We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give this place a chance!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Give this place a chance!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2006

My family (four of us including a 5-year-old) picked this place over Labor Day weekend, mainly because they were the only place not charging an outrageous price for rooms! The rooms themselves were neat and well-kept, with a mini-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, great counter/cabinet space, and a large sink (besides the bathroom sink). The particular room we stayed in (237) had a a twin daybed with a pullout trundle (which my 5 y.o. LOVED!); the two steps down into the "lower level" led to a very comfortable king-size bed, which then led to a balcony with sliding glass doors. Bathroom was clean, carpet was clean, decor was "beachy" - we had absoulutely no complaints! The pool is small but clean and nice if you want to get out of the salt water for a while. We were especially surprised to find such a great room as a walk-in on Labor Day weekend. Most staff were friendly, and helpful about giving directions.

This hotel is on the sound side (which means a perky fishy smell on the backside, but you get used to it...) and is SO close to the Atlantic Beach boardwalk (walking distance); they do not serve cont. breakfast but McDonalds, Food Lion, Dollar Tree and a great pizza & chinese place are within 1/4 mile. It's also about 2-3 miles from the newly renovated amazing NC Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores.

Note to disabled travelers: there is no elevator so ask for a 1st floor room unless you want to schlep your stuff up the stairs!

Overall this is a great, clean modest place to spend a weekend away without spending too much $$ and we will be staying there again!

  • Liked — Good price, great location
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCPianoPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    16
    19
    14
    12
See reviews for
30
30
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stem, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2006

It was better than expected. The staff was great. The room was clean & comfortable. VERY family friendly. We have stayed several places at Atlantic Beach, but now we have found our home away from home. Hope you enjoy it too!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ncrealtor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2005

My husband and I checked into this hotel for a family "get-a-way"
weekend. The bathroom was filthy-I found a dirty washcloth hanging in the shower and the bottom of the tub was so filthy we would not allow our toddler to bathe in it. Our room with a "view of the sound" overlooked trash that had been strewn about. We obviously did not stay. I will say the staff was very courteous and refunded all of our money. It is too bad the cleanliness was so poor-they were nice sized rooms.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank AuntKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atlantic Beach hotels

Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2004

We have stayed there twice now because we like the Atlantic Beach area, but I would caution everyone to check their room BEFORE checking in because the quality even from room to room varies enormously, like there is no regular ongoing maintenance/cleaning program. If you don't smoke and want to stay on the west side, you are out of luck, that's where they stick all the smokers ... and forget the complimentary breakfast unless you really, really like unruly mob scenes with dozens of children fighting for the few edibles. The first time was better than the second time, even though it was more crowded. I just can't see going back there again, there are much nicer places for a lot less money that are just as close to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Weary Travellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2003

This place was terrible! The room was filthy, garbage all over the balcony. The carpet was wet, I'm not sure why, and it looked as though the carpet had not been vacuumed in quite a while. I requested a crib for my baby months in advance and even called a week before our stay to confirm, when we arrived no crib available for us! We checked out and did not stay here.

Helpful?
27 Thank dotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach

Property: Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Address: 602 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5310 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Suites at Atlantic Beach is the premier boutique property on the Crystal Coast. Featuring 90 custom design rooms; each designed with the owner's personality to provide you with a tranquil experience. Nine sound side boat slips and a floating launching area will give you the opportunity to bring your boat down to fully enjoy your visit. Wireless Internet, Guest Laundry facitilty, Swimming Pool, No Minimum requirements during the summer. AARP/Senior, Military, Corporate discounts available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Suites Of Atlantic Beach Hotel Atlantic Beach
Palm Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing