We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oceanana Family Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent the 4th of July at the Oceanana with our "Oceanana Family"! As always we had a wonderful time. We are a group( about 50 of us) of family and friends who share our vacation time every year at the Oceanana.

The motel was built in the 1950s but the family has put forth effort to update the buildings. The motel does so many extra things (grills, charcoal, picnic items, free coffee around the clock, breakfast buffet, watermelon parties) to make your visit special.

We are already looking forward to next July 4th!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PatSprinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    54
    25
    22
    34
See reviews for
107
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
greensboro, nc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a 2nd floor standard room facing the main parking lot and enjoyed the recent upgrades of new furniture, new AC unit, new flat panel tv, larger refrigerator and most importantly, new doors with a key card and steel handle. The old sliding doors were charming in their own way but they didn't always close completely and always left one to wonder if something could crawl in underneath. The shower curtain bar could use an upgrade as we had trouble with it falling down if we hung towels on it. The free breakfast, though nothing fancy, is always enough to keep us full and allow us to go straight to the beach in the morning. Be sure to guard your tray, even under the awning or the birds will help themselves. The free chair and umbrella service and access to the pier might be the best part of the whole place. Staff is always friendly and welcoming. Thanks Oceanana, we will be back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor if you aren't travelling with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loriruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I am 37 yrs old and finally went on a vacation with my husband, mom, and dad. They have stayed there before. This is a wonderful place to go and fish off their pier as long as you want to and not worry about your room. We stayed in May. My husband, 2 daughters, and I are going back in September. I plan on going back every year if it is possible.

Room Tip: I dont work out so I'm not sure if they have a fitness center. But if you walk on the beach, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrandinSteve710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff is great, the location is perfect, but the actual building itself needs a LOT of work. For $100 a night in a small, non-oceanfront room, I want to be able to actually wash my hair IN the shower, not having to lean over the side of the tub and use the faucet. (The shower head is approximately 5 ft up, and if you're short it's fine. I'm tall and it's NOT fine) And a microwave would be another nice addition. The grounds are kept very well, and the beach and pier are fabulous. I probably will not go back, as it doesn't offer everything that I'm looking for. An oceanfront room, a private balcony, and a shower that is totally functional.

Room Tip: I'd recommend, if you can afford it, to upgrade to the Down East Room or the One Bedroom Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wise, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We checked into room 111, the one bedroom suite, on a Saturday evening. It had been a long day and we went straight to the room...no walking to see the beach at all. My girls immediately took their shoes off and started running around the room and within 10 minutes the bottoms of their feet were black, and you could see stains on the carpet. I went with one of my girls to the front desk and showed them what had happened and asked that they make sure to have the room vacuumed really well the next day. (Not sure if this happened.) The bathroom was mildewed and the room had a funky odor. We put up with these things until Tuesday evening, not allowing our girls to go barefoot or sit on the floor at all, when I found a cockroach sitting in the little hallway between the living room and bedroom. Needless to say we checked out. They didn't offer to find us a different room or offer apologies. Having said this, I'm sad because the playground, pool, and fishing pier were awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mlane4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We're sorry you had such a negative experience at our motel. We have our rooms treated regularly, but occasionally a critter will escape our efforts. We apologize you saw one. According to our records, you turned in your keys and notified us you just wanted to leave, at which point you were apologized to and, according to our records, we gave you a refund. Please give us a call if you still have not received your refund.
Thank you for your review. We will do our best to continue improving all of our rooms. We hope you will consider giving us another try at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atlantic Beach hotels

Hanover Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My adult daughter and I spent two nights at Oceanana, had a great time. The beach, the pool, the breakfast, the employees all were wonderful. It has a retro feel and we loved it. The bathroom could have been a little nicer but overall, the room was clean, the a/c worked great and the beds were comfortable which is the most important thing. We loved walking on the fishing pier in the evening, loved how close we were to great restaurants and shopping, and especially the private beach and the courtesy of the employees who carried our lounge chairs and umbrellas to the beach for us. I would love to come back with the rest of my family. It is a family friendly resort and I am very happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edeangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a room they call it suite - reserved for 177$ a night for 2 nights at this motel..! Room 133 - not what we expected for this price:(.We stayed at his motel before but i guess we had the standard rooms upstairs before that were clean and in better shape. So we declined the room, turned around, tried to find another hotel but all booked so going back home. Really disappointed, and we Are Not coming back to this motel again.oh no free fishing either the website advertisement is a lie

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurica1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Laurica1028, we are so embarrassed you experienced this complete oversight on our part and we apologize profusely. Many of our rooms have recently undergone renovations and updates, but we missed the room you were booked into; the fault lies with us. The very evening you left, we closed the room for maintenance. We have already ordered replacement furniture, carpet treatment, and painting among other tasks to improve the suite. We refuse to open the room until it is in satisfactory shape.
As for the website advertising free fishing passes, it states: "Resort guests are provided with complimentary fishing passes before Memorial Day weekend and after Labor Day weekend. Complimentary passes are not provided during the summer season." However, you complaint shows that one statement on only one part of our website is not enough to keep our guests informed. From now on, we will be posting a similar statement to each of the room descriptions to better clarify when we offer free pier fishing.
We thank you for your complaint and once again apologize for your experience. Please give us another chance to redeem ourselves in your eyes by booking another stay and letting us take care of the bill for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlantic Beach
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
257 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
367 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanana Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanana Family Motel

Property: Oceanana Family Motel
Address: 700 E Fort Macon Rd, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512-5424
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanana Motel is a unique family destination on North Carolina's Southern Outer Banks. Featuring one of the widest private beaches on the coast, a 1,000 foot long fishing pier and a large children's playground, there is plenty to do for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceanana Hotel Atlantic Beach
Oceanana Resort Atlantic Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing