We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but room could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service but room could be better”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

A group of six friends stayed at the Palm Suites for a weekend get-together. We brought our boats so were excited about the bonus of the free boat ramp and slips. However, the ramp is very narrow and the slips have no ropes or pulleys for docking and it is not floating docks. I understand it was free with rental, but it was very difficult to secure our boats.

The front desk staff was very helpful and the property was well kept. Our rooms were clean and neat. However, as other reviews on here state-room 104 is lacking. There is only a 19 inch (if that big) TV and stains from front to back on the carpets. Also this room is right by the parking lot and pool so is probably loud in the summer. The other two rooms were definitely nicer. I would recommend a room on the end of the building away from the pool.

All in all, it was a great time and the rooms are very well equipped, but keep in mind they are privately owned, so ask questions about the specific room you are assigned to make sure it will have everything you expect.

Room Tip: Avoid room 104 if you want to see the television.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goheels120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    17
    21
    14
    14
See reviews for
33
36
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenansville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I usually stay in a "chain" hotel while down on business but had pretty much gotten disgusted with the local HIE down there. I tried this and loved it! I would have given it a 4.5 because the blinds over the sliding glass door did not work well and the light from across the street (ABC Superstore) shown into the sleeping area (think the Seinfeld episode with Kramer and the Kenny Rogers Chicken). The place was clean and really pretty. Each room is individually owned so some may not be as nice as others but I asked the guy at the desk to pick me out one that he thought would be good and I was very pleased with it. The room I was in was equipped with everything I would need if I wanted to stay for a week. Now, don't expect the great big fluffy towels and the shampoo and body wash you'd get at a chain hotel. And, take your own hair dryer but otherwise I'd highly recommend it. As a matter of fact, planning to reserve a room in November for several nights for a getaway with my husband.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures in the gallery and if you see something you like, ask the person at the hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and I came here from California during the Seafood Festival - Oct 4-9 and to visit family. The first room (#216) we had wasn't cleaned well; therefore, William moved us to @ 216 which was very nice and made sure we were happy. The staff was very pleasant; Michael who checked us in was very professional. There was another gentleman at the front desk who was helpful as well. The housekeeper was courteous and to let her know if we needed anything.

We highly recommend Palm Suites and will come back again. We had a nice view sound view!

Room Tip: Room 214 on the sound side was quiet with beautiful view. The a/c units are a little loud but not un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We came down for the Seafood Festival - Oct 5th -8th and stayed at Palm Suites. Not really knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spotless, pleasant people at front desk and the grounds/pool seem well maintained. This was a perfect location and great room for 2 people. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yktntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My friend and I got Room 132 at this low-cost condotel. It was a brightly-decorated bi-level room with two double beds on the upper level and a small table and chairs plus a small sofa in the lower area. Just enough separation was provided to let one person watch TV while the other slept or read. The desk people were very accommodating both on the phone and in person. Everything was perfectly clean and pleasant. The room suited two old friends but would also be good for a couple with two young children. I don't know what the other rooms are like, of course, but ours was perfectly fine.

Room Tip: If you enjoy fresh air, Room 132 is great. Just turn off the noisy air conditioner and open the slid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zebulon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed here during the Days Inn days until a friend bought a litlte place in Emerald Isle. Since he sold it 4 years ago started staying here again. Very happy with the price and clean room. The staff here is great, and Michael Spencer, the manager, is on top of things. me and my wife got married on the dock here in April. If you are looking for a great time at the beach, come on down for a stay. Michael and Mikki Barham

Room Tip: We stay in rooms 136 or 138, both very nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Our friends were having a wedding and this was the hotel they were staying , so I called to make reservation , man on phone was very short with me,booked anyway ,then I had a month to read bad reviews , I gave stars because it wasn't that bad ,When we arrived , both men were at front desk, and were very nice. We had room 247 , it was $99.46 a night , was clean and very cute with flamingos everywhere ,ac was cold :) we didn't go swimming there but pool looked ok, best feature is boat dock area ,we all stayed out there fishing late night !! For a beach hotel , it was just what we needed !!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hipchik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
257 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
367 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
186 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach

Property: Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Address: 602 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5310 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Suites at Atlantic Beach is the premier boutique property on the Crystal Coast. Featuring 90 custom design rooms; each designed with the owner's personality to provide you with a tranquil experience. Nine sound side boat slips and a floating launching area will give you the opportunity to bring your boat down to fully enjoy your visit. Wireless Internet, Guest Laundry facitilty, Swimming Pool, No Minimum requirements during the summer. AARP/Senior, Military, Corporate discounts available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Suites Of Atlantic Beach Hotel Atlantic Beach
Palm Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing