We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mini vacation getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Villas at Koru Village
Stockholm
2 reviews
“Perfect mini vacation getaway!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The accommodations were excellent, and the staff was very professional, friendly, and available. The pool, gym, and variety of activities offered enhanced the beach experience. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lfbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The place is really great and clean. The price includes the use of a volleyball court (grass), bikes, balls, gym (pretty decent), fitness classes (about 2 per day), and access to a club at the beach that is pretty nice as well. It has a pool, stand up paddle classes, nice chairs for sun bath, and a nice little bar. Good to go there before the beach is crowded. The locations is also good, a quite short walk from the beach (5 min?). Totally recommend it, I loved it!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Janaina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

After spending a week at Koru village I would definitely endorse staying here for your trip to the OBX. Quick walk to the beach, secluded, comfortable villas, use of gym/yoga and many other reasons why this place was great. Only complaint I have is that the internet connection was pretty spotty in our villa. Other than that, we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingersol34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Fire Villa for a long weekend in September. My only regret is that we did not stay longer! The Fire Villa was beautiful, comfortable, and had everything we needed. On our last day, we ran into some of the other guests and were able to see some of their villas as well. Stars, Water, and Earth were also very nice. Sun was OK, but seemed to lack the strong decorative personality that the others had. We did not get to see Air or Honeymoon. It is difficult to find accommodations on the Outer Banks that is not either a hotel or a massive three-story house, so the Villas are definitely filling a need for small, independent accommodations.

Avon does have less "stuff" than, for example, Nags Head or Kill Devil Hills. If you're looking for big chain restaurants and typical tourist attractions, then Avon is not for you. However, if you're looking for more tranquility while still not being completely removed from civilization, then Avon is perfect. The Villas offer complementary bicycles that will get you anywhere you need to go in Avon. The only place we drove to was Food Lion, which is less than a 5 minute drive away. There is beach access directly across the street, only about a 2 minute walk from the villas. The Koru Beach Klub, which is also complementary with your stay, is across the street and diagonal to the villas, but still only about a 5 minute walk away. There you can also access the beach, use the pool, buy drinks and snacks, rent beach chairs, sign up for activities, etc. Just pay attention to their hours and plan accordingly. There are also a few restaurants within walking distance.

We did not take the time to use the fitness facilities or the spa, but they looked very nice and they are definitely on our to-do list for next time. We did use the Beach Klub for the pool and beach access. We rented nice beach chairs and took a wonderful guided Kayak trip with Ellisa. My husband and I are not the most athletic people, but she took good care of us and let us go at our own pace. We had a great time! Ellisa is a friendly and intelligent water spirit who loves her job and her guests. She explained to us that her family was inspired to open Koru Village after traveling to New Zealand. They have done a great job in bringing this adventure resort to North Carolina. We are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderlustgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at the Villas as a family of four for two nights and couldn't have been happier with our stay - as mentioned previously, the villas are even nicer than the photos on the website. We stayed in the Water Suite - a two-bedroom end unit that was spacious and nicely appointed.

One thing that may be worth mentioning is that you do get access to the Koru Beach Club across the street that includes the pool but the pool is only open from 10-5, somewhat limited hours but worked out fine for our short stay. My wife and daughter went over and did the free beachside yoga class one morning.

Loved having the little outdoor space to eat outside and relax with a drink.

Found the beds to be comfortable and the unit to be very clean. This was a great spot for us to have a little extra space even though we were only renting for two nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MUhrblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Rented the "Fire" Villa for the first week in August. Very pleased with the place. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Location is excellent...across the street from the Avon Pier. 1 mile from Food Lion. Short walk to beautiful private pool with bar. Room was decorated nicely. AC worked VERY well. Will definitely rent there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Two girlfriends and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Villas. We stayed in "Stars" which is a 3-bedroom villa. (Each villa, or apartment really, is named. There is Earth, Fire, Water, etc.). The villa was extremely clean and well decorated. It looks much nicer in person than the photos on their website convey. My bed was super comfy, with great linens. The shower had great water pressure and the only time we noticed an issue was when 2 of us tried to take a shower at the same time. The kitchen was well-stocked with dishes and cookware. We cooked in one night and had no issue. As some people have noted, there is a Food Lion nearby so you can get groceries. Check the basket in the kitchen before you go! We found some coupons in it which we didn't see before we went.

It is NOT ocean front, but they never make that claim on the website. It is across the street. Villa rental includes access to the Beach Klub, which includes the pool and gym. We didn't use the gym, but my friends said it was very nice. They also went to the spa and got massages, which they were quite happy with. The pool is ocean front, with a wall around it. There is a tiki bar at the pool and sometimes they have bands at night.

We took an excursion (extra cost) to go paddle boarding in the sound. The owners' children, Alyssa and Eli take you out, show you everything you need to know, and give a demonstration of proper form. They were great. It was so awesome to be out on the sound on a gorgeous day, just taking it all in. And my shoulders were actually a little sore the next day.

Some people have noted that this place is hands-off. That is one of the reasons we enjoyed it so much. There is a front desk that closes at 8 (I think) but we went right before it closed to get a new lightbulb and it was fine. Housekeeping does not do anything until you check out but who needs housekeeping service every day anyway?

The villas open up to a lovely courtyard that is shaded with picnic tables, 2 grills, and adirondack chairs. We sat outside several nights with a glass of wine just enjoying the weather.

This is not really a place for children. There were 2 families staying there while we were, and they let their children roam around outside. They were loud and while the villas are supposed to be a "quiet zone" after 10pm these kids stayed up until 10:30 making a lot of noise. There isn't a lot for kids to do here. It's really geared more towards yoga retreats, girls weekends, that sort of thing.

Overall we had a great stay, and I would definitely recommend this place for a long weekend or quick trip. If you're going to stay a week or more, definitely get a house. It's just easier, and probably cheaper. But for long weekends I will definitely come back to Koru Villas!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheel7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
5.8 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
6.9 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
13.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
300 reviews
5.7 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
147 reviews
14.0 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Koru Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Koru Village

Property: The Villas at Koru Village
Address: 40920 Highway 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915 (Formerly Villas at Spa Koru)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Avon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in our lush Meditation Garden, the Villas offer something for everyone. By staying and playing on our campus you have access to various amenities including: our state-of-the-art gym, rejuvenating classes such as Yoga, steam rooms and our newly renovated backyard which features volleyball, horseshoes, pool access and much more. Centered in the heart of Hatteras Island, you will truly enjoy waking up at Koru Village. Whether you are seeking a family beach vacation or a weekend spa getaway with the girls, you will find a relaxing, positive atmosphere on the campus of Koru Village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing