We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations...friendly, helpful owners. Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sand Dollar Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What can I say...this place is convenient, clean, affordable, and is managed by friendly, helpful owners. Compared to a lot of places at the beach, the Sand Dollar will not break your wallet. The room was spotless, and contained all the essentials needed for a comfortable stay.

The neighborhood is quiet, without an over-abundance of road or foot traffic. Restaurants and stores are just a short distance from the motel. Sam was very helpful in pointing out a couple good spots to fish...and they didn't disappoint. Thanks! I will be back to enjoy the great things the Sand Dollar offers the visitor in this great coastal area of North Carolina.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheCosmicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It put a smile on our face.
So glad you had good luck at the fishing spot.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks again, your review means a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

The best price/value relationship in the area just got better if you own a boat or jet ski. Rooms
are always clean but the SSS Marina across the street is perfect, affordable, too, and inviting
for a small boat or PWC. Going out later, call the Atlantic Beach Taxi for a cheap, round trip to
and from the small, local bar scene. Sam does a great job with simple, efficient service and runs
a great ship. Booked year three while still there, you even have a hose for flushing the boat and/
or tidying up after the beach, great job guys......

Paul

Room Tip: Visit between Labor and Columbus Day, bar none, the best time of the year to come. Water is still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungrypr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks Paul for the great review.
As always we enjoy having you and look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you're looking for a great place to stay at a very, very reasonable price, then stay here! The Sand Dollar Motel is one of those "gems" you find and once you find it, you'll be coming back again and again. Sam told me he and his wife Trish have owned this place for about 10 yrs. and you can tell they really take pride in their motel. I just love the way they've fixed up the rooms and you won't find anywhere cleaner than here. It's not "The Hilton" by any means, and if that's what you're expecting, then get ready to shell out $200+/night and mosey on down the road. But I can tell you this....If you're looking for a clean, comfortable room to stay in while you're at the beach, that won't break the bank, then give Sam a call. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Junior E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you some much positive review. We appreciate your loyalty by always staying with us when you come to the beach. It makes us feel good when our guest are satisfied, that is our goal!
Look forward to see you again.
Thank you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just got home from Atlantic Beach, NC. Owners - Trish and Sam - are the best. It is always nice to be able to ask for information about restaurants, fishing etc. and get an answer that you can depend on. This motel is immaculate - can't wait to return. This is the place I would love to runaway to!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1busylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
I glad the you got to do some golfing and shopping.
We really enjoyed having you and the Adkins stay with us.
It was a really pleasure meeting you both.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here this past weekend with my boyfriend. We were thoroughly pleased. No complaints. Everything was smooth upon check in. Tricia even stopped by once during our 3 night stay to see if we needed more towels. It's SUPER affordable and while it is not the ritz you are not paying ritz price. Better than what we expected. And like every reviewer mentioned, this place is clean clean clean! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review. So glad that you had a nice time.
Your are right we are not the Ritz but we are clean and try very hard to please our guest.
Hope to see you soon again!
Thanks for staying with us.
Tricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at the Sand Dollar in Atlantic Beach for the weekend, and were pleasantly surprised at what a great place it is. The owners were friendly, and very accommodating. We stayed in room #7, and it was a clean and cozy place.The room was nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable, loved the ceiling fan, and remote controlled A/C. The motel has cable TV, nice to be able to restart shows we missed while out during the day. I thought the beds were comfortable, loved the tile shower and the peace and quiet at the motel. We were very impressed and plan to return to the Sand Dollar again soon. Thanks for a great stay !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thanks you so much for the VERY nice review. We will appreciate it.
We are so glad that you had a nice stay. That is always our goal with all our guest.
With the stress of daily life we want everyone that stays one us to have a relaxing vacation.

We hope to see you again soon.
Thanks again.
Tricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I came down from NH on local business for a couple of days in mid September and the area
was great, a bit mellow this time of year but the hotel is fine. A short walk to the beach, local
amenities, food, bars, etc, all a short drive away(try Jack's in Beaufort)! The accommodations
are simple but clean and affordable, that's the whole point. The Liptrap's are fine hosts and
for those of you who fish, you came to the right place, bring a boat you can launch at the
Marina across the street.....

Room Tip: They're all pretty much the same from what I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungrypr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanddollar2006, Owner at The Sand Dollar Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Thanks for the nice review and for choosing us to stay with during your visit.
We enjoyed our conversations with you!
We hope you will come back to stay with us.
Thanks again and Sept is a great time to visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
7.6 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
444 reviews
1.7 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
789 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
35 reviews
3.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
#5 of 5 in Morehead City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sand Dollar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sand Dollar Motel

Address: 101 Henderson Blvd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-7465
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: £38 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sand Dollar Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sand Dollar Motel is a small family owned motel.We are on the beach side with a short walk to the beach.Quiet and safe area. Mile and half to main intersection of Atlantic Beach. We have regular rooms with 1 or 2 double beds.All rooms have a small fridge and coffee maker. We also have apartments with full kitchens, separate bedroom. Great for families. We try our very best to make our guest comfortable and enjoy their stay with us. We have clean and affordable rooms with a family atmosphere. Sorry no pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sand Dollar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sand Dollar Hotel Atlantic Beach
Sand Dollar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing