We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Thai food, family-run restaurant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanpen Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Wanpen Thai Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Thai food, family-run restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

The food at Wanpen is always outstanding. Fresh vegetables, meats, soups, and noodles with luscious sauces. Not much to look at - don't expect anything fancy.
The food is the star here - Tom Yum Gai soup, Pad Thai, vegetable LoMein, hot chicken wings, all yummy! Owners are always onsite. The talented husband does the cooking, while the very charming Wanpen herself runs the front of the house. Visiting Wanpen is like going to a family event. Her customers are very loyal and she knows most of them by name. Love goes into the food and it's all good. Not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kcmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try the Crispy Duck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We have been customers of Wanpen for many years and have to say that it is the best Thai we have eaten. It is the standard by which we judge other Thai restaurants. We believe it to be authentic and an excellent value.
As others have mentioned, the atmosphere is not polished but it is clean and kind'a campy. Very much a neighborhood restaurant feel.
We have had the Namsod, Pad Thai, all variations of curry, and Mango Rice dessert. All excellent! However, the 1/2 Crispy Duck, while a little pricey, is phenominal!
Give Wanpen a try. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rg3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We're not big on thai, but our friends are, so we stopped here for lunch. The food was very good and we enjoyed the outdoor seating. Plenty to pick from, but it appeared that there's only one menu, so no true lunch specials. Because of that, it was a little pricey for lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank demlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Great food.Buffet is awesome. My favorite reswyaurant in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travalpalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Don't let the outside fool you. I did many a time. Every time my husband suggested it I shrugged and said nawh. Finally , I said oh well lets try it. Sooo glad we did. It has such great food. It is an easy place to take a child too because there is plenty of room, not tables on top of each other like some places.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thejourney101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wanpen Thai Restaurant also viewed

Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing