We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a joke!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Haoles Sushi and Sake Bar - CLOSED

Haoles Sushi and Sake Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Best Sushi Bar On the Outer Banks!!!!!...Rolls you have never seen. Local fish and shellfish always ! Small place/ Tapas menu
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a joke!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Attempted to dine at Haoles last night and cannot comment on the food just the staff. As soon as we entered we were rushed at the door and told it would be a 20 minute wait and we should "go to Food Lion" (the grocery store), "or do whatever we needed to do".

Thought it was a little odd since nobody was waiting and there were a couple of open tables but figured they had reservations. Returned 20 minutes later and again are rushed at the door, this time by a different employee, and are told they're closing. We explained what we were told and she spoke to someone in the kitchen who gives an exasperated "Alright" or something mumbled along those lines, clearly not happy. No thanks! I really don't want someone making my sushi who is ticked off and put out to have to do it.

Guess when you're one of two sushi options in the area you can treat customers however you want because there will always be someone else to take our place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank KianaWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    7
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

What a great addition to our neighborhood! We had dinner twice last week and it was truly delicious! The portions are generous and beautifully prepared. We highly recommend their specialty rolls, among them the Fuji Roll, the Red Dragon, Dillys Roll and as appetizers, the Spicy Tuna Nachos and the Yellowtail Carpaccio…This is our # 1 restaurant in Avon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Domerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“in a new location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We ate dinner at Haoles 2 weeks after they'd moved to a new location (old Cafe 12 spot), The layout and seating were pretty much the same as the previous place. And a few things weren't in place yet like an alcohol license and dessert menu. The food, and especially the sushi, were outstanding however! Lots of rolls and seafood to choose from. Sushi was very fresh and oh so tender. Finally Avon has a restaurant I'm excited to return to. I'd give them 5stars but am waiting for saki to be served with dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We loved, loved, and loved this place! The sushi (some very unique with an American mix) was wonderful and the service of the owner and bar tender were great.

We are from Annapolis and one of the owners used to work in our favorite sushi places here, which is renowned, he learned well!

There were two couples, the other couple being very particular about their sushi and from NYC - they loved it as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annapolis_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Couldnt find a negative thing to say...even on their restricted menu due to the owners having a baby I found delicious and unique options....We enjoyed their handroll happy hour and even tried a Sake sampler...Everything was perfect, the service was sweet and helpful...perfect place for a quick bite or stolen romantic date...and after, it is a parkinglot away from the wonderful Avon Pier

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdngjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haoles Sushi and Sake Bar also viewed

Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing