We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The management is superrior to any condo or other motel”
Review of Sandpiper Motel

Sandpiper Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandpiper Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The kimes family..stayed 8 daz..rooms are updated.remodeled with beautiful furniture.These are the best Beds..we had more fun and hospertality than the 15 years we stayed at A Place at The Beach condos..As a family we were tconserned as Hurricane Arthur passed..but the manager came & stayed till arthur was over & All us were safe..Superrior motel
.n even top Quality management...Have to add....loveable lil housekeeper ...loved it********dont wanna leave
.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmsdebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I come here every year around the same time. This year the place we stayed was 80 bucks more than normal And cut military discount out! I came here and we stayed for 2 nights and it didn't break us. The staff is so friendly I really don't wanna leave. It was a home away from home. The rooms are super clean... And the pool is amazing. By the way... It's not Clorox it's called salt water pool, that does exist to the woman who bashed the pool LOL!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Road tripping and we ran into serious time constraints - traveling to the outer banks from Charleston. Couldn't find a booking available anywhere near the cedar island ferry - thanks to the "groovy" Blake who stayed up till after midnight to welcome us, and Chase who was up at 6 so we could access caffeine! And as a bonus, brand new everything in the room- clean, great pillows, and sheets! It even had a pink door just for me! For a place to snooze in comfort, yes thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed with them 4 years ago for the Cherry Point Airtshow. It was Cheap (about 49 a night) It costs more now, but the new beds are great! The pillows were fluffy and I wished I would asked them were they got them!! Upgraded bathrooms, new decking.... PLUS 2 of the some of nicest (aka sweet and handsome guys Chase and Blake running and owning it). Some of the guests we met were a young family with a lovely teenage girl and she was smitten for sure!!!! They had been badly treated at another hotel down the street in town and decided to come there!!!( They gave great advice on local resturants and recommended Amos Mosquitoes for dinner and it was divine!!! Great service, great waiter (Holden) wonderful food!!!! ) They are still working on it... it is not perfect.. but you have to understand this is a very laid back beach which is fishing heavy or just resting on the beach.... just wish it was easier to get from High Point!! They have cable so monitor your kids, cause all the HBOs are on TV..
Other things I have picked from the locals... the Last Resort Resturant .. Up from the Sandpiper towards the Macon State Park.. it is in a Condo development but it is open to the public, Great Breakfast, and Homefries with peppers and onions to die for, the Monkey Bar down Salter Path as you are heading for the Aquarium... you see Bojangles and it is behind there in the shopping center, best Rueben ever!!! More of a local hole in the wall... The Golden Corral is the best I have ever ate at. We ate a dinner and a breakfast there...Friendly people in this small beach and they appreciate you coming to see them!!!
Thanks again Chase and Blake for great stay and hope to see you before the next airshow in 2 years!!!
PS Hardly any of the Hotels are on the beach here except the Oceana Pier. It looked a little more party fisherman type and not a quiet as Sandpiper..so it did not bother us as much to be off the beach here, where in Myrtle Beach it is much easier to find ocean front...If you want Ocean front you have to go down Salter Path towards Emerald Isle and you are going to pay for it...

Room Tip: We stayed in the room above the office the first time and it was quiet and big, stayed in 210 on sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NCscubagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We usually stay with Oceanna Motel. But I didn't want to pay their high price for two adults. We stayed two nights at the Sandpiper Motel. I loved their prices! We saved about $82 difference between Oceanna's price and theirs! Their staff was SO nice and professional! Bree really went out of her way to make us feel welcome! I liked their room better than Oceanna's. The room was clean, the linens were very clean and bright. In the future, we plan to stay there again.... I cannot say enough good comments about all their staff!

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs facing the road. I loved sitting on the porch. Especially watching the firewor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David2012203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Nices staff at the beach! So very helpful when reservation at another hotel were lost, they came through. Room was clean, older but nice for beach. Beds were comfortable. Towels and sheets were clean and white. Pool was clean. Parking is limited. But I can not say enough about the staff. They saved our trip! They went beyond just doing their job, they treated us as if we were the only customers they had and they were sold out. Great people!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarleneJ942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I recently went to the beach for one day and didn't want to drive home the same day. I booked a room here one week in advance. I have to echo the reviews of some others. Nasty rooms. Nasty bed/sheets. Awful showers mainly because they were old. But, the cherry on top was the paper thin walls mixed with drunken guests. Sleazy doesn't begin to describe this place. You couldn't pay me to stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weekender198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
273 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
236 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
798 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Motel

Address: 200 E Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5414
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range: £53 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Sandpiper Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing