We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage 89”
Review of Avon Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avon Cottages
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My family and I stayed in unit #89 last week. First - what a beautiful home right on the beach! From the moment we stepped into the office to check in to our unit we fell in love with Avon Cottages. The lady at the front desk allowed us check-in 3 hours prior to standard check-in time at no extra charge, which was great!!This was our first trip to the Outer Banks and we were looking for a nice but economical place to stay and found that here. Cottage 89 is oceanfront. My kids loved that you could just walk right down the stairs and have your toes in the sand. Needless to stay we will be going back to Avon Cottages, hopefully before the summer is over! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

The view was great. Right on the beach and could not be better. The price for a beach front cottage was good. That is where the good stuff ends.

The cottage was very dirty. We could not use the tables or chairs before cleaning them. The floors were so dirty that the bottom of your feet would turn black from walking across the floor without shoes. We cleaned the back sliding door because we could not stand to look at all the food smudges and hand prints. The couch smelled like urine so strong that permeated through the second floor the whole week. We found one old blanket in the house. We washed it and laid it over the portion of the couch so we could sit down. We had to wash the bed comforter because it was so dirty. The master bedroom smelled like smoke and the whole house smelled like mold. The corners of each room had dead bugs and food and food wrappers. By god, don't look under the beds or furniture. Disgusting. The streets to get to unit 92 were trash laden and full of deep wholes.

We ended the week with a very large roach running up the wall.

Most of the house is run down and damaged. Old damaged furnishings and fixtures. Very dirty. Poorly equipped. Trash all around.

We would not stay at this place again if the week were free.

Room Tip: Look else ware. Do not even try it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Dryer doesn't work. Fridge doesn't get cold. One of the three showers are broken, you can use it as a bath though. Really old decks that give splinters. Old, squeaky mattresses, extra warn in living room furniture. BUGS.

Location is EXCELLENT. We're in cottage 88 right on the water and you won't find anything in this price range with such great location. If you're looking for a roof over your head to sleep and plan on living on the beach all day, you could make it work. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone with high hotel like standards.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank chloebell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I have read several unflattering reviews of the Avon Cottages.
My review would be from a long time ago...October 1992 when my
wife was in the final year of her life. We met Earl, the original owner,
and he was a fine old fellow. He and his wife were real southern
hospitality. We rented #89..right on the beach..sleeps ten. We were only
two but it was out of season and available. We stayed a week and tried for
a second week but it was Columbus Day so we moved further south
on the island peninsula. Enjoyed every moment at the cottage. Sure, it
was not what you find in the city and it dated from the 1950's but I would
go again in a moment if I still had a partner.

I had to choose a travel date to post my review but it was not 2011..It was 1992.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WhisperingJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

normaly when i go to the outter banks at thanksgiving i stay at the avon motel.This year the motel was closed due to recant storm damage and I was put in one of the cottages.This was my first time in a cottage and the closed room I have ever to the beach.You could just see the ocean from my second story porch.It was a two room affair.It was everthing I needed for another great stay at the beach.The staff was friendly and helpful.The rooms were clean and quite.Granted the water pressure in the shower was not what I hoped for in a motel,but it got the job done.Their wi-fi signal strength was not the best,but it was way faster then the dial up I have at home.All in all I would book my 2012 trip at these cottage and really enjoyed by yearly stay there thank you avon cottages for another great stay at the outter banks

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boxerboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We are normally the type of people who go with the flow and wouldn't complain, but after spending well over a grand for a beach cottage, we had certain expectations. On the plus side, the location was very nice and the staff was very nice. However, upon entering our cottage the first thing we noticed was that a plastic dollarstore tablecloth had been pinned over the front door window instead of a miniblind or curtain, very tacky. The bedroom wall was partially painted and had never beed finished. The beds were very hard, old, and creaky. The water pressure was terrible, barely a trickle. If someone turned on water somewhere else in the house when you were in the shower you got scalded. The A/C didn't work well ~ the livingroom area didn't have a vent in it so in the evenings it was often 80 degrees in there (verified by the thermostat). We had to keep the blinds closed to keep the direct sun out instead of enjoying the view. The dining table was old and rickety. It was so unlevel that when we ate someone had to put their foot under the leg, or find something to put under it so it wouldn't rock back and forth. The kitchen was supposed to have been fully equipped but the second night there we were getting ready to bake pizzas for supper and there were no baking dishes or oven safe dishes whatsoever so we had to run out and buy our own before we could finish supper. The dishwasher required two people to load, one to hold the dishwasher in its hole under the counter (it was never mounted) and one to load it. The dishes were mismatched, chipped, and not plentiful. We were expected to remove our own trash and clean up, which I didn't mind, but the broom had been left on the deck and was rusted badly, coming apart, and had plastic bristles only 2 inches long and the dustpan was broken ~ so we had to buy a broom and dustpan to clean up. Be sure and bring linens, towels, dishtowels, dishrags, oven mits, dishwasher detergent, handsoap, and trashbags. Our last morning there we were greeted by the sight of a fellow who had passed out underneath the cottage beside us from a night of partying. He stood up, looked around, and proceeded to hold onto the nearby post, staggering, while he relieved himself.
It was a convenient location but we won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank GoldBlooded66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

As long as you're just using it as a place to crash after a long day in the sun, it's ok. BUT, the beds were hard and creaked LOUDLY at the slightest movement. The pans were old, dollar-store, badly scratched teflon, warped junk. Terrible water pressure--the shower was literally a trickle. The sun deck bowed & felt like it would fall through with my 125 pound husband on it. The front door handle had screws sticking out, was very loose, & hard to latch or lock. Basically what you can see in the pictures is nice, but everything else is old junk. You have to bring your own toilet paper, towels, linens, and cleaning supplies. Also you are expected to clean up, wash dishes, take out all trash, sweep, & make beds before leaving. The free wireless internet only worked a few minutes at a time, and some days didn't work at all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank emilyandelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
6.2 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
13.7 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
52 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
287 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
311 reviews
6.1 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#6 of 6 in Buxton
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Cottages

Address: Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Avon
Price Range: £83 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avon Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing