We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes please!”
Review of Magnolia 23

Magnolia 23
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in Asheboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yes please!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Great food. Even better service. Will be back often. I had heard some bad things so it was a great surprise how good the food is and how Nice the owners are.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 99754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    26
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great local find.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A buddy of mine was in Charlotte for the week and asked if I could meet him for lunch. Being in Raleigh I figured Asheboro would be a good half way point for the both of us. I used TripAdvisor to find a place to eat and found Magnolia 23 as the highest rated restaurant in Asheboro so I asked my friend to meet me there. From the one visit I can see why it has such a great rating. The food was awesome; fried chicken, green beans, potato salad, and corn bread. The staff was friendly and the owners both stopped by our table to make sure everything was okay. I just wished I had a local restaurant like this near me. I plan on making another stop the next time my family heads out to zoo.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't eat....”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stopped in because of trip advisor reviews. They have a very limited menu and upon our arrival, an hour before closing, they were out of several items offered that day. Fried chicken is offered only one day a week. We were offered chicken wings instead. Since it was very hot inside and nothing appealing on the menu we opted to leave, something I don't recall ever having done before.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank UNCRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald M S, Owner at Magnolia 23, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience. We are a small family restaurant that offers a select menu for dinner throughout the week. Wednesday's and Sunday's we offer our fried chicken. We regret if you had the impression that we offer an array of food choices or fried chicken every night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“tasty comfort food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

we were in Asheboro window shopping when we came across magnolia 23..being from up north, we decided to try it...and very happy we did...the fried chicken was delicious along with the sides,(we had 4 sides) ..during our meal we received the best attention from the waitress and the owner..we chatted for awhile and informed him how satisfied and delicious the food was..we felt right at home and we will surely return with our friends and family..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank juan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Southern Cooking Friendly Personnel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was our first visit to this restaurant. I had heard good things about it from others. They have a varied menu featuring mostly southern favorites. I would highly recommend the fried chicken. The owner came by to greet and welcome us on our first visit. He said he would come back to see how we liked the food which he did. We received prompt service. I would like to go back and try one of their homemade desserts.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank zooland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnolia 23 also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing