to get their attention to ask questions. The corn maze covers about 10 acres & takes about 30-40 minutes to complete if you're using landmarks & maps. It's a nice leisurely walk on slightly uneven, but flat ground. Have everyone mark their guesses in the clue book before you start & see who gets the most right answers through a process of elimination. There are 6 punch stations to find inside the maze & a couple of bridges that allow an overhead view of the maze. We chose not to ride the tram around the outside of the corn maze, but the huge bounce pillows were a lot of fun! 5 min sessions ensure short wait times, but you can go back again & again.

A young adult friend has done the zip lines before & loved it! We saw many families & groups of 20-somethings doing this. It looked fun, but again, way overpriced!

We passed on the food, which was the usual high price/low quality junk food standard fare. They could really use at least a couple of healthy food options.

Overall, this was a fun activity to spend a couple of hours on, but now that we've seen it, I'm not sure we'll be back. I would recommend it for families with kids who live within driving distance, teens, & young adults with extra money to burn!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Runesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twohlgemuth, Owner at Kersey Valley Maize Adventure, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Pricing options are varied depending on what you want to do and your budget. We feel we offer a great value for what you get.

The parking is designed to have you enter from the back of the farm, this is mandated by the highway patrol as we have over 6,000 people attend in a day. The prevents the main road from having grid lock once the crowds build up. I do apologize for the run around, but once you have been here you know the procedure for your next visit.

The zip line tours are priced right in line with the national standard. Beware of zip lines that are very inexpensive. The cost to build what we have and at the level of safety is very expensive. You get what you pay for.

We only use the highest quality food and it is priced in line with any attraction, if not lower. We have sliced apples as a healthy snack option.

We appreciate your comments and hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adventure filled family day!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My family of five visited Kersey Valley Maize last Sunday. Parents and kids all had a great time in the corn maze and walking around the grounds. Daddy's favorite part of the visit was the giant bounce pillow!!!!! It was great fun. There are other activities at the location like a cow train for the little ones, laser tag and zip line for the older ones and snacks and food for everyone. We plan on returning next month to go pumpkin picking and gem panning. Sadly, we had to cut our visit short because of rain but the facility gave us and several other people vouchers and wristbands for return visits.

The staff was extremely friendly and the activities were reasonably priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twohlgemuth, Owner at Kersey Valley Maize Adventure, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for coming out to see us, hopefully on your return visit the weather will be sunny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kersey Valley Maize Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Kersey Valley Maize Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing