We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel did not have nighttime shades on the windows and the AC unit is loud. When we arrived, the floor had not been cleaned and we had to get housekeeping to return to vacuum the floor. Also, there was someone's dirty socks in the bathroom. Also, the indoor pool was not being secured to prevent non-guests from swimming in the pool. Overall, the hotel has guests based solely on location and less so on hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced and we assure you these have been addressed. We hope the rest of your stay was better and that you'll come back to visit us again the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

After reading the reviews, I was a little worried. But for us the hotel was great. We arrived at 2:00 pm on July 14th and were able to check in immediately. Our room was on the eighth floor and offered a great view of the ocean. Luckily we had no problems with the A/C (which we had a year earlier). The staff was friendly, gave us our warm cookies and towel tokens and wished us a good stay. We had drinks and burgers at Molly's restaurant (on the pier). The prices seemed okay to me for the beach ($8.50 for a cheeseburger and fries and $8.00 for a frozen daiquiri - my wife loved both the strawberry and banana). I was disappointed to see they no longer offered free beach chairs and umbrellas but they were available for $25 (2 chairs and an umbrella) a day. It seems people pay a wide range of rates to stay. For us, it was $132 a night for two queen beds at the AAA rate. Considering they dropped the "Resort Fee" of the previous Sheraton hotel, that price seemed reasonable. But I have never understood why they charge more for a single King-sized bed.

We didn't eat in the restaurant which seemed to have few people coming or going. The Surfari restaurant across the street was pretty good and had a pretty steady stream of customers.

To me the big plus of the DoubleTree is being able to walk out a few feet and be on the gorgeous sands of Atlantic Beach. A wide beach, great water and not too crowded.

The Atlantic Beach/ Morehead City/ Beaufort area is not as vibrant as years past for reasons that may have to do with the economy. But the people are still nice and the beach still retains its ever-changing beauty.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pszychojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a very poor experience. First, we arrived a little before 4pm and were told our room wasn't ready and were not able to check in until after 430. Secondly, our 'Ocean View' room was hardly that. We had a view of a wall, a roof, a courtyard and if you stood on your tiptoes you could glimpse the ocean. Our sliding door to the 'patio' was rusted shut and the handle broke off when we tried to shut it. The air-conditioning cut on and off all night and was excessively loud. We hardly slept the entire time we were there. When we woke up and made coffee, there was no creamer in the room. When I called down to the desk they said they had creamer in the lobby but I needed to come downstairs to get it. The room was VERY basic and the facility as a whole seemed dirty and musty. Overall I would say our experience was very poor at best. I will not be returning, will not be recommending this facility and will not be staying at a Double Tree again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
5  Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and we do urge you to reach out to management if you wish to discuss these matters further, Rolando.Hernandez3@hilton.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Let's see where to begin?? Don't stay in room 906!! The balcony railing was not even attached to the building!!! Someone could fall to their death!! Water damage on the ceiling... 3 puddy holes in the wall beside the bed... Last but not least caulking around the tub... Changed us to room 916 was told it was cleaned and ready... Walked into bathroom, bathtub had a long black hair in it and the toilet had not been cleaned!!! We were informed by front desk staff that the hotel sat in foreclosure for 2 years before Doubletree bought it and remodeled it... Something's the guest just don't need to know upon checking in... Needless to say the quality or lack there of ruined our vacation and we would never stay there again!!! Don't waste your money!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RhondaHagins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

First we want to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. We are currently undergoing some management changes and are working towards improving our hotel in every department. We assure you these issues are not tolerated and we appreciate you for informing us. Again we thank you for staying with us and we hope you'll give us another shot the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Upon check-in we discovered our king room did not have a chair and ottoman. The front desk took care of placing the missing furniture in our room by the time we returned from dinner. Our room had a mini-refrigerator which was nice since we stayed for 4 nights. The bathroom was extremely small and so was the balcony, which did not have any chairs. The Air Conditioning was so loud, we had to turn the volume up on the TV to hear it. The breakfast buffet was average, they served the same items every morning and the staff pushed the buffet over ordering from the menu (and the hostess never seated us with a menu, which was odd). The breakfast servers were not consistent with customer service. One morning we asked a waiter for a bottle of ketchup and he told us he had to clear a table first, then he would get it for us. Needless to say, we walked across the dining room and got our own ketchup. The beach staff (chair & umbrella set up guys and waitresses) were the most customer service oriented staff at the hotel. Morgan, our waitress, truly took care of us making sure we had drinks and food throughout the day. The location of the hotel is excellent, on the ocean and close to Morehead City and Beaufort. I would recommend staying here for the location, however don't expect a high end Double Tree experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought about our hotel. We value your opinion and appreciate you being so candid with us. We'll be sure to recognize Morgan for taking the time to provide such great customer service and we certainly hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

overall the hotel stay was awesome but the way charges is done is aweful. I stayed july 7-9 and was charged a hold fee on 363.00. when we checked out the 50.00 fee was dropped and we were charged 313.00. Today is the 15th and i still have a hold on my account for another 313.00 they is still on hold. so right now my account has been taken for 626.00. I have called the hotel two times and the bank has called once and the hold still has not been released. I have never stayed at a hotel that has ever done this before. This will keep me from staying here again even though the hotel and staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We're sincerely sorry to hear about the billing issues you experienced during your recent stay. We assure you this is not normal but we have recently hired some new front desk agents which could have resulted in the mistake. Again we apologize for this issue and we certainly hope you will give us another try the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had planned this vacation almost six months prior to our arrival because of the discounted rate on the rooms. Basically the rooms were $66 per night with the option to upgrade to an oceanfront two room suite upon arrival (based on availability).... We had read many other reviews that discussed the loud A/C units and were aware the hotel would not be perfect..... However... With that said here is what happened to us.... Check In time is 4 pm - We could not check in until 5:30 pm - We were expected to sit and wait. Our room along with many others had a moldy, musky odor. The A/C units are incredibly LOUD! The sliding glass door seals are apparently gone... the wind was whistling past the door and moving the curtains. The sound from the wind blowing through the door was battling against the noise the air conditioner made. We did not have hot water for most of one day. There were several cockroaches crawling on the shower walls. There was one coffee cup in a two cup coffee maker & my personal favorite.... the option for the two room oceanfront suite wasn't offered and when I asked, I was told they were "full". I found out from two different hotel staff members that they were NOT full! I guess they didn't want someone filling one of the rooms that was paying a discounted rate.... etc., etc. Needless to say we checked out early! I'm so glad we didn't pay full price for this hotel! On the up side.... their beds are comfortable and the staff were helpful when you asked for something. GOOD LUCK if you decide to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. We appreciate you letting us know about the issues in your room so our staff can fix them for the next guest. We apologize that the upgrade was not available, we do understand that this is frustrating and we hope this will not keep you from visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
789 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
444 reviews
2.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
664 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
225 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Address: 2717 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: £67 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing