We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Pomodoros Greek & Italian Cafe-South
Ranked #12 of 71 Restaurants in Arden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Greek, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
1 review
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Food was sub par for upscale dining. On a slow night the service was on point as was the hostess. The food came out in a timely manor but that was about the end of the good. Portions were small, and not well cooked. The only highlight were the scallops (all 4 of them). Just left me wondering when the entree was coming. Not likely to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mills River, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Much A-do About Nothing”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Over hyped.....just average food and not average prices.
They swore my Eggplant Parmesan (?) was FRIED and I simply do not believe it. Baked is much more like it. Restaurants should be forced by the Supreme Court of the United States of America to tell the truth about such IMPORTANT things as that. The only way I can prove to my self sometimes about "REAL" mashed potatoes is simply order a baked tater and squish it all up.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JULIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy Greek and Italian food!”
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to Pomodore's on Long Shoals Rd but it won't be my last! I had the lunch special Mousaka which was plentiful and delicious. My husband had the half portion of eggplant Parmesan which was also plentiful and good price. We had a Living Social coupon which is what enticed us in, but we would definitely go back. Wait staff and host were very nice and helpful in guiding you thru the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandieJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fletcher, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saganaki anyone?”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

"opa" Start off with the Saganaki (flaming cheese with pita bread), a glass of red wine and order the Greek Pizza for a wonderful experience

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent wine list”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We have visited both Pomodoros restaurants many times. Most recently we dined at the one in Arden. We had a large pizza and bottle of Gabbiano Chianti, together with a Greek Salad. The salad dressing was the best wine/vinegar blend I've ever tasted. The pizza was perfectly done, nice crust, good toppings. And the bottle of Gabbiano was superb. It was very crowded when we arrived and we had to wait a little longer than usual, but the service was polite and attentive, and we had no complaints about the delay. The restaurant has some very excellent Greek dishes and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drjim1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pomodoros Greek & Italian Cafe-South also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Mills River, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Pomodoros Greek & Italian Cafe-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing