We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No truck parking under beds was dirty”
Review of Tumbleweed Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tumbleweed Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alexander
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed there a few times and it gets worse every time . I have a truck and trailer there's no where to park it there rooms appeared clean but under bed was disgusting there was crumbs and chips from the previous or even before them the housekeeping is rude and so is the evening and night shift front desk don't know if the big guy is the manager or what but hey bucks my company pays for my room do you job don't be uneasy with me and don't go there for towels at night witch u have to do since u don't get housekeeping regularly because that night chick is out smoking every five min witch if your job is that stressful find another these people are not guest friendly!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 70RIckybobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

First to make it perfectly clear ,I was taken back by the pictures and reviews from this hotel from the start, out in the country between Watford City and Alexander, you feel like you are out in the middle of a oil field! The parking lot is gravel, there's a "campground" full of trailers below the buildings, and its full of construction workers, oil people ,throw in some mis. workers and travelers and you have an idea of what can be expected.
My room was in the "old" building, nice bed, microwave oven, small fridge, and cable Tv. The Internet during my stay was a hit and miss ,but the day I left they had just gotten a new system from the company they were going thru and the last day of my stay it worked fine.
The water pressure could of been better ,but it was hot, and got the job done. The fridge needed to be defrosted the first night but after that it worked fine. And there was no hangers for my clothes, which would of been a plus, but again made due with a dresser, and hooks on the wall. Could of also used a coffee maker.....but if you got up early enough you got coffee.
But consider this, you are seeing and living part of American history
Here you see people from all over the country looking for work, or working, neither Watford City nor Alexander are very big places and its obvious that everything around here is fairly new, and they are still working the kinks out, having been bombarded with at least 10,000 more people.
The breakfast was big, eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, cereal ,breads, and even apple turnovers one morning, you just had to get there early or late to make sure you got it. The staff were very cordial, being very helpful with info, suggestions of what to see or where to find things,and I believe one of the cheaper places to stay. Its the first place ever that I could get into my room at 6 am the day of my arrival, or the only place where one of the staff, (Gwinn) gave me laundry detergent to wash my clothes. They have the washers and dryers on the property.
Reflecting back on a week of staying here, you know they are understaffed, but did everything they could to make your stay comfortable. Given the location it was excellent , (not so sure I would of like being in either town), but the experience itself unforgettable! Yes, I would stay here again

Room Tip: I liked the old building ,but I understand the rooms in the new part were bigger ,and had a stove ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homeon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have to disagree w/ these other reviews, this place is not too bad. Rooms are big enough w/ full fridges, oven burners and micro. I think the bed is one of the best I have ever stayed in. Sounds crazy but it was. The place is fairly new it seems, so it's not run down or anything. The brkfst is a little better than continental as it has some egg and mystery meat (suasage, bacon?) patties as well. The brkfst is probably not as looked after as it should be as I have seen people come looking for coffee and none was available. This is probably a staffing problem, like everywhere in ND. The staff they did have was very friendly when I dealt w/ them. The only thing I could see as not so good, is that it does seem a bit high priced to be out where it is. Everything up there is high priced so I guess they get away w/ it. All in all, not a bad place to stay a night or two.

Room Tip: Room 101 is on the end, close to an exit door if you smoke. And until they get washers set up the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapinolenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I'm an oil field worker and if it wasn't for the location, I wouldn't stay. Rooms are pricey .And you dont get service. Housekeeping is hit and miss. Head Housekeeper friendly,, but just started.Breakfast bar good. but not kept up and coffee not always kept up.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruckerAlabamaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

First if all, not as expected. The advertisement is not correct. Not a full kitchen, like it said. There is two burners on the counter-top & a microwave. Description on advertisement said table and chairs. They must have been talking about the computer desk. Not furnished either make sure you bring everything you will need. TP including. Oh and the beds!!!! Harder then hell. (pardon my french.) They are equivalent to the floor. Calls for a restless night. Also get your rate on paper. It was great to travel 17 hours, get there and get told its a thousand more the second month ( not what was said at all). All machines are out of order also.. thank goodness for the food courts outside. Were were planning on staying here for months, not now!! Hopefully we find something soon.

Room Tip: It's all about the same, good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This was the only place with rooms. Since the oil boom up there tons of welders and other workers have moved into the area. The beds were twins that two of us had to sleep in. The tv was nice and had lots of channels that was good since their was nothing else to do. The hot water heater is itty bitty so their was minimal hot water. Plus it was crazy expensive to stay for the week. And there is absolutely nothing around but little food carts. The scenery was pretty on the way there so that was a nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asherdasher63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tumbleweed Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumbleweed Inn

Address: 14080 Highway 85 N, Alexander, ND 58831-9534
Region: United States > North Dakota > Alexander
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alexander
Hotel Class:3 star — Tumbleweed Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Tumbleweed Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing