We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Sandpiper Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My wife and I were going to Moorehead City to visit a sick friend and we had never been to Atlantic Beach..our friend's husband checked out several motels and Sandpiper was the friendliest..even offering us a discount because we were coming their on a mission, so to speak. When we got there, they were so kind to us and gave us a really good deal on a little single bed room. It has ALL the basics..bed, table and chair, fridge and cable...bathroom was clean and water was good and hot..air conditioner was great.bed was comfortable,too and we slept good!.its a basic motel room for people who come to relax and then hit the beach...which we STILL got to do although we were visiting. We stayed for two days and on the second morning the cleaning lady promptly changed our towels and asked us if we needed anything . Upon leaving at check out, the couple that ran it was so nice and friendly and offered us a good summertime rate when we come back..WHICH WE WILL! (by the way, they have a nice pool as well)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

It was the only motel with a room and it was dirty and small and when we checked in she charged us $70.00 and when we checked out she was going to charge us $70.00 again!!! they cheat you out of your money and have very bad rooms!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cathalenaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

It was better than expected. The staff was great. The room was clean & comfortable. VERY family friendly. We have stayed several places at Atlantic Beach, but now we have found our home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobbyaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

The only nice thing i have to say about the Sandpiper Motel is that the staff were very friendly and helpful and the pool was nice. The room was horrible. There was an odor as soon as we opened the door. We had to continuously burn incense, The bathroom was as clean as it could possibly be considering that is an old run down place. The toilet seat was cracked which made for a very unpleasant experience. I was afraid to get in the shower because the lighting was not good and it was dark in there. The water did not even spray out . It just trickled out. We decided to stay there because we couldn't find any other vacancies. We were there for only one night. I wouldn't want to stay there again. The next time we visit Atlantic Beach, we'll make reservations.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nedaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

There were 5 in our party that stayed at this property. This is a VERY friendly, family oriented motel. The rooms were VERY clean, comfortable and the beds slept well. The pool area was exceptionally clean and secure. We were able to hold a business meeting at the pool with power for laptops on picnic tables and watch our children play.

WE DID NOT experience the drunks or rude people at this property as stated in the previous review. Atlantic Beach is a very sleepy fishing town that stays booked during the summer season because of good hospitality and friendly hometown service of the North Carolina Coast! IF you plan on the Hilton and the price that matches the rudeness of Myrtle Beach, SC then DO NOT stay here.

If you like the typical mom and pop beach motel with friendly owners and staff and the accomodations that are extremely clean with reasonable rates ...........THIS IS THE PLACE TO TRY!

Located in the heart of Atlantic Beach and within 5 minutes walk to the ocean. We had such a great time we will be going back next week to stay for a week and enjoy the solitude of the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sharky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

My son had a swim meet in Morehead City, NC so we decided that we would spend the weekend at Atlantic Beach, NC. One of the sponsors of the meet which had vacancies was the Sandpiper Motel. The motel is old, rundown and the room was dirty but these issues are not the biggest problem. The motel had a number of guests that were loud and disorderly into the the early morning. I was worried about our stay when I checked in at 1 PM and there were people drinking Tequila from the bottle while sitting outside their room.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AtTheBeachNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
272 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
444 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
225 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Address: 200 E Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5414
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: £55 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing