We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for hosting a party & Best German food ever!”
Review of Black Forest - MOVED

Black Forest
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Perfect for hosting a party & Best German food ever!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is among the best German food I've eaten in America. They provide fine dining as well as large party management. We hosted a surprise party last week and Shawn advised me on many details I wouldn't have thought of myself. Everything was perfect! I highly recommend them, for regular dining and special occasion parties.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swissmaiteli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    43
    19
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
253 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good German Food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is our second visit to this restaurant, since we are not locals. We both had wiener schnitzel veal with spaetzle. My husband had a chicken and spaetzle soup of the day and I had the potato pancakes as appetizers. Everything was very good, the wiener schnitzel was excellent. A bit pricey.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xmasangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like being in the Old Country”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I grew up in a family that has German ancestry on both sides, so I view German type food as the comfort food of my childhood. Black Forest lived up to what I was hoping for. I ordered the saurbraten which came with four German sides, it was made perfectly and i left very full and happy. The service was good, but slightly slow and the food more than made up for it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chillmonkey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We tried this restaurant out with our friends who always make a point to eat here when in the area. The waitstaff was extremely attentive and knew their menu! We had potato pancakes and my husband and I shared the German sampler plate so we could try it all!! We each had a glass of German beer, then irish coffees and apple strudel to top it off. If you like German food (or even if you don't!!) I highly recommend this cute little place. We will be back!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDMartin_325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Don't let the vintage old school German décor fool you, the food here is wonderful! The menu also has Italian & seafood dishes if you are not in the mood for German. They even have a great kids menu with more than the usual choices. The portions are large, food tasty, and servers and bus boy very friendly. I have passed this place many times & so glad we decided to try it for dinner last week! Will definitely be back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank beautyqueen416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Forest also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 
Arden, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing