We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Asheville River Cabins
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in the 100 yr old cabin the last week in August. It was just perfect for us and we really enjoyed our stay. This was a surprise getaway for him and he couldn't have been more thrilled about the cabin and the river. Great location, close to just about anywhere you want to go. We also enjoyed renting a couple of tubes from 'Zen Tubing' and floating down the river in the warm afternoon. We will be back, hopefully for a longer stay. I didn't spend enough time just sitting and doing nothing!

Room Tip: 100 yr old cabin is the place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlea1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

We booked a Parkway Lane Cabin on the internet from the UK and it lived up to our expectations. The Allisons were welcoming and friendly, checking that we had everything we required. After a long drive down from New Jersey it was great to just sit on the veranda and enjoy the peace and quiet. The cabin was clean with all the equipment and utensils needed. The cabins are only a few minutes drive from a large "Ingles" supermarket so provisions were easy to obtain. Only minor fault - there were no hangers in the closet, the last occupants had taken them. As a UK birder it was brilliant, (as Ben would say), to sit and watch bluebirds feeding young while four species of swallow swooped over the grass and red-tailed hawks circled above. Thoroughly recommend for people wanting a peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pantopragmatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

My wife surprised me with a great retreat to the mountains. We stayed in the 100 year cabin. It's very quaint, with bedroom and small kitchen. Loved fishing, walking and viewing the geese that roamed. River was very peaceful. We visited the arboretum and blue Ridge parkway, just up the road. Asheville was also a quick drive. Would definitely return, perhaps bring friends and fill all the cabins!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgthe3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

we found this place on the internet, we were surprised how clean and adorable the cabins are. The privacy is great, widelife and the river are wonderful to watch. The location to ashville and surrounding areas were close and easy. We could cook any meal we wanted, the grill and deck is very relaxing. Floating down the river was refreshing. We returned in october we loved it so much. Visiting the local farms and going to Pisquah National Forrest was a favorite. My husband gave a three night stay to his employee as a gift, and they loved better than the biltmore.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dipper843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Our stay at Parkway Lane Cabins was absolutely incredible: Broad River is at your doorstep-fishing at its finest. Privacy was never compromised-the cabins were very warm, cozy and well cared for. The location is great with many things to do for all ages. We were also very pleased that pets were welcome too. Our recommendations are most favorable. Two thumbs and four paws up:) Felix, Melanie and Brutus-Largo, FL

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bumpkins1962mlcfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

If I could've found a way to cart the little 100 year old cabin back to Louisiana, I sure would've. Somehow, the bear skin rug and fireplace wouldn't have been nearly as enjoyable in our witheringly humid climate.
I fell in love instantly! Talk about thinking of everything, there was even music playing to welcome our road weary little selves which utterly enhanced the cozy ambiance of the cabin. Had we not been so gung ho to visit Biltmore decked out for Christmas, the Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, Carl Sandberg's house, and downtown Asheville, I'm sure we would have spent THE entire time in front of the fireplace discussing the deceptively simple look of the stone fireplace, and just HOW do you find the right stones to make that thing?
Morning coffee on the porch even in 20 degree weather quite simply was unequivocally delicious! We were even able to grill up some steaks from Ingle's (I WANT one of those stores here) on the grill provided for our convenience.
We will be back. I took a picture of the view from the porch. It is now my screen saver. After an exhausting day commuting, teaching, and commuting, it is my haven and brings a smile of delight to my face.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank PBandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

The cabins on Parkway Lane are a perfect choice for some. Only twenty minutes from Asheville (about 30 during rush hour), they are very convenient to local restaurants, grocery stores, and attractions like the Blue Ridge Parkway, the NC Arboretum and the Biltmore Estate. The cabin we stayed in was immaculate, right down to the wall decorations--often a collecting spot for dust and cobwebs. The appliances are new and stainless steel, including a stove, microwave, and mini-fridge (there is no oven). We never met the proprietors, Mr. and Mrs. Allison, but they showed their Southern hospitality with little touches like a welcome letter, providing a map to nearby stores, and supplying many extras that are usually only included if past guests leave them behind, like a brand new box of coffee, a hair dryer, paper towels, etc. The Allisons have thought of everything, right down to a water dish for visitors' dogs and golf clubs and balls to practice your chip shot from your porch. Yes, you heard me right. The cabins surround a field adjacent to the French Broad River that has been converted to a golf green. Therein lies one of the problems with Parkway Lane.

In response to the question, "how secluded is Parkway Lane?" the website states, "everything is a matter of degree. When you have an almost 360 degree view of trees, mountains, water, grass, and a few log cabins most would consider that secluded." I certainly did not. What the website doesn't tell you is that there is a subdivision of large houses right next to the property. We could literally see the neighborhood from our bedroom window. What's more, there is absolutely nothing shielding the view of one cabin from another. The owners have planted three saplings between each of the units, but it will be years before guests can reap the benefit of their shade and beauty. Incomprehensibly, the trees that weren't razed for the golf field sit by the river, obstructing our view of both the French Broad and the mountains. Add this to the five acres of empty field right as you leave your front door, and I felt like Bambi's mother nervously looking for hunters in the meadow. My husband and I could never shake the "living in a fishbowl" feeling--not what you want for your honeymoon.

We paid $125 plus a $25 per night pet fee to stay in Parkway Lane cabin #2. We booked two nights with the possibility of extending our stay for an additional two nights. We changed locations midway and were extremely pleased with our second choice, a similar sized cabin at Cabins of Asheville with natural views from every window.

My recommendation for couples wishing to stay at Parkway Lane is to choose cabins #4, 5, or 6, which are located such that you can't see the subdivision from your porch. You can find a map of the property's layout on their website. The trees and other growth on this side of the property are neatly trimmed, offering a picturesque view of the French Broad River. This side even has benches and fishing access. Stay away from cabins #2 and 3 for the reasons listed above, as well as cabin #7 which is located right on the access road and sees a lot of traffic from guests entering/exiting the property. Cabin #1 may be okay. It has the same problems as #2 and #3, but the problems are mitigated by stained glass windows and a porch facing the river.

Overall, Parkway Lane is a good choice for some, especially golf lovers. Personally, I prefer a cabin with more of a view and greater privacy.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank LadyKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Asheville River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville River Cabins

Address: 55 Parkway Ln, Arden, NC 28704-8735 (Formerly Parkway Lane Cabins)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Arden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Arden
Price Range: £131 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asheville River Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asheville River Cabins offers a truly memorable and unique experience for guests looking for the best of both worlds. A rare location that allows one to feel they are deep into nature yet allows easy access to everything Asheville has to offer. Asheville River Cabins are the only cabins available in Asheville that are located directly on the French Broad River, "the third oldest river in the world." The cabins provide panoramic sights and sounds of the river, including a view of the majestic Biltmore Estate and regular sightings of deer, beaver, river otter, wild geese, ducks, and heron. Guests looking for a quiet respite off the beaten path will appreciate the peacefulness Asheville River Cabins provides. The river is a premier recreation spot providing the perfect location for canoeing, kayaking, tubing, and fishing. Kayaking, canoe and tubing trips may be arranged for an additional fee. Guests at Asheville River Cabins have golf clubs (wedges) & golf balls available to them at no additional fee and a three hole, five-acre golf course for the practice of wedge shots. Guests seeking a convenient place for sightseeing trips and outdoor adventures will appreciate that this resort is just minutes from Biltmore Park, downtown Asheville, the Asheville Arboretum, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Join us at Asheville River Cabins, "a special place for a special time". Log cabins on the French Broad River 10 miles South of Asheville and across the river from the famous Biltmore Estate. 2 miles from Blue Ridge Parkway & NC Arboretum with hiking & biking trails & 2 miles from Biltmore Park with theaters, restaurants, and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Asheville River Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing