We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and honest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Island Inn was everything it said it would be. One of the few internet photos honest motels in Atlantic Beach. Clean, nice service personnel, rooms cleaned early, plenty of parking. Positive spin on you get what you pay for. Pet friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cochrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I had guest in from out of town for the 4th of July weekend. They wanted to spend a day at the beach. We checked in around 4pm, and I explained ( as I had on the phone ) that we would be leaving later that night and just needed a place to get out of the sun for a while and shower afterwards. We put our things in the room, rested a bit and left to go back to the beach. Around 8:30pm, no sooner than we pull up and get out of the car, the office calls. We were right across from the office so I went in. The lady at the desk tells me that only 3 people can stay in that size room. I had explained to her just 4 hours ago that we were leaving that night! I even asked her the check-out procedure, and she told me to just leave that pass keys in the room, so it's not like she didn't know we were leaving. I felt like we were being hassled.
During the summer, my spouse and I go to Morehead one weekend out of the month. That was my first and last time staying at Island Inn.

Room Tip: Hotel was good, staff...not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janita G, General Manager at Island Inn of Atlantic Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We appreciate feedback from all of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. For the safety of you and our guests we do have a limitation to the number of people you can have in each room type. We do this not only for safety reasons but for the comfort of surrounding guests as well. I can assure you that the young lady who called you was not trying to harass you, but simply making you aware of a hotel policy. Our staff must be mindful of visitors of our guests due to parking. We make every effort to ensure all of our guests have FREE parking and that they can park in front of or close by their specific rooms. This is one of the many benefits in staying at our property. I really appreciate you being our guest and hope you reconsider staying with us again. Please accept my apology for any confusion and accept a 10% coupon on your next stay from me personally. Have a great week and we hope that you will be our guest soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Super friendly staff makes all the difference. This place is very clean and comfortable. And the best thing is the location and affordability. The rooms are a little small but perfect for a stay at the beach. All rooms have fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TwoDocs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My family and I came down to the Atlantic Beach area and needed to find a place to stay in a pinch. We booked a room at the Island Inn for three nights. Once we arrived, we were so impressed with the facility that we immediately booked an extra two nights! You can't beat the location, and the staff are absolutely wonderful. Thank you for a making our vacation so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julieanne0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my bestfriend. Overall it was a great place; staff was kind and very helpful. The location was the only problem but only because we were wanting something right on the beach, not right off the road. I would stay here again with no problem though.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryxElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Was a very nice place to stay. Enjoyed our time there. Rooms were wonderful.The staff was very helpful and friendly. Everything was very clean. We can not wait to come back and stay again.
Peggy and Carl Newton

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I travelled to Atlantic Beach with my 11 year old niece to tour Ft. Macon, see the aquarium and go shell collecting. We were not disappointed in any way with the trip plan and pleasantly surprised by the great place the Island Inn was to stay. Someone had a super idea to turn the former "motor lodge" into a quaint Caribbean inn. The room finishes were just enough to say "quaint" without going overboard. It was clean and just perfect. I loved being able to park in front of my room and not having to haul luggage up and down stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
761 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#8 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
35 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#6 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn of Atlantic Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn of Atlantic Beach

Address: 215 W Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: £47 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Inn of Atlantic Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Island Inn of Atlantic Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Inn Of Atlantic Beach Hotel Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing