We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend getaway, great place and a great price !”

The Sand Dollar Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sand Dollar Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend getaway, great place and a great price !”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at the Sand Dollar in Atlantic Beach for the weekend, and were pleasantly surprised at what a great place it is. The owners were friendly, and very accommodating. We stayed in room #7, and it was a clean and cozy place.The room was nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable, loved the ceiling fan, and remote controlled A/C. The motel has cable TV, nice to be able to restart shows we missed while out during the day. I thought the beds were comfortable, loved the tile shower and the peace and quiet at the motel. We were very impressed and plan to return to the Sand Dollar again soon. Thanks for a great stay !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thanks you so much for the VERY nice review. We will appreciate it.
We are so glad that you had a nice stay. That is always our goal with all our guest.
With the stress of daily life we want everyone that stays one us to have a relaxing vacation.

We hope to see you again soon.
Thanks again.
Tricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    11
    2
    6
    9
See reviews for
35
28
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I came down from NH on local business for a couple of days in mid September and the area
was great, a bit mellow this time of year but the hotel is fine. A short walk to the beach, local
amenities, food, bars, etc, all a short drive away(try Jack's in Beaufort)! The accommodations
are simple but clean and affordable, that's the whole point. The Liptrap's are fine hosts and
for those of you who fish, you came to the right place, bring a boat you can launch at the
Marina across the street.....

Room Tip: They're all pretty much the same from what I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungrypr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thanks for the nice review and for choosing us to stay with during your visit.
We enjoyed our conversations with you!
We hope you will come back to stay with us.
Thanks again and Sept is a great time to visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stay a the Sand Dollar at least one a year, and we're never disappointed! The rooms are clean, the owners are lovely people who are always there to help, the rates are reasonable, and it's close to the beach! Atlantic Beach is just a real gem; the atmosphere is very relaxed, and we always feel at home. In fact, if I could pick anywhere else in the world to be right at this very moment, it would probably be the Sand Dollar. It really is my home away from home!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for the nice review.
We as always enjoyed having you stay with us and being a loyal guest.
Our goal is to always give our guest a clean affordable place to stay.
Thanks so much for staying with us, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have stayed here for a number of years now. Sometimes just my girls and I go, sometimes one of them brings a friend. My niece came and joined us part way through the week another year. I have never had a single regret about coming here, other than having to leave to head home! This year, we had our meals all planned out and midway through shopping for our groceries, we changed one meal out for another. I didn't even consider that I needed a bit of flour to make the new dish, and didn't buy any. We figured it out on the day we were making the dish, and asked Patricia if we could have 2 tablespoons of flour... she was so kind and brought back a bowl of flour! Where else are you going to find such hospitality? (She's even offered to have more flour for us next year!!) This is one of the few places that used to line this road, but I'm so glad they are still around, and we look forward to visiting them for many more years to come. We are always treated well and enjoy conversation each day as we see the owners taking care of the place. Checkout day is the only day I have ever not liked there! :)
Always plenty of fresh towels, kitchen is well-stocked, parking is great, and location is fantastic. But the owners make it all that it is and we come back for them as much as the place.
Hope to be back in 2013!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for being such a loyal guest.
We always enjoy you and the family. I love talking to our guest and getting to know them.
They become family.
I could not let the girls go without their Mom's mac and cheese!!!!
Hope to see you next year, at you home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Sand Dollar this past week and really enjoyed every second. The owners were very friendly and courteous and made us feel very welcome. The efficiency apartments are more than enough room for 2 people and are stocked with all the home amenities you'd possibly need on a vacation, especially kitchenware. The rooms are cool/comfortable, quiet, and more importantly very clean, just like most of the reviews on here mention. The bathrooms were also very clean.

Their 5 night special is a great deal compared to most other weekly rates we came across given that it's about a 5 minute walk to the beach (or 10 second drive). They don't do daily house keeping, which was perfectly okay with us and we could appreciate they were making a conscious effort to conserve water.The mattresses are pretty firm but that really is a matter of personal preference. The posted signs are a little off putting but are always necessary for some people.The only suggestions we could even think to make were to possibly have a separate recycling container for the rooms and maybe install energy efficient bulbs?


We'd certainly come back here again, and would recommend it to anyone. At the last second we decided to stay one extra night in AB at another motel right down the street and were not NEARLY as impressed/satisfied as we were with the Sand Dollar.This place really made our vacation, thank ya'll very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for the nice very nice review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed you stay at our little beach and at the Sand Dollar.
We also thank for your suggestions! They are always welcome.
We hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I had never been to the Atlantic Beach
area and decided to stay at the Sand Dollar Motel.
Our decision was based on cost, location and room.
We wanted a room to cook a few meals in and was
close to a beach access. I dive and usually stay by
a dive shop but there isn't any near the beach. It
was a short drive back to who I went out with. The
beach was a 5 min walk from the motel and it was
a crystal coast beauty complete with a children's
play area, gazebo, restrooms and sand rinse off.

As it turns out we made a very good choice. The
kitchenette room #3 was just what we wanted. The
room was good size and very clean. The cupboards
were well stocked and neatly organized. The owners
live on site and take care of everything. I'm sure this
helps keep it nice and quiet like it was for us. My wife
mentioned more than once the owners take pride in
their motel and it shows.

We took advantage of the Sunday -Thursday 5 night
special and found it hard to leave. We extended our
stay 2 more nights. If you wanted to dine out there are
good places near by too.

This quote is from the Sand Dollar website.

"Plan a visit to the North Carolina's Crystal Coast. You will
see why people are lured by the natural beauty, climate and
friendliness of this small piece of North Carolina heaven"

We found this to be very true and not just advertising.
From the owners Patricia and Sam to everyone we met
and everything we did, it couldn't be said better.

Thanks for the great visit! If we are back in that area of
North Carolina coast we will be staying again at the Sand
Dollar Motel.

Room Tip: Kitchenette room #3 worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom - Carla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you some much for the nice review.
It was such a pleasure having you stay with us. We are always happy when our guest enjoy there stay. That is our goal for everyone that comes to stay with us.
Hope that you will get to come back and enjoy our small piece of heaven!
I have room 3 ready for you!
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The perfect no frills place to stay at the beach. Extremely clean room/bathroom and nice owners. Short walk to public beach access and it's not crowded. I've stayed at more expensive places and not had as good a stay and at the beach for a few days this was perfect. Rooms are small but there is a refrigerator and some units have kitchenettes.

Room Tip: If you just want a place to sleep near the beach this is it. Nice and quiet and not a far walk; how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisab1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review.
We are glad you had a nice stay with us, and please come back for a visit.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
1.7 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
#5 of 5 in Morehead City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sand Dollar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sand Dollar Motel

Property: The Sand Dollar Motel
Address: 101 Henderson Blvd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-7465
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sand Dollar Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sand Dollar Motel is a small family owned motel.We are on the beach side with a short walk to the beach.Quiet and safe area. Mile and half to main intersection of Atlantic Beach. We have regular rooms with 1 or 2 double beds.All rooms have a small fridge and coffee maker. We also have apartments with full kitchens, separate bedroom. Great for families. We try our very best to make our guest comfortable and enjoy their stay with us. We have clean and affordable rooms with a family atmosphere. Sorry no pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Sand Dollar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sand Dollar Hotel Atlantic Beach
Sand Dollar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing