We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best zoo on the east coast.. perhaps anywhere in the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of North Carolina Zoo

North Carolina Zoo
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Asheboro
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the best zoo on the east coast.. perhaps anywhere in the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Just a wonderful trip for the day to visit animals of all kinds in their natural habitat..not caged in and miserable. Living lives as close to how they would live in the wild minus poachers and other evils. You can walk all day and not run out of things to see from polar bears swimming in huge pools to large elephants with acres of savannahs. Go and enjoy!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank debrasimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    307
    86
    35
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome zoo.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Of all the zoos I've been to, this one is my favorite. Lots of walking (but there's a tram available). Natural habitat zoo, and check their website for feeding opportunities and special events.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank trishaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Grandchildren's first trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

North Carolina has a very nice zoo. It requires a lot of walking but most of us can use the exercise. We did the whole thing in 7 hours 20 minutes including a stop for lunch with two small kids. It gets hot in the afternoon so be sure to dress for it. Wear good comfortable walking shoes for sure. There is some transportation inside but you can't see very much unless you do it on foot. Food and drink are expensive just as it is at any other attraction park. I feel it would really be nice in the early fall when most of the day is cool. The Gorilla exhibit was closed for how long I don't know. Animals are unpredictable so you may not get to see each and everyone but you will most. A pair of binoculars is also good for distant viewing.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadKing8084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Just heavely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

love the zoo. So many animals to see and so much fun.

Helpful?
Thank kelleytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I was very surprised by the upkeep of the zoo. It is beautifully landscaped and all animal habitats are as close to "the wild" as you can get. We were able to see almost every animal! There are beautiful aviaries that represent the tropics and the desert with real plants from those areas. My kids loved seeing where chocolate comes from. Its not just about the animals here but the whole environment. Only complaint was food prices. We bought drinks for four of us and it was $17, so we opted to eat elsewhere. The whole family truely enjoyed it.

Helpful?
5 Thank Mi2Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Carolina Zoo also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing