We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting away from dreary Pennsylvania”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Villas at Koru Village
Dillsburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Getting away from dreary Pennsylvania”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Winter lasted way to long in PA. We needed a place to escape, and also hook up with our son who was up from Mexico teaching some workshops in eastern NC. The apartment/villa at Koru was perfect for our purpose. So glad we discovered it. It had everything we needed/wanted. Was clean and quiet. Though we couldn't "see" the ocean from our room, it is a just a 5 minute walk across the road... very nice typical outer banks beach. And even in the first week of April there were seafood markets, shops and restaurants open enough to keep us happy. I kept the information... I'm sure we'll use Koru again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertwerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Culebra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We recently spent a few days exploring some of the banks area of NC. The units are clean, up-to-date, comfortable, & with many conveniences. Our two bedroom had 2 televisions w/cable t.v., wifi, a full (very clean) kitchen with everything that you could need (we'd been traveling for a few weeks & eating out alot & thus did take advantage of the kitchen to prep some meals) & in-unit laundry facilities. Additionally, guests have use of their state-of-the-art gym.

Everything was clean & fresh & recently renovated.

The owners are friendly & helpful & we enjoyed our stay & could highly recommend the Villas at Spa Koru!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribbean0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

The Spa Koru was truly fabulous. Located in the middle of Avon, on the outerbanks and within a five minutes walk of the beach, so perfect for anyone interested in a beach holiday in a very peaceful location. The apartments are all new and fully fitted out with everything one needs to enjoy a self catering break. The Kitchen has everything one would require to prepare a three course meal, including full stove, microwave, dishwasher and there is even a washer and dryer. The beds were so comfortable that it was hard to get up in a morning and the external blinds added to the comfort of a full nights ininterrupted sleep. The style of the apartments is very tasteful, and the bed linen and towels just lovely. There is also a TV, DVD and CD player in each apartment.
The gym offered a variety of classes, including yoga and paddle boarding. All the yoga teachers were wonderful, all fully trained and encouraging each participant in his/her practice. The atmosphere was peaceful, yet full of positive energy - - an absolute treat which added greatly to the overall holiday experience.
The spa also offers a full range of services, including massage, scrubs, facials, manicures, pedicures, etc, all carried out in a totally tranquil setting. One can also get a hair cut, as well as do a spot of shopping for those special creams on offer in the spa shop.
The gym has a huge array of brand new machines, including tread mill, cross trainer, bycyles and weights, so everything to continue ones daily work out.
The classes and the gym are complimentary for guests of the aparments.
All staff were friendly and helpful, remembering our names and making us feel very welcome. Spa Koru is run by a family and it is obvious that the family are totally commited to its smooth running, always having the time to chat to guests and make sure everyone is truly satisfied.
Avon is full of restaurants, shops and a supermarket, so everything one could desire on holiday.
I would recommend a stay at Spa Koru to anyone who wants a combination of beach/surf holiday, along with the option to work out at the gym, practice yoga, enjoy a massage, pedicure or manicure, get your hair done, and basically relax and de-stress. Great for families, friends or couples.
We will definitely pay another visit within the coming months
All just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

My two kids & I so enjoyed the villa! Wonderful staff, eager to accomodate your needs. Clean accomodations, with furnishings much nicer than your usual holiday rental property. Although the villas are right off Highway 12, it is extremely quiet and very family friendly. We took advantage of the Club Hatteras Pool which we had free access to, and found it a lovely place to spend a day or two just lounging! The beach cruiser bikes were also free of charge to us during our stay and we loved having such easy access to them. The beach was a short 2 minute walk from our front door, and was never crowded even though we were visiting in July. We also appreciated the way everything was such a short distance from Koru- movie theater, grocery, gift shops all right down the street. I have already recommended the Spa at Koru to family and friends back home and would love to visit again in the future. Don't hesitate booking your vacation with them! A+!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sillysal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

What a treasure...a keeper for sure !!!
Clean, spacious, safe, quiet and felt very much at home with its' range of amenities.
A short walk to our beutiful Outer Banks shore will certainly fill your stay.
Where else can you feel at home and get pampered by their lovely spa services.
The Gym is very professional and features flat screen TV's on the exercise equipment.
A great place to come and relax, feel at home and get spoiled by their professional staff.
What are you waiting for; go explore for yourself...it's a secret you can't hold back.
The Di Florio's thank-you for adding to our memories. Bless

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

With less than 2 weeks before we were hoping to be in Avon, I lucked out and found Villas at Spa Koru. They had a 2 br., 1 bath (Earth), available the 2 nights we needed. The rate was great and I wasn't worried about the Kitchen as I figured we wouldn't be using it much. We were very pleased with the entire experience. We arrived a bit early and they recommended a place for lunch while they completed prepping the villa. Less than an hour later it was ready. As we were preparing to go to the beach, I realized that we had forgotten our beach towels. They were more than happy to lend us a couple large colored towels. We slept very comfortably, son on the couch, daughter in a bed and us in the king. The hurricane shutters made the room very dark and allowed for some sleeping in if we wanted. As far as the kitchen goes, it was fine. Could they have more and nicer stuff, yes, but for the rate the supplies and appliances were very good. Also, very much appreciated the stackable washer/dryer to clean our clothes. We never got the opportunity to participate in the fitness/spa or borrow a bike but we would have if our daughter's arm wasn't broken at the time. Kudos to Korus.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LoupMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh, nc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

We were in town for a wedding and enjoyed our two night stay at Koru. The staff was friendly. The villa we stayed in seemed to be brand new and was very clean. We were all glad that we got out of bed to participate in the complimentary yoga class.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisor-raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
5.8 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
6.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
13.3 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Koru Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Koru Village

Property: The Villas at Koru Village
Address: 40920 Highway 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915 (Formerly Villas at Spa Koru)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Avon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in our lush Meditation Garden, the Villas offer something for everyone. By staying and playing on our campus you have access to various amenities including: our state-of-the-art gym, rejuvenating classes such as Yoga, steam rooms and our newly renovated backyard which features volleyball, horseshoes, pool access and much more. Centered in the heart of Hatteras Island, you will truly enjoy waking up at Koru Village. Whether you are seeking a family beach vacation or a weekend spa getaway with the girls, you will find a relaxing, positive atmosphere on the campus of Koru Village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing