We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
syracuse, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not happy”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

in the 4 days we stayed at this hotel, our room was never made up or cleaned. not their fault when we lost power, however, 8 flight of stairs is quite a chaLLENGE. one time when we were in the lobby a y daughter room had issues as well, the pipes under their sink leaked water all over the bathroom floor. Not a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    361
    249
    120
    61
See reviews for
463
392
50
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My friends and I visit NC for a quick go away assistant front desk manager have horrible actitud maybe someone can teach him smile it is a key to make costumers happy hotel was beautiful with a gorgeous ocean view clean and front desk ladies very attentive beautiful pool we was sad because the bar wasn't open yet and cross street bar it is really very priced but good food please don't ask for happy hour nonono is ilegal in North Carolina lol but good food and beer
This doubletree is one of the best one been visiting I give 5 start if the assistant manager in front desk try to be more happy doing his job everything will be fantastic thank you my personal opinion

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank poison75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlantic beach North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the grounds and hotel decor and cleanliness was. I am extremely concerned with cleanliness when staying in a hotel and felt comfortable which is huge. The grounds where kept up and very nice as well. There where a couple of minor draw backs. Our dining experience at the on site restaurant was less that except-able. Left feeling extremely frustrated at the lack of service. Having to leave my table twice to find my waiter to no avail due to wanting to place an order and then proceeded by receiving wrong orders and wanting condiments. No service to be found asked another waitress for help. NOPE no help... The shelf in the bathroom was loose asked for it to be fixed. The handy man dumped everything on the BathRM floor and left it there with plaster and dust.(v.nice) On further inspection the screws were only tightened on the top.(seriously) The worst was the handy man just walked in without knocking. really! Long waits at the elevator on weekends. All in all it was a great hotel with good staff with the exception of the restaurant and maintenance staffs. Desk help JAE was exceptional!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jerilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for bringing the issues you experienced in the restaurant and with the maintenance staff to our attention. We assure you that these are not normal behaviors for our staff and we sincerely apologize that you were faced with these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ERWIN
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Doubletree, Atlantic Beach was an excellent location to hold a reunion. Hotel employees were very pleasant and accomodating. Dinner meal in restaurant was very good. Would definitely choose this location for future reunions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank LARRY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We're glad to hear that our hotel participated in making sure your reunion was everything you had expected and we hope you'll choose to do the next reunion with us as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stantonsburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Dont go here and expect Hilton. Its a refurbed Sheraton that got hit by a hurricane. Not impressed. Expensive dining room. Poolside was ok - again nothing like you'd expect a Hilton to be.. Glad that there is a hotel this large to accommodate beachgoers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on left side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leathajh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We're sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations and we urge you to contact the general manager directly to further discuss how we can better our hotel, tom.bowen@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

First - our room was very nice, clean, and spacious. We had a king oceanfront suite, which was the best room they had at the time of booking. Things I didn't like were our toilet got clogged and overflowed (which happens, I understand). But the maintenance guy fixed the clog and just threw our towels down over the mess - no clean-up at all. We had to call maintenance again to have our door latch repaired, which they did in a timely manner. Before it wouldn't latch at all. Power went out for 2.5 hours one night (not their fault), but there was no system in place to explain what was going on and I received a short and hurried answer from the person at desk when I asked. The hot tub was closed down for a whole day (8am-6pm) of our stay. There was a screaming baby in the next room. We payed in advance, in full, but later received a call to pay another $4.50 for something the hotel couldn't even fully explain ("Taxes may have changed" they said). They should have eaten that out of customer courtesy. There was a fire evacuation while we were there. They do no breakfast and no snacks/drinks in the lobby. You do get some warm cookies at check-in, but never again. We tried to check in an hour early and couldn't. 4 o'clock check-in is too late IMO. What can I say? They could have done a few small things to make this a very nice stay. Instead I felt nickeled and dimed and constantly inconvenienced. Most likely won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rev_R_Squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and concerns about our property. We sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced and we are very grateful that you took the time to bring them to our attention. Management is on top of making sure we don't have problems like this again and we certainly hope you will give us another chance the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Not given room that was on reservation. Room smelled, air conditioner not working properly, metal sticking out from bottom of bed and ocean view room may not be a true ocean view some are side views overlooking rooftops.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2717 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing