We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here on a business trip in spring. The hotel was rather nice in the room space, quality, etc. Had an ocean view room and that was nice, able to see, hear and smell the ocean. Staff was a little aloof - not horrible, but not overly welcoming or friendly. What really is the selling point on this hotel though is the location itself - there is a boardwalk to the ocean right on the hotel property. Just lovely to be able to walk out and sit on the boardwalk/deck (There is a cute snack shop with seating area right there, though it wasn't open when I was at the property) and listen to the ocean. It wasn't super cheap, but met my expectations of what a DoubleTree should be and is definitely somewhere I would stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely try for OceanView!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We're pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    382
    259
    132
    65
See reviews for
496
412
51
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklinton, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Rooms were nice. Staff friendly. Wish they had a breakfast bar like other hotels do. For the cost you'd think they would. Very noisy air conditioning systems. Thought it was only mine until I asked the other group of 10 families that were staying with us also and they said theirs was the same. Didn't sleep very well because of it the first night. Second night I was so exhausted from not sleeping the night before I didn't notice the noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The property at this hotel is great, but the service is incredibly lacking - front desk, dining, etc. very disappointing. I would not spend the extra money again to stay here; not a good customer experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We apologize that you felt our customer service was lacking and we sincerely thank you for letting us know so we can take the time to better train our employees. We hope this will not keep you from giving us another chance the next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I came to this hotel for a work conference. The hotel was nice. The restaurants attached to it were okay in terms of food but price was too high and service was not that good. Overall the price was kind of high but the hotel was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The room and entire facility was very clean. The staff were courteous. I attended a conference in the meetings rooms and they were average. The food was also average. No complaints here, but not "wowed" either. It is right on the beach, but not every room has a "great" view of the ocean like the website says. My balcony was only about 2 ft. wide, not much to stand or sit out on and relax.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We're pleased to hear that for the most part you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we hope you'll come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is a joke and needs to get a clue. I think they are under the impression because their rooms are nice and clean, and located ocean front that they can have mediocre service- but that's not going to keep business coming back. First, the front desk staff has NO CLUE about their military special rates- although this hotel is within 30 mins both directions from military bases. Apparently I misread the description that states "includes breakfast for 2 adults & 2 children", but hey they can keep their free breakfast! The restaurant that serves the breakfast buffet was "understaffed" as we were told 5x's and waited 30 minutes for a table- while the place was empty (the tables were all just dirty!). Hey staff- fake it til you make it! I don't need to hear a sob story about how someone no-called no showed- get yourself out there and bus those tables! Didn't matter- the breakfast tasted like it was cooked, frozen and then reheated. Next morning we drove a few miles north to Bojangles- best $10 ever spent! =)
If you are just looking for a nice, clean hotel on the beach than this is it... but don't expect much else. If you'd like to pay half this rate just stay at their sister hotel a block away (but across the st)... the rooms are bigger.. but they have a beach access right across the street. =)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natbabyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know about that stay. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback and we assure you that it will be used to better our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A;tantic Beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our room was nice but we had dogs in the room next to us that barked when the owners were not there. Also the fan on the air conditioner was so loud the TV had to be turned up really loud. Also during the night it sounded like water dripping or something banging up above us. Workers were called but the problem was not solved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay and we urge you to contact the general manager directly if you wish to discuss them further, tom.bowen@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
720 reviews
2.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
262 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#4 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
192 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
599 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2717 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing