We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Reviewed 22 July 2014

No matter which room you get, as long as you are above the first floor, you get great ocean views... Great place to stay and enjoy the beach. Not a lot of things to do around the town (mini golf near by is top notch) but that was the whole point - we as a family just wanted to enjoy the beach and not be distracted by other things.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Ho R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We hope you and your family will come back to visit us again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed overnight for a short business trip to the area. Found the hotel very clean, did not have to wait for a room, staff was wonderful. Was concerned when reading other reviews about loud a/c units for other guests but this was not the case with me. Would definitely return again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We're glad to hear you chose to stay with us despite what you've heard and we look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Atlantic Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is just ok. Not great. On the plus side, beach is right there as is the pier. Off site restaurants are within walking distance.

Negatives....
Housekeeping is inconsistent, mostly not so great. Floors rarely vacuumed, beds made up sloppily and sheets not changed very often, towels and mats are often shorted, trash is not taken out everyday. Waited until nearly 5pm one day for it to get cleaned, and I declined a full cleaning just towels and trash because my toddler was sleeping.

Our balcony was ridiculously small and we wouldn't let our child go on it for fear of her slipping through the railing.

No microwave in room and we had to request a fridge. No guest laundry, only a very pensive laundry service that we chose not to use.

Way too many unsupervised children running around the hotel, playground, and pool.

Haven't eaten at Molly's but have heard it's just ok. Prime 1079 was expensive and not good. My husband had shrimp and grits. His few shrimp were ok, but he was served a HUGE portion of grits that were awful. I had chicken cordon bleu, which was so-so, kind of greasy and not much flavor. Our toddler had Mac and cheese and wouldn't eat it after the first bite. Hubby and I tasted it. The Mac and cheese was merely covered in canned nacho cheese sauce. Disgusting. Way too expensive for what we got. Service was slow and there was only our family and one other couple in at the time. We won't be going back to eat there.

$25 a day to rent two chairs and an umbrella for a day on the beach. Seems a bit steep. We were told to pick any empty seat, but when we did were told oh but not that one...it's reserved. Really? No sign or anything saying so. Ridiculous.

I probably won't stay here again unless positive changes are made. Sad really because this hotel has the potential to be really great.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. We are sincerely sorry about the issues that you and your family encountered during your stay but we thank you for letting us know so that we can take the time to fix these issues. We value your opinion and assure you that your recommendations will be used.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was in Atlantic Beach for a one nights stay. It was warm & friendly. My Rm was clean & comfortable. A reliable place to stay. Great location. Best of all...there were No surprises & that's good. So was the cookie!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 480arleneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Other than being right on the beach, it was a terrible experience. Stuffy dingy and poorly decorated room (we had a suite) Paying 200+ per night did not make any difference, it was awful. The room was noisy, not just from the thin walls. I heard the neighbors TV clear as day well into the night. But the AC was so noisy I had to shut it off. We also encountered fleas in our room, in the living area on the couch and one night we felt them in the bed...The toilet and tub and shower tiles all had mold. The spa tub was re-caulked outside at the floor, but not well as that part of the tub separated. The Hotel is supposedly non-smoking…there was so much smoking at the pool I could not let my son swim there ...and also outside every door. There was literally blaring music from the hotel speakers at the pool, you could not have a conversation. They also charge 25.00 to rent lounge chairs and umbrellas…I could go on, but I think I just want to put this whole trip behind me. We saved our money to go away after my husband’s Dr. said he needed a vacation…so we splurged…what a waste..Hilton brand not as good a hotel as it used to be.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Nicole K. I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know about your stay. We are very sorry to hear that you were less than pleased with your recent stay but we greatly appreciate your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I brought my family here for a 3 night getaway. Check-in was 2 hours late because rooms weren't clean, once available the room was dirty. Hotel staff were generally friendly, but overall the hotel felt run down and with a lot of deferred maintenance beyond the decorative upgrades Hilton has made. Definitely does not feel like a DoubleTree that i'm normally accustomed to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We're sorry to hear about the issues at check-in and we assure you that we are working quickly to get this problem fixed. Thank you for staying with us and we hope the rest of your trip went smoothly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel did not have rooms available in time. In fact the lobby was full of people waiting for rooms at 4pm. Our family needed to get to a wedding and though we made it, felt very rushed. Hotel was overall not clean and we were very disappointed. Staff indicated management did not properly man hotel for busy times.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We're very sorry to hear about the delay at check-in, this is something that we are working very hard to get fixed. We recently went a change in management and hope all of these issues will be soon resolved. We apologize for the issues you encountered but we do hope the rest of your weekend went better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
753 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
421 reviews
2.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
203 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
633 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront

Address: 2717 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: £77 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing