We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really clean, very comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sand Dollar Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My three daughters and I stayed for four days here in the efficiency apartment. There was a separate bedroom with two double beds, and the living room/kitchen had a couch and a double bed. It was close to the beach, quiet, and CLEAN. I have a roach phobia, so 'no bugs' is a big deal to me. I felt confidant that it was so clean that no bug would ever dare - even at the beach. The room is a little dark because of one window, but that's not a big deal. The owners are always there and were happy to exchange our can opener and toaster when we had some minor problem with them. I would recommend this place. Great A/C, cable, reliable wifi, great place to park (right in front).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
We really enjoyed have you and the girls stay with us.
Also thanks for letting us telling us about the can opener and toaster!
Hope you come visit with us again.
Great Guest!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed there twice in the apartment. Both times very very pleased. Great price for the room, excellent AC, always incredibly clean and NO BUGS anywhere like most places at the beach, trust me, my mother looks. The apartment has full kitchen amenities with a smaller type stove, microwave, full-size refrigerator, full size coffee maker, 2 pc. toaster,a full size sink, and a table, small couch. The kitchen is stocked with dishes, silverware, pots, pans, etc. One level, no stairs to walk up, 2 full size beds in the back room, a dresser with the ac which cools the entire place and one bed in the main area with the kitchen, a small sofa, kitchen table, a wonderful large walk-in shower. About 1 1/2 block walk to the ocean with public access that has a public restroom, a gazebo, with a few parking spaces. The owners have been nice and accommodating both times and keep the place in great shape. It is a older, small inn/motel and we hated to leave. For families on a budget who don't need the high rise hotels with the crappy continental breakfast for 3 times the price --this is the place.

Room Tip: 3 bed apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Thanks you so much for the PERFECT review.
We really enjoyed having you stay with us.
I also enjoyed our conversation!
Hope to see you next year.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

the best deal & very nice owners Sam & Trisa,the motel is older, but looks new,very very clean,nice rooms,apartments have 2 rooms,living room & bedroom,&kitchen,will always stay here,Sam didnt have basic room,so whe got the apartment for same price,thanks Sam.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
We really enjoyed having you stay with us and getting to know you.
Hope to see you soon. So wonderful to have guest like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Visited with wife. We were referred by family and I was a little skeptical at first, but the motel is clean and well-managed. This is a family-oriented area and loud parties will be challenged. The owners, Tricia and Sam are good folks, very friendly and helpful. The beach is within walking distance...only a block or so from your front door. The rooms are pretty much motel size, and the rates are reasonable, not for the Taj Mahal. There are only a couple of things to mess up a visit...bad weather and the fish not biting. Otherwise, you'll have a good time here and, if you don't, it's your own fault.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prosearchco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Manager at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thanks for your very nice review. Hope to see you again and I have the fish will be biting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Do not understand the reviews about this motel. We visited this motel in march. Very nice and clean. The people that own it are very friendly and really look out for their guest. They are very helpful in telling of things to do. It is very reasonable and all on one floor which makes it nice not having to climb stairs, like a lot of places. We will difinitely be going back again before the season is over.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you so much for the nice review .
Also thanks for pointing our that there are no steps to climb to get to your room,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

It is a nice motel, close to the beach and not expensive but... rooms are small, ac made A LOT of noise, room was a little 'moldy' and service was not very friendly. It is ok, but can find better accomodation near by which are not much more expensive. Sorry, but I do not think we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smadar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

I apologize to this guest for having a disappointing stay with us.
I do wish that this guest had come to us and let us know that the ac was loud, and they thought the room was moldy I can assure you there is not mold in any of our rooms. We do have a lot of humidity in the summer and a lot of people keep it so cold in the rooms. We do have central ac so I am not sure why you would even need the unit. . We would have been glad move this guest to another room since they where unhappy. We want everyone to have a wonderful stay with us. I wish that people would realize that we want them to come to us and tell us if there is a problem, especially if it has something to do with maintenance on the room so that it can be fix.
I do wonder why this person waited 10 MONTHS to write a review on there stay.
We want everyone to have a wonderful stay with us and come back. So please come tell us if there is any problems so we can address them. We are one of the last small Mom and Pop motels left on this beach and we would like to try to stay in business as long as we can for people that want a clean, affordable family place to stay.
Again I am sorry for this guest having a disappointing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

first off there is only one ac/heater and it is in the back room! really sucks for the people who are sleeping in the front room. ac outlets are not placed well for use near the beds. toilet paper roll is behind you instead of in front or to the side. i had recent shoulder surgery which made reaching the roll difficult. also the bowl was shallow so when i tried to wipe i found my hand in the water! the bed was rock hard. other than that it was ok. I wont be wasting anymore of my money here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ajdebats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

First I am sorry we could not please this person the motel was built in 60's no one has complained before.
Note the statement he made about the toilet bowl you will understand what kind of individual we where dealing with.
We just can not please everyone but we do our best to try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
7.6 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
449 reviews
1.7 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
273 reviews
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
798 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
236 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sand Dollar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sand Dollar Motel

Address: 101 Henderson Blvd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-7465
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: £38 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sand Dollar Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sand Dollar Motel is a small family owned motel.We are on the beach side with a short walk to the beach.Quiet and safe area. Mile and half to main intersection of Atlantic Beach. We have regular rooms with 1 or 2 double beds.All rooms have a small fridge and coffee maker. We also have apartments with full kitchens, separate bedroom. Great for families. We try our very best to make our guest comfortable and enjoy their stay with us. We have clean and affordable rooms with a family atmosphere. Sorry no pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Sand Dollar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sand Dollar Hotel Atlantic Beach
Sand Dollar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing