We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room not ready, unfriendly staff!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room not ready, unfriendly staff!!!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Arrived at hotel at 3:30pm, was told room is not ready &vthat check in is at 4pm. Oh and that king suites are the last to be cleaned. Was not happy but came back at 4:00 and room is still it ready. Staff not friendly or accommodating. Traveled 8 hours to get here, tired and just want yo check in and go see my son. It us now 4:50 and room is STILL not ready. Have never had this issue at other Hilton's, should have read the reviews first! Would have booked someplace else!!! This is totally not acceptable especially for the prices they charge! If hotels around here weren't sold out would go someplace else. NOT a good start to the weekend visiting my son who is in the Coast Guard.

Room Tip: Go someplace else! Is not your typical Hilton experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We sincerely apologize for you having to wait to check in to your room. Unfortunately when we are sold out it does take our housekeeping staff a little longer to clean rooms. We hope the rest of your stay went better and please feel free to reach out if you have any other concerns you would like to discuss, tom.bowen@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    363
    249
    120
    61
See reviews for
464
394
50
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

There was continual cluncking whenever the air-conditioning was off which really affected sleep. The safe door was locked so it couldn't be used. The freezer part of the frig was unusable because it was totally blocked with ice. Staff was friendly and nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts about our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I reserved a single room with two beds. The website instructed me to request a two room ocean front suite at check in. I was told at check in that I was given the upgrade. When I got to the room it was not the two room suite. I called the desk and was told there were no upgrades available; however I had been told by the website to ask, and told by the desk clerk that I had been given the upgrade. This is very frustrating. Arriving in the room, the toilet was running. Maintenance came quickly and fixed the flapper. After a morning walk, the room keys would not work. We went through three sets of cards before they worked again. During the day the air conditioner froze up and would not cool the room. At that point we gave up. While the maintenance staff was very friendly, I had had enough. I demanded a refund for the second night and left Atlantic Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We're sorry to hear that our desk did not give you the upgrade that you requested, we try our very hardest to observe all requests but sometimes are unable to do so. We appreciate your honest feedback of our hotel as it will help us to improve our service and hotel as whole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I reviewed the web site and it indicated that there had been a total renovation. The lobby and public areas were updated, but the rooms were 1960's We had no refrigerator or amenities. The coffee machine didn't work, the alarm was tripped and went off all over the hotel and the check out computer was down and the final bill was not correct as they charged a higher room rate than quoted. Access to the beach was very inconvenient and there was a $25 daily charge for beach umbrella and chairs-do not go there. We came home a day early. The front desk staff was inadequate and did not know what they were doing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank georgiaj459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We apologize for the front desk issues and assure you that we are actively working to resolve these problems. We're sincerely apologetic that your stay was less than perfect and we hope you'll choose to give us another chance the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Atlantic Beach DoubleTree charges Hilton rates, but has yet to reach the hospitality standards expected by guests who travel more than for a family beach vacation. The location is wonderful, and the facility certainly has the potential to deliver if the management can solve the AC noise issue and hire/train more employees like: Lauren, Roger, Morgan, and Arianna, four stellar staff members out of a dozen employees I came in contact with more than once over a three-night stay. Choosing this hotel as the hotel recommended for my daughter's wedding guests was, in hindsight, perhaps, not the best choice. FYI, get anything they say "in the contract" per the Director of Sales advice (AFTER the fact) because otherwise what one is told will not be honored (Really? If a representative of a hotel says something, why would one not believe it unless it were in writing?). Apparently, there's been quite the turnover in staff, and they are currently "hiring for all positions." Perhaps the hotel will be able to realize their potential in the future. They certainly have the location and the facility for success, but need more employees trained in exceeding (or even meeting) guest expectations and need to solve the AC noise issue. It would be one thing if the noise had only been an issue for our room, but a number of our guests had the same sleep challenge and received a variety of excuses and "explanations" for the noise. Unfortunately, free warm cookies do not make up for simple courtesy and a willingness to help solve guest problems. Or, for that matter, a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
5 Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We sincerely apologize for the air conditioner noises that you experienced. We are aware of the issue and are in the process of getting this taken care of. We appreciate you taking the time to name some of our staff so we can recognize them for their job well done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel was just okay. Honestly, I expcted more for $280 a night. The inside pool felt a little gross and dirty. Our room was not ready when we arrived which was a little early, but it still wasn't ready until 30 minutes after it was supposed to be and we had to "take what they had" because there were no other rooms ready. The a/c in our room ran so loud all night that it kept me up. I wouldn't stay there again for that price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We appreciate your honest feedback and we urge you to reach out to the general manager, tom.bowen@hilton.com, if you would like to discuss your stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family of 3 spent 3 nights at this Hilton property. We are Diamond Hilton Honors members, so are very familiar with Hilton properties and travel frequently. Usually we prefer Doubletrees, because of the service and the amenities. This property did not fall into the usual level of a Doubletree. The positives: 1. the location. It is oceanfront, with a pier and beach access. There is a casual restaurant next to the pool/pier, ample parking, indoor and outdoor pools. 2. Our room, with 2 double beds, was fairly large for a Doubletree. 3. Our rooms were clean, and cleaned promptly. That is about it for the positives. The balcony was minute, & unusable. There was not room for even one chair, so there were no chairs or furniture on the balcony. THERE WAS NO COFFEE. No coffee at all in the lobby or available for guests, except in the restaurant (I don't count the nasty coffeemaker in the room). For a Hilton property, that is just unusual and unacceptable at this price point. Two out of three mornings the restaurant was not open for breakfast at the appointed time. We had to alert the front desk, who were nonchalant about it. One waiter actually seated us in the lounge area of the restaurant, and said that his fellow staff would be angry with him if he seated us until they were ready for us. Then we were promptly ignored. We overheard the kitchen and waitstaff arguing loudly. There were food service trays in the hallway from dinner the evening before until 9 a.m. in the morning - unsightly and unsanitary. Management was either missing or incompetent. We were disappointed in the level of service at this location. We would not stay here again - too many other choices at this price point. I would not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sondwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We assure you that we do not tolerate the issues that you were faced with during your recent stay and management has been made aware. If you wish to discuss these matters further please reach out to the general manager, tom.bowen@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2717 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing